We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Tana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Varangue

La Varangue
17 Rue Printsy Ratsimamanga | Haute-Ville, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
+261 20 22 273 97
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 134 Restaurants in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $66
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In a cozy atmosphere "" The Restaurant "La Varangue" is open from breakfast to dinner to enjoy in a unique kitchen "World flavors and fragrance of our island" concocted by the chef.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“An oasis in Tana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This restaurant and it's garden are a true oasis in Tana. Food is exceptional as is the attentive service. The plethora of antiques is most impressive - pleased I'm not polishing all that brass :-)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    64
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Varangue restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

An excellent menu cooked by a discerning chef? We really liked the crevettes. If you want a less expensive lunch try their omelettes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is such a special place and if you are lucky enough to book a room here, enjoy. The restaurant serves delicious food and the terrace is a great spot for an afternoon tea or coffee.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Super hotel and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at La Varangue twice during our honeymoon in Madagascar.

The first time was for 3 nights and it was great. The room was huge and modern, and a really good mosquito net (not the flimsy ones, but the ones with the weighted bit at the bottom so it doesn't ride up over the covers).

La Varangue is in a quiet location but central, so easy to find your way from the hotel to the main attractions.

The restaurant is also amazing, we had a three course meal one night and the desserts are just out of this world. Our £ was also strong, so La Varangue was great value for the quality of the hotel. The restaurant was always busy when we were there, seems very popular with tourists, locals and ex-pats alike.

We stayed again before we flew back to London and again the stay was super. The staff are knowledgeable and very friendly, especially the waiters in the restaurant. We also booked all our airport hotels with La Varangue and that was great, no hassle and they made sure we had 4x4 for each journey.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The restaurant was nice, the ambiance it great fun and the bar is nice. It is a bit expensive and there are other options in town that are as good or better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Varangue also viewed

Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 

Been to La Varangue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Varangue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.