We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in great surroundings.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lark Cafe

Lark Cafe
441 Chilanga Road | Area 10, Lilongwe, Malawi
0999960836
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Lilongwe
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Healthy, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Set in the gardens of Ulendo Travel Centre, Lark offers a range of salads, wraps, sandwiches and burgers, all with a healthy twist! Childrens menu available, as are milkshakes, home made iced teas and delicious coffees - including "Red" coffees. Childrens playground on site too! Free wifi for customers also supplied.
Norwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food in great surroundings.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

A bit out of the way if you don't have a car but well worth it. Great family run business. Salads are great value and the milkshakes rock!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I am so happy to hear that you enjoy your time at Lark - thank you for taking the time to show your appreciation - it makes our work feel all the more worth doing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We LARK it there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It has been a year since Lark opened it's doors and what a great addition it has been to our daily lives! Coffee, breakfast, brunch, lunch..... friends, family, fantastic cakes.... Great food, garden setting, have I mentioned the coffee?
Jean and Trysh are always around to ensure that the service and food is consistently excellent.
Well worth a visit - and bring your kids along - the garden is geared for little ones.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Wow - thank you so much for your kind words and appreciation, which make all our hard work, effort and long hours feel so worthwhile! Thank you for giving us the encouragement to keep going, and I hope you spend many more happy hours at Lark!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best place for family lunches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

After many years in Lilongwe Lark offers a refreshigly new venue for family lunches. Excellent menu with a healthy approach to fresh foods. Playground for kids keeps them entertained whilst you wait for your scrumptious meal. Thanks guys and keep it up.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it makes our work so worthwhile when customers appreciate our meals and utilities! We look forward to having you back here with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful for kids, too bad cuisine is not more enticing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Following a good review (and in need of a new place to try in Lilongwe), we had a weekend lunch at larks. The large yard replete with trampoline and jungle gym make it a good spot if you have small ones in tow. For adults, while finding it nice to dine outdoors, the garden is not very attractive. The menu sounded most interesting and we debated long before deciding...and we both disappointed. Neither the sandwich nor burger were anything out of the ordinary, the salads quite bland and the prices on the high side. We took home some brownies which turned out to be the best part of the meal, and the other desserts on display looked tempting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
I am so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal with us - our salads and burgers are always raved about so I feel very disappointed that yours were not up to scratch, and I sincerely apologise for that. I do hope you will give us another try and that next time we will meet your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Fabulous salads and smoothies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

A great place for a morning coffee and cake or a lovely big salad lunch. Free wifi and great banana milkshakes on offer too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trysh H, Owner at Lark Cafe, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time - and food - with us! I hope you will be able to join us again, and thank you so much for your great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lark Cafe also viewed

Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 
Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 

Been to Lark Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lark Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.