We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and good facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiboko Town Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lilongwe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiboko Town Hotel
Save
You added Kiboko Town Hotel to your Saves list
Mandala Road 4/278, Lilongwe, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lilongwe
Usa River
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Central location and good facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Kiboko Town Hotel is a very comfortable place to stay in the old town of Lilongwe. We were close to car hire, shops and banks so it made everything easier. The staff were all friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed the ease of settling in and having a drink in their bar.

It felt very safe and I had a sound night's sleep. It was good to have a television and catch up on the latest news. The eggs for breakfast in the sunny courtyard were done to perfection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    58
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
26
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limpsfield
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Don't be put off when you arrive. It is an oasis in the dessert and the breakfast and lunch can be recommended. Do beware of the people outside the entrance. Also, at night they tried to sell bottled water that had be opened and refilled. Check the seal. If you want a bland international hotel go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here a couple of times this month and the rooms were fine, enough hot water, candle for the power outages. Helpful reception and staff exceptionally honest and trustworthy. By a foolish error I left $500 in the opened roomsafe and they contacted me and got it to me within a few days. The place feels safe and they serve a decent breakfast. Underneath the hotel is a good, friendly Bistro, Incidentally, AXA buses now leave from The Crossroads, specifically the far side of the carpark in the City Shopping Mall there (National from behind the nearby petrol station). The AXA office was unmarked and on the left down the corridor of the Mall's left-hand entrance - toilets further down. The old AXA office near the Kiboko has closed. Crossroads is within walking distance if you are fit and do not have a lot of baggage - out of the KITH, left, right at garage/tyre place, left along main road and keep going to the crossroads roundabout

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed one night on the way south and one on the way back. The executive room was great but had no hot water, while the deluxe on the way back was small and clean and had heaps. We watched Joyce Banda at her old school on the TV and loved the fact that she really wants to improve the lot of women and children in Malawi. A good breakfast in the garden and definitely to be recommended as a place to stay in old Lilongwe!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road if you want an uninterrupted night's sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel. I honestly can say that I was unsure of the hotel when I arrived and when I viewed it online. I don't think the photos or the facade does this place justice. It is very clean, beds are comfortable and lobby and restaurant are tastefully decorated. I felt very safe as well which can be a concern in Lilongwe for Americans. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with a modest budget or to anyone who wants a very clean and safe place. I stayed at another hotel just around the corner--forgot the name--that was more expensive and considered high-end. It had a flat screen TV and hightened security. I honestly can say that I prefer Kiboko over this other place. There is also limited parking available if you have a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed two nights at Kiboko Town Hotel and can only recommend it. The rooms are nicely done up and clean and the breakfast is very good. For me and my wife, Kiboko Town Hotel was an ideal base for our trip through Malawi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
196 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
492 helpful votes 492 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Preposterous that this place is first-ranked in Lilongwe. It has all the ambiance of a generic hostel and nothing more. Situated in the second floor of a two-storey commercial building above store where you can get auto parts and have your tires fixed and where to enter you pass a gauntlet of taxi drivers hanging out. On street is located retail branch of every financial institution doing business in this country and nothing more of interest. Central location, yeah. The rooms are tiny, little boxes, some with two beds crowded in, uncomfortable pillows, but fully mosquito netted. The two rooms on each end of the corridor are larger, narrower but get noise from the restaurant. Passing through the corridor there is stale body smell, pervades despite fresh paint. Air and ventilation in the tiny rooms not good. Foreign-owned (either American or Israeli) proprietor Sophie Kramer is on site, overseeing her investment. Food in restaurant -- the one place the Kiboko ought to have excelled -- is absolutely atrocious. Price range roughly from 55 -69 usd. This place is no bargain at any price. If you're here for a night -- as most of the clientele appears to be -- you'll be spending most of your time trying to find better accomodation. Note the internet not fast enough to stream.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiboko Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiboko Town Hotel

Address: Mandala Road 4/278, Lilongwe, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Lilongwe
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiboko Town Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.