We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Capitaine

Le Capitaine
Caudan Waterfront, Le Caudan, Port Louis, Mauritius 00000
213 0038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 70 Restaurants in Port Louis
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Le Capitaine Port Louis is a popular restaurant serving delicious seafood and fish dishes in the very center of Port Louis. This is the place where both locals and visitors of Mauritius enjoy fresh fish and seafood prepared and cooked to perfection.The Le Capitaine restaurant is situated just beside the bay at the very center of Port Louis Caudan waterfront and is very accessible to all.Come and enjoy your lunch and dinner at our restaurant and experience dinning beside the sea in our unique space offers style with informality. Our menu consists of fresh fish of the day, fresh lobster, crabs and many more. Reservations are essential in the evening.Today, the two branches of Le Capitaine (Grand Baie & Port Louis) are of the most successful restaurants in Mauritius, the reasons are obvious. As such, reservations are essential for dinner.The secrets to our success are our commitment to providing fresh, great tasting dishes, unsurpassed hospitality and impeccable customer service.We offer a diverse menu featuring not only hand selected seafood at its absolute freshness but also delicious chicken dishes, pasta dishes and more. Le Capitaine has something for everyone!We welcome you to the Le Capitaine and promise you will enjoy your dining experience.We look forward seeing you at one of our restaurants.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Really beautiful location. Not great entertainment. In fact it got to be annoying at points. Rather pricey menu for the quality of food on offer. Excellent waitron service.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant with a great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is 2nd time I was in Le Capitaine. I will come again and again! Fanstastic service, very open for requests. I have ordered sauteed calamari with vegetables and without rice and I got the dish that was not 'missing' rice but very nicely composed dish with calamari and vegetables :)!

Everything looked very good! Mojitos are great, dessert was great! Service is VERY kind.

Prices are totally acceptable - for the dinner (8PM) for 2 I paid ~50 EUR (with 3 mojitos, 2 appetizers, 2 main courses and 2 desserts). This food is worth every price ;)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Worth the cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Being from London the cost was not excessive, and the fish was excellent, including their speciality, lobster. Advisable to book and try for a table overlooking Grand Baie. We had our last night there and were not disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food, good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had little time, so the service was great and fast. I had the 'snapper' with rice, very good. Very nice ocean views, beautiful and spotless restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacoas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“the cheapest good food in caudan waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

after visiting grand bay some time back ,i was in caudan for a business meet at labourdonnais hotel ,we wanted to change atmosphere so we walk pass a few restaurants ,the prices and menu list outside le capitaine du port was confusing as the prices were so low that we hesitated ,after a while the manager approached us with kindness that we could not refuse ,we ventured but were not dissapointed ,we had a good lunch -GRILL FISH for less than RS 300 (10 USD),as our time was limited we requested for a quick service and was served accordingly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Capitaine also viewed

Port Louis, Port Louis District
Port Louis, Port Louis District
 
Port Louis, Port Louis District
Port Louis, Port Louis District
 

Been to Le Capitaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Capitaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.