We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Very nice new hotel in Bamako” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comme Chez Soi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamako
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Comme Chez Soi
Porte 37 Rue 281 | Hippodrome, Bamako 0, Mali   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 hotels in Bamako
Dakar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice new hotel in Bamako”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Comme Chez Soi is a haven of tranquility in Bamako. The rooms are chic and comfortable although a bit small if you have alot of luggage. Bathrooms are very clean. The pool is impeccably clean and perfectly refreshing after the heat and dust of Bamako. The hotel is set in a shady garden that is wonderful for relaxing, and the staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. Breakfast is imncluded in the room price and the staff will arrange airport transfers. Comme Chez Soi is alittle off the beaten path (not in the heart of Bamako) but there are many good restaurants within walking distance and it was easy to catch a taxi to anywhere else in the city. The hotel will be opening a bistro upstairs on their lovely terrace in a few months. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
5
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

The owners are a lovely couple who have chosen the perfect name for their hotel. The pool is one of the most inviting I've ever seen. You walk onto the property and the temperature drops by at least five if not ten degree. The sounds and heat of the city melt away. A friend of mine who was at the Radisson and was paying over twice the price said he wished his company had put him up at Le Comme Chez Soi instead. Would recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a peaceful, quiet spot that provides all the necessary comforts. The beds are very comfortable and the staff very friendly. Book in advance! Their popularity and small number of rooms means they fill up. You want to be able to be there for your entire stay in Bamako!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

I loved Comme Chez Soi! It was such an escape from the overwhelming day-to-day that is found in Bamako. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - the service, the rooms - everything was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

I moved from a 5 star hotel to stay here, a fantastic oasis from the craziness Bamako. They have paid so much attention to detail on all levels, the staff is kind, helpful, and very accommodating. And the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamako
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful, allowing me to choose between several rooms. There's a great variety of reading books available in case you have spare time. Esthetically the yard and rooms are extremely pleasing. It's a great experience just to walk onto the grounds.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Comme Chez Soi is a calm, tidy oasis in the middle of the Hippodrome neighborhood. There are many plants and shady trees on the property and a small, tranquil, stone-lined pool to slide into on a hot afternoon. The rooms are tastefully decorated and relaxing to be in. For someone who is easily intimidated by fancy hotels, I can assure you that I feel like I can be at home at Comme Chez Soi (well, I guess that's the point, right? What with the name and all...) but still feel like I am getting special treatment.

Unlike many Bamako hotels, I feel like you actually get what you pay for here.

Comme Chez Soi is close to grocery stores, food stands, nightlife, big and small restaurants, some street food, tailors, and public transportation. Some food (and coffee) is available at the hotel itself, and the owners are planning to expand.

Awesome library selection.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I was beyond thrilled that my wife found this hotel, which is a calm oasis cast amidst the hustle and bustle of the Hippodrome quarter of Bamako. The owners are outstanding and went to no end to see that my wife and my stay was fantastic.

The place is spotless and cleaned incredibly fast each day. The pool is maintained very well and is good for a dip any time of the day. The owners have also done something you rarely see in expat-owned hotels in that they either hired and/or properly trained local staff who do their jobs exceedingly well. Often in African hotels, you see the managers just yelling at the local staff, but that is not the case here and you can see that the establishment has gone to great lengths to create a class act of a hotel.

To be honest I was tempted not to submit a review since I wanted to keep this place a secret, but they treated me too well to even give that a second thought.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comme Chez Soi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comme Chez Soi

Address: Porte 37 Rue 281 | Hippodrome, Bamako 0, Mali
Location: Mali > Bamako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 hotels in Bamako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Comme Chez Soi, a new, intimate, professional and cozy hotel in the heart of Bamako. We opened our doors at the end of 2009 after having completely renovated a traditional Malian villa using local materials and artisans. Our hotel is located down a quiet side street in the Hippodrome neighborhood, walking distance from the city's best restaurants, bars, and shops and just 5 minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Comme Chez Soi Hotel Bamako

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comme Chez Soi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Comme Chez Soi to your Saves list