We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Boring” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine Les Pailles

Domaine Les Pailles
Port Louis, Mauritius
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 15 Attractions in Port Louis
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stretching more than 3,000 acres, this nature park and cultural center features fun activities for all ages including tours by horse-drawn carriages, train rides, pony rides for children and an adventure safari in Land Rovers along winding mountain trails.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Boring”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

With high hopes as being the best casino there were only few tables mostly of roulette and black jack. Only one table of Stud Poker . Very quiet no music no bling it was very very boring experience (

A better one would be in Grand Baie with two an entire floor for Poker and bowling joint attached :)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    4
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outside Port Louis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It is in the suburb of Port Louis. The restaurant are OK. Thher is only one way to go and if there is an exhibition at SVICC you must have lots of patience to drive inch by inch inside the domaine. Preferably go to visit on week days with kids.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My Training Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We used the Domaine Les Paillies as our training venue and its was simply brilliant, from the food to the excellent coffee, nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
The grounds are magnificent, but its probably only a half day visit for the tourist

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mostly closed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We arrived, drove around it and ended up phoning to make sure they were open - they were, but there was no sign of life. Once we found the office, they explained that there are no tours, the mill is closed, all but one restaurant was closed... But, the train and horse carriage rides were available and that's why we went. My 5 year old sons got to ride the little train around the track, then take the horse carriage around a wider circle. We were the only visitors. It's hard to recommend this place unless you have small children and nothing else to do...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“PEACEFUL”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice to stroll around in the beautiful gardens. Very interesting to see how they squeezed sugarcanes i the 18:th century. You can have a guided tour for 200 Roupee and it also includes a horseride along the estate. The rum destillery is nowdays only a museum. With a better maintenace the estate would "live up to its glorious days".

There are several restaurants to choose from. We had luch at the Chinese, it was cheep and the food was excellent!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domaine Les Pailles also viewed

Port Louis, Port Louis District
Cascavelle, Riviere Noire District
 
Pamplemousses, Pamplemousses District
Port Louis, Port Louis District
 

Been to Domaine Les Pailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine Les Pailles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.