We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for Africa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crossroads Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Crossroads Hotel to your Saves list
Crossroads Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mchinji Roundabout | Crossroads Complex, PO Box X1, Lilongwe, Malawi   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lilongwe
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice for Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I ended up in a "delux" room. The air-conditioner was not that cool but over a short time it did get better. The hotel was kept in good condition and overall was a pleasant place to be. Breakfast leaves much to be desired but it is consistant with other African Hotels. The hotel is centered in a shopping center that provides for food, clothes, groceries and banks with ATMs. Dinner at the attached Copperpot Resturant was fair and the service time was extreamely long. When you eat there, do not be in a hurry because it won't happen. The terrorism threat is very low however, the crime can be violent. Please check your countries state/tourism/travel agency for the latest information.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
1
4
4
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bronkhorstspruit, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A must if you plan to stay over in Lilongwe! Rooms are very comfortable with service being top notch! Dining at Copperpot (Indian cuisine) is also a must!! I would stay there and enjoy a Malawi gin and tonic anytime I go back to Malawi.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

juice on checkin was nice touch. water in fridge every day and occasionally a chocolate on the bed with turndown service. you're in malawi so predictable power and water are not guaranteed. they do have backup generator but AC doesn't work then. breakfast is tasty. event in the ballroom was nice with tasty catered food. can exchange $ at the desk (but only into Kwacha, not the other way around...they don't have a license for that). can buy wifi card at desk (600 Kw for 100MB, 1200 Kw for 200MB). nice pool and workout room. toilet constantly flushed but they did fix it midway through the week.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I arrived at 1.00pm, hot as hell after a trip from the airport in a car that stood in the sun all day without aircon.
They have a row of glasses with fruit juices standing behind the counter: They don't offer me one...obviously did not like the cut of my Armani suit or Louis Vutton tie? When I tell the concierge I'm thirsty he calls a waiter who fetches me a very expensive fruit juice which I got 15 minutes later in my room.
No water in my room, so I call the front desk: Water will be on in 30 minutes only, while i need a shower before my meeting that takes all afternoon. Can't even flush the toilet.!
get back the evening.....still no water so i threaten to check out without paying. Finally by 8.00pm the water comes on.....only cold water!
Ate at the Copper pot restaurant......not too bad, but ridiculous prices.
Never again, next time I sleep under a bridge rather than pay these prices for this sort of room and service!
The rooms stink, the shower tiles are cracked and broken (room 59 if management want to check) in a supposedly luxury room.
Internet is an absolute rip-off, this e-mail costs about $5,00!

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monvalle, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very good hotel by Malawian standard, comfortable bed, quiet room, nice garden (I could not test the pool) and good Indian restaurant.
Very good service (the lack of hot water on my last day was fixed in the morning) except maybe for the tea/coffee service which is a bit slow at breakfast.
The breakfast buffet has much choice but lacked of tropical fruit (end Sept is not the best season but mangos are found on the market), fresh fruit juice; also, for the last days of my stay, they had a shortage of the orange marmalade and of chicken ham.
As for the location, it is far from the centre (but I am not sure there is any real centre in Lilongwe). The hotel is in the middle of a new compound with banks, shops, supermarkets and few restaurants. If you have to change euros to Malawian KW, it is far better to go to the banks of the compound as the the exchange rate offered by the hotel is surprisingly low (320 KW per euro vs 390 KW per euro at the bank).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I would class this as a two star hotel or motel, but as this is probably the best Malawi has to offer it gets 5 starts, expensive wifi, sad rooms and a very high bill. Could do with a clean.... I guess Madonna did not stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Crossroads has good service but some of the amenities are lacking, in particular internet access which I found to be expensive. The breakfast wasn't great but other meals at the Copper Pot, the onsite restaurant, were quite good. The room could be updated but it was clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crossroads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossroads Hotel

Address: Mchinji Roundabout | Crossroads Complex, PO Box X1, Lilongwe, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crossroads Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crossroads Hotel offers guests an illustrious and unforgettable stay. Adjacent to the Crossroads Shopping Complex, on the Mchinji roundabout, the hotel is located within minutes of the central business district, and only 25 minutes from Kamuzu International Airport. The hotel combines business services, contemporary dining and state of the art conference facilities, appealing to both leisure and business travellers, offering convenience and easy access to the city’s finest amenities and 124KMs north – east of Lake Malawi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Crossroads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crossroads Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.