We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of peace so close to the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kumbali Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lilongwe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kumbali Country Lodge
Save
You added Kumbali Country Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Presidential Way | Capital Hill Dairy Farm, Plot 9 & 11, Area 44, Lilongwe, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
Salisbury
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An oasis of peace so close to the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is the most wonderful place, with pretty thatched buildings in a large and beautiful garden, that offers great comfort and delicious food.
The rooms are large and airy, with lovely bathrooms and large balconies looking over the garden to the farm and countryside beyond.
The food includes home grown vegetables and home made yoghurt from the dairy on the farm, as well as some of the best puddings anywhere. All the staff were friendly and welcoming, it truly felt like home from home. We will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
18
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was my first travel in the country and I was a little bit anxious for the lodging and so on. (I am coming from France).
I spent one full week in Kumbali Lodge and the result is above my expectations.
The place is very nice with a well maintained garden
I took daily dinners at the restaurant, food quality is very high, especially a large variety of fresh vegetables grown close to the lodge.
Room was very nice and perfectly cleaned every day. I never got any water issue nor power supply problem. Excellent bed.
You can also ask for lunch bag, you will get a refrigerated bag with the stuff well protected.
Laundry was also possible and taken care.
A special thanks to the lodge driver who drove me and picked me up to my job twice a day, always on time and really smart.
All the satff is nice, professional and reliable and very friendly.
This is a fammily lodge, after one day, they all called me by my first name

I would strongly recommend this lodge

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night en route from Zambia to Northern Malawi and it was an excellent place to relax and re-charge our batteries.
It's a real oasis of permanently irrigated lush lawns, well-appointed and comfortable rooms in a city location, but without any of the city 'hustle and bustle', in fact it's actually in Kumbali village not Lilongwe.
The restaurant and food was first class and we were first introduced to the 'MGT' (Malawian G&T) which became our Malawian drink of choice.
The management team of newly engaged couple Adrian and Amy were brilliant hosts - spending plenty of time with guests to ensure everyone was enjoying their stay.
It also has a swimming pool, which looks quite new and was a lovely refreshing treat after our long, dusty drive.
Kumbali is known for attracting celebrity guests - there's a reason for that - check it out for yourself!

Room Tip: They're all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Not only are the staff super friendly and efficient, but they take everything personally. For example, I wasn't feeling well one night, and they reviewed and examined all possible causes, apologizing profusely! The rooms are generous (the sheets are high quality silky cotton), the food is awesome, and even the mooing of the cows is part of the ambience. The staff have gone way out of their way to support our working conditions at the lodge. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I referred my friends into Kumbali Lodge knowing that they would be taken care of after a long and tiring trip from the UK and a great place to spend their first night in Lilongwe at the beginning of a 3 week tour of this magical country. Our hosts were incredibly friendly, helpful and hospitable and couldn't do enough for us, catering for our every need. Kumbali Lodge is close enough to the city for easy access to the markets, shops and banks yet far enough out of the CBD to feel like you're really in the countryside. The chalets are large, spacious and comfortable units to add to ones sense of luxury in a safari style venue.......the new pool was an added bonus and is HUGE!

Room Tip: Room 8 is a great room at the end of the wing near to the car park for an early start.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at the lodge for a few nights whilst working on a project nearby, and found it a great place to relax after a long day's work. The staff are fantastic - very welcoming and willing to go the extra mile to make sure your stay is perfect. The grounds are beautiful, and the pool was an added bonus. My room was lovely and kept spotlessly clean. We also stayed a few nights in the cultural village, which is a lot more basic but a very authentic and fun experience. Overall we had an amazing time at Kumbali and I would love to come back, totally recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I love staying at Kumbali Lodge. I come here with work and it is wonderful. The building, rooms, and grounds are so beautiful and the staff are lovely. Guy and Maureen are most welcoming to all of their guests. It's a wonderful retreat and the recent addition of a swimming pools makes it extra special. I shall return for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kumbali Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumbali Country Lodge

Address: Presidential Way | Capital Hill Dairy Farm, Plot 9 & 11, Area 44, Lilongwe, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kumbali Country Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 individually thatched rustic A-Frames, each with 2 twin beds. Toilet & bathing facilities are situated just outside each of the huts, with eco-friendly long-drop toilets and a separate running water shower. Offering a refreshingly cool shower in the morning, or a pleasantly warmer shower around lunch time after the sun has heated the piping system. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kumbali Country Hotel Lilongwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kumbali Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.