We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Varangue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Varangue

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antananarivo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Varangue
Save
You added La Varangue to your Saves list
17 rue Printsy Ratsimamanga, Antananarivo, Madagascar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Antananarivo
Oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“La Varangue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is an amazing little hotel in the centre of Antananarivo. Friendly and welcoming with a great menu and chef in their quaint restaurant. The owner is clearly a collector, for around the hotel are displays of binoculars, cameras, lamps, telephones from another era, largely brass and hanging from the walls. Rooms are clean and appropriately decorated, in fact on our return to stay on our last night we were given a suite consisting of three rooms and an enormous bathroom. We discovered that the chef had been identified by some awarding authority as one of the five best in the world, which explained the need to book a table and why the restaurant was full each night. Five minutes away is the plush Colbert Hotel which has a great coffee bar where you can buy delicious ice-cream sundaes and great sweet and savoury pastries for lunch or tea. So, well worth staying at this characterful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
38
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

What a fantastic stay. A room with a view, a comfortable bed, and the best risotto in town. I slept like a baby and when I woke up I walked down just a small flight of stairs to the best dining experience in Antananarivo. Sit inside or outside, or order to your room for a private dinner, I tried them all and every experience was wonderful. Brush up on your French, but remember you are in a French speaking country so this should come as no surprise. Learning some basic French before you come to Madagascar is just respectful to the culture and the Malagasy people.
La Varangue is within walking distance to the market, shops, banks, and a fine bakery is just a short up the hill on the right.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent a night in Tana. The hotel is ideally situated, with clean, spacious rooms......and CRISP, new towels. We enjoyed a superb dinner at the restaurant. The food was tasty, perfectly prepared, well presented and thoroughly enjoyed. The owner also went around to all the tables to inquire whether diners had enjoyed their meals - a nice touch. All in all a wonderful evening and a worthwhile stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
222 hotel reviews
Reviews in 190 cities Reviews in 190 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel and for this part of the world we believe it is one of the best hotels in town. The service was friendly and efficient. The food was very good and tasty. The waitress of the restaurant was attentive and funny. And of course the large room with all this antique furniture made our stay very cozy. Definitely a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I can't say enough about this hotel. Its not the most affordable option in Tana, but If you want a top end hotel with 3rd world / french charm this is the spot. The restaurant was amazing and Euros, Pounds and US dollars will go far there. The English here is limited, which can make the restaurant experience trying, but there was one english speaking waiter on duty each night. But if you can say your room number in french, you'll be fine.
When you land in Tana, a cab ride here should not exceed 40,000 Ariary...dont get suckered. The beds aren't that comfy, but depending on how jet lagged you are this may not be an issue.
there is wifi in the restaurant, patio and some rooms. I stayed here twice and didn't get wifi in the first room but got a good signal in the second. But its Madagascar, less internet and more Tana nerds!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The hotel is located in the "embassy" area of the city. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The hotel is furnished in a unique way that gives great character. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The best part of the stay is their restaurant which is known to be one of the best in the city. An excellent place to stay while in Tana.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
394 helpful votes 394 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at La Varangue for only one night at the end of our tour—and we loved it. Our suite was enormous and well-appointed. The restaurant is excellent. Unfortunately we couldn't keep our room for a second night and ended up at the Carlton just up the street. The Carlton, while nice, is large and commercial compared to the homey feeling of La Varangue. La Varangue is definitely the place I'd go back to on a return trip to Madagascar.

Room Tip: Our second floor suite in a connecting building to the main building was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Varangue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Varangue

Address: 17 rue Printsy Ratsimamanga, Antananarivo, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
La Varangue Antananarivo
La Varangue Hotel Antananarivo
La Varangue Madagascar/Antananarivo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Varangue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.