We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, welcoming and very good customer service - just what we needed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiboko Town Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lilongwe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiboko Town Hotel
Save
You added Kiboko Town Hotel to your Saves list
Mandala Road 4/278, Lilongwe, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lilongwe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, welcoming and very good customer service - just what we needed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The accommodation is basic, comfortable, clean and very well presented. The staff are very welcoming and keen to ensure that everything is in order. We had the family room which was sizeable and airy. There was a handy safe which was useful. We had lunch and breakfast in the restaurant which was tasty and well presented. We were impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    58
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
26
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My son & I stayed here for two nights, at either end of short safari in the South Luangwa National Park in Zambia (brilliant by the way). On each occasion we were warmly welcomed by the staff, and quickly shown to our room. The room was clean and, though not large, was more than big enough or the two of us. The cooked breakfast was worth paying an extra 250 Kwacha for as it filled you up for the day. The only drawback was the music from the bar, but since we were in bed by 20:30 and the music stopped by 21:30, it was not a big deal. The staff were consistently welcoming and helpful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here one night before and one night after a safari in south luangwe. Go with Kipoko to this park, we can highly recommend it. The hotel got a central location, but the rooms need to be freshed up. But the rate is fair for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights. Very nice lounge area, great service from staff, good safari-trips.

Most rooms are ok or good - avoid the single room in the cellar - it is a fire trap.
Only downside for me was the smoke from smaller fires in the surrounding area - probably people preparing food during the morning and the day.

Quiet, safe and hustle-free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranenburg (Duitsland)
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

After a very intensive trip in Malawi did we make a last stay in Kiboko Hotel.
It was a big surprise for us: in the middle of the crowded town, we went through a big door, and there was an oase of rest .
A wonderful place to be!
Nice, friendly and helpful staff, a good, clean room with airco and Wifi.
And last but not least, very good food !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa River
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Kiboko Town Hotel is a very comfortable place to stay in the old town of Lilongwe. We were close to car hire, shops and banks so it made everything easier. The staff were all friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed the ease of settling in and having a drink in their bar.

It felt very safe and I had a sound night's sleep. It was good to have a television and catch up on the latest news. The eggs for breakfast in the sunny courtyard were done to perfection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limpsfield
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Don't be put off when you arrive. It is an oasis in the dessert and the breakfast and lunch can be recommended. Do beware of the people outside the entrance. Also, at night they tried to sell bottled water that had be opened and refilled. Check the seal. If you want a bland international hotel go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiboko Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiboko Town Hotel

Address: Mandala Road 4/278, Lilongwe, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lilongwe
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiboko Town Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.