We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cafe but awful massage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Medina

La Medina
Isoraka 52 Avenue Grandidier, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
+261 (0)34 04 134 33
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice cafe but awful massage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

When I walked into La Medina, my first impression was promising. I chose the warm oil massage and as I waited, was offered warm tea (delicious). When I got to the massage room, it was freezing! The masseuse offered to get a heater, which made it slightly better.

The massage itself was awful: the masseuse clearly was just pressing as hard as she could. She took no account my request to be more gentle. At one point, I just asked her to stop massaging my legs because she was pressing so hard. The arm, face, and neck massage was pleasant, but ended abruptly when she suddenly informed me "c'est fini!"

Overall, I would not recommend this place for a massage. The café, however, is extremely charming, and I would recommend that.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great cafe/restaurant/spa combination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

While the combo of a cafe/restaurant/spa may seem odd, it works perfectly at Medina. I visited several times during my stay in Tana. They have excellent wifi, and a great selection of small plates for lunch. After booking a massage (which was wonderful, affordable, and professional), my husband met me for dinner. They have a great selection of foods from Indian to Malagasy. The tagines are tasty. We keep coming back to this place, as the staff is wonderful as well. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvest, Alabama
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Cortez Tour Operator”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

In 2011 I used Cortez to get a tour of Madagascar. They did a fine job. They seem to specialize in Madagascar and are an honorary consulate so you can get your visa through them. I did the 15 day tour in November -- which I think is nearly ideal. But I could kick myself for not getting an extension into the Kindry forest, where there are foosa and baobab trees. If I were re-doing the trip, I'd take the 12 day trip and add an extension for Kindry. In the Kindry forest in November you are likely to see foosa courtship, as one of my travel mates did. On the front end of the trip you are likely to see an aye-aye, as I did.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

very good food and nice interiors. It is in main market. They serve Indian and European food. Sea food is very tasty.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The place for real quality massage in Tana.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

I've been here now for two consecutive nights and even if the pricing is a bit steep for Madagascar it is still well worth it. The place is clean and fresh and the services are done by friendly professionals. There are no "extra services" available and that is a good thing in this city...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Medina also viewed

Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 

Been to La Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.