We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused and a little confused about the star rating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Suffren Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Suffren Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Caudan, PO Box 91, Port Louis, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Louis
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Confused and a little confused about the star rating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is located on the harbor in Port Louis. I was expecting something quite homely and French from the other reviews.

I got a room facing the car park- it has a nice flat screen television but the rooms are small.

The point that has me looking down on the experience is the bathroom with soap dispensers in the shower and bath. Not something I expect of a four star hotel.

Restaurant food was stodgy and overpriced.

Was really expecting more.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    84
    42
    12
    9
See reviews for
10
22
19
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I found that most of the reception staff were surly but the restaurant and housekeeping staff were most efficient. I ordered room service 2 out of 5 nights and the meals were delivered within 15 minutes. I also requested an item from housekeeping that was delivered within 5 minutes so service has definately improved.

I had a room at the rear of the hotel, facing the garden and rear wall while my business partner had a room facing the waterfront. I thought his view would be very good but when you look out the window you can see just palm trees that are blocking the view!

I asked for my bar fridge to be unlocked and then the following day it was locked again - seems like they are more worried about people stealing the items than selling the items to guests.

Overall I enjoyed my stay and hope to be back next year (with a bar fridge that stays unlocked!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Location is great, so are the rooms and the outdoor bar and surrounds is stunning. Unfortunately some of the staff are in serious need to appraisal and retraining, it's the little things that let down this hotel which has great potential. Checked into the room after long trip and was told someone would come and block the mini bar with 10 minutes, waited 15 and then rang reception, they said someone was on their way and would be there in seconds. Waited another 10 minutes and rang again and was told same story but after another 5 mins (30 in all) I went down to reception and whilst I was there it got unlocked. Went o breakfast next morning, asked for a cappuccino and was told coffee machine was broken, 10 mins later a different waiter asked me if I wanted coffee and when I told him about the broken machine, he said it wasn't and got me a cappuccino. Next morning exactly the same story, broken coffee machine, let it go. Third morning same story but after talking with the duty manager the night before and he said there were n problems with he machine I challenged the waiter and he got me a cappuccino, they were just too lazy to make it.
They bed was comfortable but only had a heavy cover on it which was too hot, I requested a top sheet which I found neatly folded up under my pillow, they didn't even put it on until I commented to the duty manager. On the last night the hotel ran a BBQ buffet on the beach which we ordered, took a light helping and went back again to be told you can only come up once, the first time in 50 years I had heard a buffet was a single serve, if was excessively expensive at that deal with a small chicken skewer a beef one and half a small sausage and a very limited salad. It was also embarrassing as I had a guest. When I saw the duty manager I asked him if it was true about a buffet being a single pass and he said no and the chef had made a mistake, and went and piled up a plate of food for us both which is not what we wanted, just clarification of what the hotel buffet policy was. Again either poorly trained staff or ones that just didn't care.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you don't like stairs ask for a room on the same level as reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffrenhotel, Manager at Le Suffren Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear jwatkins0,

We thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Le Suffren Hotel & Marina.

However, we were sorry to learn that you didn’t enjoy your experience.

Please rest assured that this situation is certainly not representative of our standard of service and necessary actions have already been taken.

We really look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future in order for us to restore the last impression.

Yours sincerely,

Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The hotel overlooks the canal and shares some facilities (e.g fitness) with Labourdonnais only 2 mins by water taxi. The rooms are well apportioned but those in the basement are stuffy. In-room internet is over priced and not reliable- I was charged more than quoted and though 2 staff promised to sort it out nothing happened. If you plan to do some touring, best to get info elsewhere as the hotel info is brief. Also best not to pack a heavy suitcase as the hotel hasn't got a lift. The hotel is clean, has a warm ambience and the food is good. I was there for almost 1 week and there was a very noisy party on the Friday night which went on until the small hours of Saturday.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

10 days stay at Le Suffren Hotel in a spacious waterfront view standard room, with a comfortable king size bed and high quality linen have added a bonus point to my business trip in Mauritius. i do not have any high expectation prior my arrival but with the team of highly welcoming & friendly staffs from reception, housekeeping to F&B and On-the-Rocks bar make my stay at Le Suffren extremely unforgettable.

