We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice building, horrible service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamboho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tamboho to your Saves list
Hotel Tamboho
Tana Water Front | Ambodivona, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Antananarivo
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice building, horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

They forgot to pick me up at the airport (not nice when your plane arrives at 1.30 am), they programmed the wake-up call wrong (twice!!), they charge you if you ask for an iron for 15 minutes, they charge you ridiculous prices (more than double than the market prices) for any taxi you need, and you need a taxi for EVERYTHING as the hotel is very far away from the center.
The cleaning lady enters into your room when you're in the shower (it seams she didn't care. I did!)
Well, nice building and furniture but VERY BAD management. A pity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did
not meet your expectations.
For the transfert, we have spoken with the employee in question and we put a
procedure to avoid this kind of mistake. We understand your position at the
airport without transfer, it's not a good experience.
Could you verify that the transfert airport/hotel and the use of iron are
not on your invoice.
For the wake-up call, we appologize because of this period of rain saison
there is a lot of power cut and the automatic wake-up system have some
"bugs", we put a procedure to check time after this cut.
After the breakdown of the taxi you choose, we wanted to propose you of
reliable taxis and actually this has a cost.
We have spoken with the room service, and told them that if the guest do not
respond after knocking on the door, they should ask in the room if they can
enter. We told also that during the check-in the receptionnist should tell
to the guest that there is a "Do not disturb" button on the lock.

If you come back to our hotel, I would love to have the opportunity to speak
with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the
future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    38
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
25
6
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is perfect. It was our first hotel in Madagascar, and it was a good choice. Clean, nice and very nice designed.The surprise is the toilet. Very good idea :) Madagascar is the most wonderful place. People are nice and the nature is unbelievable. So visit this paradise for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review,

your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a veru different to the 1st tana hotel very modern and if I was staying on business a great place to stay. The hotel is in a little compound of shops restaurants etc I think, so no hassle to wander around. Though unfortunately we got there late and left early again so can not really comment. The hotel itself was very modern clean and friendly, the chef even stayed late to cook us some dinner which was appreciated, food was nice if quite expensive. The rooms are very clean and furnished to a very high standard, there are fridges outside the rooms with “free” water soke and sprite etc. yes the bathrooms do have a hole in but this is not really an issue? is it…

Breakfast was also very good, lots of variety and the jams were lovely! If I was staying here on my own for business then it would be great but if I was on holiday I would stay at Lokagana

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review,


your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is certainly very different from anything else in Tana, the rooms are very spacious, modern and the a/c is a very welcome relief from the heat of the city. As the others mentioned, the toilets are a tad unusual...we had to agree to listen to our ipods while we took our turns on the toilet!! The pool is lovely, the food is quite good and breakfast has some of the local cuisine. Staff, as in most places we visited in madagascar, were very friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed there twice, we stayed in room 9 I think the second time which had the screen covering the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Thanks for your review
we already close the gaps with a woven circulare windows for more privacy.

Happy to see you next time

Dimitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night after arriving from the US. There is a steep incline to get to the reception area so be prepared. Also there are a lot of steps to get to the rooms. The rooms were clean and spacious with a mini bar available. the breakfast offered was a variety of rolls and bread with fruit and cereal. Eggs were cooked to order. Porters are readily available to help with luggage.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Thanks for your review


Happy to see you next time

Dimitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here twice in July. Rooms are spacious and clean. The only issue is the large hole which means you can see the person in the bathroom from the bed. Its a little weird! The restaurant is excellent as is the little shopping centre outside as its all within a gated community so very safe for kids etc

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I am pleased to announce that we have a door to the bathroom and closing the circle on the wall.
You can see the pictures on the tripadvisor site.

Dimitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovoth, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We arrived Antananarivo and were taken straight to this modern, western hotel.
The room was very spacey, with flippers and robes waiting for us. It had a flat screen TV, and a big shower.
But - be prepared for something strange: it has a big round open window between the bathroom and the main room where you sleep. Very little privacy. We asked the reception if there is something that can be done about it, and they told us that all the rooms are like that. They did put on some kind of curtain which improved the situation just a bit. A funny experience, though...
The hotel also has a wifi connection in the reception area, along with a computer for the guests. It has a large, nice outside pool, overlooking antananarivo's rice fields. The breakfast was one of the best we had in Madagascar's hotels.
All in all it was very good, if you have to spent some time in Tana (which you shouldn't, because there is nothing to do there...).

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your review,

your sincerely

Dimitri Salichon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tamboho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamboho

Address: Tana Water Front | Ambodivona, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an exceptional location, with a combination of authenticity and modernity, in a peaceful atmosphere, close to downtown and the business district. This boutique hotel is ideal to stroll around Antananarivo, and get into its specificities: the Zoma market, the Independance Avenue, the Queen's Palace, the Tsimbazaza zoo with Madagascar's Nature's beauties, the lemurs, the various handicrafts markets, wood sculptures, semi precious and precious stones.The Tamboho hotel and restaurant comprises 30 air-conditioned rooms with all the required comfort, offering a refined cuisine serving European meals as well as delicious local and spicy flavored dishes.You will enjoy the designed style of the lobby, the western services quality with all the Malagasy charming care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tamboho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamboho Madagascar/Antananarivo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tamboho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.