We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lilongwe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe
Save
You added Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe to your Saves list
Off Blantyre Road, Area 43, Lilongwe, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Lilongwe B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Great place to spend one night or forty! Comfortable, relaxed and friendly, helpful staff. Although away from city central, the drive is not long and the peaceful surroundings are worth seeking Heuglins out. Of my seven trips to Lilongwe, three trips I stayed at the Sunbird Capital, once at Crossroads, once at Wendels and once at Hueglins. The only place I recommend is Hueglins.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

TEL: +2651776771 : M2@wilderness.mw

Set in a beautiful garden, with a wonderful pool area, the large shady verandas are an ideal spot to put up your feet after a long day in the dusty town of Lilongwe. For the business traveller, Heuglins has good wifi connectivity and the personal touch. Nothing is too much for Fiona the hospitable mangeress to organise, including changes to taxi schedules, and fussy food requirements.
Sungeni the chef is wonderful and interacts with guest with a dry sense of humour.His great homely food at a communual dining area ensures that guests arrive as strangers and leave knowing a bit more about their fellow travellers. One guest has been here for 14 months-Testimony to the "home from home" feel that Fiona likes to ensure at heuglins.

It was difficult for me to find their numbers untill i realised that they are part of wildeness safaris - hense their details at the top of the page.
I will be back :)

Room Tip: If you suffer from the heat, ask for one of the rooms with aircon. All the rest have overhead fans w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I have always bemoaned the shortage of good quality lodges in Lilongwe, so was delighted to find Heuglin's. It has a connection with Wilderness Safaris, so is often used by guests in transit to their other lodges in the country. The lodge itself is in the area of Lilongwe that is home to the ambassadorial residences, and is a converted large house. Rooms are well-equipped, and there are ample communal areas both indoors and outdoors in which to relax. Wifi internet is free, there is DSTV, and delicious western-style lunches and dinners are cooked on-site by the local chef. I would definitely stay here again when in Lilongwe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

I stayed here for around a month on work. I found it safe, clean and worth the value. Food is very good - you need to tell the cook what you want to eat for lunch or dinner. Advantage of this place is that you get to meet fellow travelers and dine with them. Internet is free and quite fast. Service was very good - rooms were kept clean, and towels etc were provided regularly. The place is run by the Wilderness Safaris group. I rate it 4 star service though it would qualify as a 3 star hotel category. For Lilongwe, I would recommend this place compared to other hotels for the same category.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

food is served with the rest of the guests all at the same dining table which was not so good with a 9 year old child and felt a bit forced. There was no menu choice. Hotel could do with an upgrade, pool not the cleanest I;ve ever seen. Our mosquito net had holes in, although we didn't get bitten!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

This is a little oasis of tranquility which was an ideal stopover at the start and finish of our trip around Malawi. It stands in lovely gardens and has a swimming pool (not very warm) and is very private. A very friendly welcome from all the staff and lovely fresh food

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe

Address: Off Blantyre Road, Area 43, Lilongwe, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heuglin's Lodge is situated in the peaceful garden suburbs of Lilongwe's residential area, yet is in a prime location being just 5 minutes from Capital City and just 35 minutes from Lilongwe International Airport. The Lodge offers a variety of spacious and tastefully furnished bedrooms accommodating up to a maximum of 18 people providing a perfect base for both visitors and business consultants alike. The lodge has 9 spacious rooms, broadband internet access, TV's in rooms, TV lounge with self service bar, fine dining, swimming pool, extensive gardens, transfer service within Lilongwe, airport transfers and a wildlife library. For business guests a business centre with broadband internet, photocopying, printing and faxing facilities are available. Children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central African Wilderness Safaris Heuglin's Lodge Lilongwe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.