Minus point will be chargeable internet connections in the hotel room. However free wi-fi is accessible at the lobby and bar area. I think that's the whole intention of the internet charges, instead of staying in your own room replying tons of stressful work emails why not just chilled out at the outdoor bar lounge, enjoy the delightful music, nice & chilly fresh Mauritius air and order some signature drinks from the menu.

Things not to miss out if you intend to stay at Le-Suffen:
1. Enjoy the Sunset cruise (pre-booking is needed)
2. Grab a glass of champagne to kick start your day
(if your room package is inclusive of breakfast)
3. Happy hour at On-the-Rocks bar every Friday as that's the most happening place in Port Louis; (Phoenix beer and Joao's signature cocktail is a must try drink)
4. Complimentary water taxi ride that brings you to Le Caudan waterfront
5. Flair show from the barman at On-the-Rocks

Remarks:
Special thanks to the bar team from On-the-rocks lounge bar with their great hospitality and excellent services. Great job!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffrenhotel, Manager at Le Suffren Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for your recent stay at the hotel Le Suffren Hotel & Marina.

We really want to thank you for your kind comments regarding your entire stay at the hotel Le Suffren.

We were pleased to learn that you found your stay most enjoyable and that the services of our staff met your expectations.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Le Suffren Hotel in a near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a week in May 2011. The hotel was located in the heart of Port Louis, the business district in Mauritius. Being a beach destination, it has a small private beach and offers a host of services including cruise facilities.
Food and ambience was very good. The main attraction was off course the location

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Louis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

After quiet a big gap, I traveled to Mauritius with my spouse and two young children. I am happy that I took a right decision by booking Le Suffren for this trip. The main attraction of the hotel is its homely and very comfortable environment. It does not have many restaurants, plush rooms, large exteriors and hotel like articulated discipline, but it has warmth, easiness, comfort and home like love all over. All over means the homely feeling is felt in the basic rooms with a wide wardrobe, comfortable large and clean beds, smart room furniture, large screen flat television, small and cute private looking swimming pool and the small open air food court.. Also the wi-fi at the common area is quiet convenient to sit with your notebook and leisurely google through your social networks.

Areas of improvement are there, the breakfast is very much French and sometimes it is monotonous. The hotel really needs to offer more options in the breakfast. For using a gym, you need to go to the other hotel of the same group across the water front. The hotel also needs to provide a business office in case the guests needs photocopies, print outs, computer facilities etc.

The bar is sufficiently equipped and it offers various drinks with ever-smiling service professionals. Every Friday evening, the hotel offers a very attractive 'happy hour' that attracts locals to socialize with friends while returning home from office.

The best is the open air dining experience just outside the restaurant facing the Caudan Waterfront, the busiest happening place of this small island. You will love to indulge yourself to have a free mini cruise across the waters till midnight in the private taxi of the hotel.

Thanks to Le Suffren for offering us a very homely French experience with a pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffrenhotel, Manager at Le Suffren Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Dear bochabasu,

Thank you for having selected Le Suffren Hotel & Marina. We are delighted that you are entirely satisfied with your stay in Mauritius and have shared your valuable comments regarding the service delivered with all involved.

We give great value to our guest’s feedback and are therefore very thankful to you for having taken the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Le Suffren Hotel & Marina and remain in the meantime at your disposal for any assistance you may require.

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Suffren Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Suffren Hotel & Marina

Address: Le Caudan, PO Box 91, Port Louis, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Port Louis District > Port Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Suffren Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect mix of business and pleasureLe Suffren Hotel & Marina, offers both business travellers and holiday makers alike a sparkling and dynamic 4-star hotel in the capital city of Mauritius.Le Suffren is perfectly positioned on the Waterfront to take full advantage of everything that Mauritius has to offer, whether it's taking care of business in Port Louis, or taking time out to discover the unspoilt beauty of our island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Suffren Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Suffren Hotel And Marina
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina Mauritius/Port Louis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Suffren Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.