We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and atmosphere, i agree it's the best in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Varangue

La Varangue
17 Rue Printsy Ratsimamanga | Haute-Ville, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
020 22 273 97
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 114 restaurants in Antananarivo
Price range: $10 - $59
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In a cozy atmosphere "" The Restaurant "La Veranda" is open from breakfast to dinner to enjoy in a unique kitchen "World flavors and fragrance of our island" concocted by the chef.
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere, i agree it's the best in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Excellent choice for a family lunch! In the terrasse you have nice views of Tana city! Very quite and excellent food! I'd recommend the terrine de foie as starter and magret de canard (lingot de canard), all amazing. The desserts are excellent too! Wine quite prizy but worth it to have a bottle with such an excellent food. An advice: ask for proper wine glasses. Don't conform with the little ones they bring you at the beginning, and enjoy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    88
    46
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Tana's top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Tired from rice 3 times a day? then La Varangue should help with its rather sophisticated menu (at least for Tana!). The dishes are good and the service and professional although both might look a tad pretentious. However the atmosphere full (*really* full) of antiques rather nice. There is a pleasant terrace as well. Breakfasts are excellent.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Fine French Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very creative dining including being able to handle a vegitarian's request. Beautiful room and very proffesional service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Could be in France!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Small - but high quality - michelin star justified cost. Quaint decor with lots of antiques. A treat night out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible food, a beautiful setting, and attentive staff that speak many languages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place is just fantastic! The food is out of this world, after roughing it round Madagascar we were blown away - this food would fit in comfortably at any 5 star swanky joint in London! We were early so we sat in the bar and had a drink before the restaurant opened at 7. Their home brewed rum is smooth as velvet and delicious, and they saw me scratching my leg and so brought us a mosquito coil, very thoughtful. Then we had dinner, I had mussels followed by duck and then the 'chocolate bomb' and my friend had the terrine, the zebu and a trio of lemon. All the food was first class and presented beautifully. The waiters were so attentive, it was a real treat of an evening. 3 courses each with rum and a tip came to around £40 for two so I don't know why everyone complains about the price. Its a fortune in Madagascan terms but nothing compared to European prices, though we didn't have any wine. As a steer, main course were around £8-10 each, very reasonable!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Varangue also viewed

Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 

Been to La Varangue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Varangue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.