We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I won't recommend visitors to have their meals at Le Boussole restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Suffren Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Suffren Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Caudan, PO Box 91, Port Louis, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Louis
Port Louis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I won't recommend visitors to have their meals at Le Boussole restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Le Suffren is conveniently located, however, I was really disappointed with the food served for dinner at Le Boussole restauarant. It's overpriced and the quality is not good as well. I would recommend travellers to catch the water taxi and go to Le Caudan Waterfront for their meals (go there early before it gets dark so that you won't lose your directions). There is a wide variety of restaurants from Chinese to Indian and you won't be disappointed. There were not even a room service menu in the rooms and when you called to ask for one, they never came to bring one. I had to walk to La Boussole restaurant and ask to see the menu...the manager promised to send a room menu to my room, but, never did...Very poor service...

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    104
    46
    12
    10
See reviews for
10
26
21
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Georges Caye
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Like many other reviewers, I stayed here on business. I stayed for one night only. Having a lot of work to catch up on I needed wireless in my room. The room rate was expensive but the reasonably high standard of the hotel and its location made this OK. However what was totally unacceptable was the larcenous price charged for internet access in a "Business" hotel. It amounted to 24% of the already hefty room charge per 24 hours. It was pretty slow and required a fresh log in about every 20 minutes. Also, the "Business Center" has no printer or scanner. Be warned, so you do not get a fright when you check out.

If it was not for the above, which has probably clouded my judgement, the hotel is ideal, and is one of the few places I have stayed on business where I am sure my significant other would enjoy a few days stay. The location is picturesque and sitting on the terraces watching the activities in the harbour and marina is very pleasant.

My room was spacious, clean and comfortable.
The room had a locked mini-bar. They key I was given when I checked in could not open it so I never got inside it. On reflection, this may have been a good thing! The in room coffee service, much vaunted when checking, in turned out to be nothing more than an electric kettle and a sachet of instant coffee powder. The coffee selection in the restaurant and bar were the real McCoy however. Tasty and got the pulse rate up very nicely.
The service I experienced from all hotel personnel I encountered was efficient and cheerful.
I had a few drinks at the bar and a meal in the restaurant. All very good and the surroundings were really nice. I found the service in the bar and restaurant was friendly and speedy, however it was a Tuesday evening and pretty quiet.
Breakfast was included in my room rate and was also very good. A standard buffet with a good selection including some interesting items such as smoked marlin and hot dishes cooked to order.

If not for the first paragraph of this review, I would have given this hotel a much higher rating. I discovered when I moved across the island that for about US$10/day, one can rent a “dongle” from a local telecom company which gives you pretty good high speed internet wherever your laptop may be. Armed with one of these, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Hubby and I went there for dinner on a Friday night. It is a very lively place with the happy hour going on and music.

But as soon as you hit the restaurant it is more cosy and quiet.

The "tartare de boeuf" is excellent and for a starter it was quite a large portion.

Service was quick and efficient. The food is also well priced. Just one thing, the chocolate souffle was not well cooked and sent it back. Second time round came out very good.

It is known that food is much better and the portions,bigger at Suffren than Labourdonnais, where it is much more "surfait" and pretentious.

Good food, good price,and all served up with a smile, so why not go again?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I was in the hotel last month, for business purpose is with no doubt the best hotel you can find in the island. It is in Port Louis, in the wterfront so it makes a good combination for work during the day and relax in the evenings.

Staff in the reception was very friendly, check-in and check-out was great and very fast with no mistakes. I remember the receptionist, Sandy, she was so friendy and help you whatever you need, i felt as at home.

Other sevices are also fine, restaurant, room service, bar specially recommended on friday's night during happy hour. Lot of people and good music.

The negative thing was the price of the room, slightly expensive and the internet is not free in the rooms, but you have free access in the lobby and bar.

I've been in some others in the town and defintely this is the best option, with no doubt.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I have stayed here three times now and continue with the same frustrations. As a result I don’t think I’ll stay here again. Its location is convenient but that is its only benefit. It is overpriced, in rate and food and beverage costs, and for around US$200 per night, not even a complimentary bottle of water in the room. No tea or coffee tray either. However, the most frustrating aspect is that WiFi is free in public areas and carries a massive cost in your room. I have weighed up the pros and cons and possible thinking behind this internet strategy and can't come up with anything sensible. Perhaps it is to force people into the public bar area to lure them into the expensive drinks etc. However, in my view, it is yet another display of not really being staying guest orientated at all. Not guest friendly reception staff either. Its a pity!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a harbour facing room when you book - you certainly won't get one otherwise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Great business hotel, comfortable room, beautiful room and good restaurant !! relaxed atmosphere and every Friday a magnific night to the happy hour by "on the rocks lounge bar".. .. !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Staff could not have been friendler, restaurant is excellent, rooms are great and bar lively in the evenings. Business district is across the water from the hotel, but rather than drive round, there is a water taxi which takes you across in less than 2 minutes. About 20mins in a taxi (not expensive) to the beach.

Pool was closed for rennovation when I stayed, but guests can use the facilities at the neighbouring La Bourdonnais Hotel, and these were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Suffren Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Suffren Hotel & Marina

Address: Le Caudan, PO Box 91, Port Louis, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Port Louis District > Port Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Suffren Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect mix of business and pleasureLe Suffren Hotel & Marina, offers both business travellers and holiday makers alike a sparkling and dynamic 4-star hotel in the capital city of Mauritius.Le Suffren is perfectly positioned on the Waterfront to take full advantage of everything that Mauritius has to offer, whether it's taking care of business in Port Louis, or taking time out to discover the unspoilt beauty of our island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Suffren Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Suffren Hotel And Marina
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina Mauritius/Port Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Suffren Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.