We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food amid Somewhat Stiff Surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Varangue

La Varangue
17 Rue Printsy Ratsimamanga | Haute-Ville, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
+261 20 22 273 97
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 134 Restaurants in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $66
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In a cozy atmosphere "" The Restaurant "La Varangue" is open from breakfast to dinner to enjoy in a unique kitchen "World flavors and fragrance of our island" concocted by the chef.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good Food amid Somewhat Stiff Surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The tuna entree was among the best dinner I've had at any restaurant, and it's worth coming for this alone. The presentation of everything is also quite impressive. Other than this, though, La Varangue did not quite live up to our expectations. Our other dishes were good. The chocolate explosion dessert makes for an impressive show, but a somewhat less satisfying gustatory experience.

It is relatively small, elegant, and antique-filled. The staff is very attentive and somewhat brusque. Though the menu is in French, our waiter patiently went through it quickly in confident English. Patrons were predominantly, if not exclusively, westerners. Reservations seem to be quite necessary.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    64
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

+ impressive interior decoration, like a museum
+ great service
+ wonderful food
+ innovative menu
+ great wine
+ nice bar area
+ mixed crowd
+ nice restrooms

- a bit stiff and pretentious
- expensive
- no menu in english

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Me and my family love this place! The service is great, the food is of the highest standard, and all ingredients are fresh! They have a good variety, which should suit everyones needs! The duck was great!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“One of the only places”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

In Tana this place is unique, interesting and good food. Not worth the price unless you spend a long time looking at the displays and old cars. DO NOT walk to here at dark.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Excellent French style food, slightly more expensive than I was expecting (£100 for 2 people including a bottle of wine, I had 2 courses and my husband had 3) but worth every penny. Definitely recommend making a reservation, we didn't and I think we were lucky it was low season however staff were very friendly and accommodating. A great location for a special meal in Tana, great ambience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Varangue also viewed

Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 

Been to La Varangue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Varangue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.