We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Indian food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Huts Restaurant

Huts Restaurant
Area 10, Pacific Parade Mall, Lilongwe Malawi, Malawi
0888-821-533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 49 Restaurants in Lilongwe
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Hut's, where delivering mouth-watering flavors, fresh ingredients, and exceptional service is our passion. With pride, we present the culinary pearls of fine Indian Cuisine straight out of my kitchen to your plate. Hut's has earned a name synonymous with quality food and sincere service, that won't break your bank. We're located off Kamuzu Procession Road, near Lilongwe Hotel. Call us for directions. Call to make your reservation or place an order. 0888821533 0999821533. Mon-Sat noon - 1.30pm, 6.15pm to 9.30pm. Sunday closed.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Okay Indian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Decent Indian food, but not good enough for me to go back a second time probably. The dishes were all right but nothing really stood out for me. The owners are very friendly, though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lilongwe
1 review
“Best Indian Food in Lilongwe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

As temporary residents in Lilongwe, we visit here regularly, and have never ever been disappointed. The hosts are going out of their way to make you feel at home, and the food is simply superb. Recently had masala crayfish, what an experience. And their prawns are simply to die for! Above all, the most child friendly restaurant in Malawi! See attached pic of my 4year old enjoying their signature chicken lollipops!
Regards,
Marius & Betsie

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Indian Restaurant in Lilongwe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have been to several Indian Restaurants in Lilongwe, and Huts is the best by far. Really, really good food, fresh and cooked to order. The owners made the atmosphere wonderful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New location, same great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Back in Malawi from cold, rainy UK! thought I've visit Huts again. Realized they are at their new location in Area 10. great dining experience once again, in a larger location - our group (15) had a fantastic time. not one person had leftovers on their plate. a testament to great food, great memories! thank you again Huts. 10/10

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, warm hosts, affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

There is a central theme in the reviews, which I experienced immediately after I walked into Huts. The warm hosts - Dheeray and Mina. A couple who have a real passion for food, and serving their customers what they want - don't feel hesitant to customize an order. I was seated promptly. I got their renowned Huts Prawns, and washed it down with a cold Carlsberg - which is very popular in Malawi. For those visiting from abroad, this is very economical meal - considering the favorable exchange rates. A meal is approximately $15. As with most things, pay for quality and experience. In both cases, I was left very satisfied. Thank you for making my first experience in Africa such a warm one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huts Restaurant also viewed

Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 
Lilongwe, Central Region
Lilongwe, Central Region
 

Been to Huts Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huts Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.