We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel and restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Varangue

La Varangue
17 Rue Printsy Ratsimamanga | Haute-Ville, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
020 22 273 97
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 124 Restaurants in Antananarivo
Price range: $10 - $59
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In a cozy atmosphere "" The Restaurant "La Veranda" is open from breakfast to dinner to enjoy in a unique kitchen "World flavors and fragrance of our island" concocted by the chef.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Super hotel and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at La Varangue twice during our honeymoon in Madagascar.

The first time was for 3 nights and it was great. The room was huge and modern, and a really good mosquito net (not the flimsy ones, but the ones with the weighted bit at the bottom so it doesn't ride up over the covers).

La Varangue is in a quiet location but central, so easy to find your way from the hotel to the main attractions.

The restaurant is also amazing, we had a three course meal one night and the desserts are just out of this world. Our £ was also strong, so La Varangue was great value for the quality of the hotel. The restaurant was always busy when we were there, seems very popular with tourists, locals and ex-pats alike.

We stayed again before we flew back to London and again the stay was super. The staff are knowledgeable and very friendly, especially the waiters in the restaurant. We also booked all our airport hotels with La Varangue and that was great, no hassle and they made sure we had 4x4 for each journey.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    60
    13
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The restaurant was nice, the ambiance it great fun and the bar is nice. It is a bit expensive and there are other options in town that are as good or better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place offers great food and excellent service. So, So, So French......The desserts are fabulous.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very interesting and individual restaurant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We ate at La Varangue twice and stayed there for one night. It is a very interesting place. The decor is beautiful, very atmospheric, full of french antiques and curios. I absolutely loved that.

Price wise, for Tana it is at the high end, but when you put it in context it's the same price as a decent pub lunch in London.

Service was excellent and the wine was reasonable although limited to french which isn't my favorite.

Onto the food which is a strange mixed bag and varies for the utterly revolting and inedible to the truly delicious. I did have to send one course back as it was really, really horrible. That's one of the very few times I have ever returned a plate - we brits are trained to suffer in silence, but my wife's starter was so delicious. Other things can be just a bit weird and off the mark - like zebu which has been peppered into oblivion or a trio of duck in quite an unpleasant watery soup. On the other hand however some other courses we had were super delicious so I dont really understand the occasional things which just dont work.

I would definitely go back and despite my comments would encourage anyone to go, it's a wonderful and memorable experience of character, charm and sophistication in the crazy, dishevelled, hurly burley chaos of Tana.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Amazingly amazingly amazing.
Really great food, service, decor and atmosphere. Sad we left this to our last night, would've loved to go back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Varangue also viewed

Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 

Been to La Varangue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Varangue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.