We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel as long as you don't get room 20” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relais des Plateaux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Relais des Plateaux to your Saves list
Le Relais des Plateaux
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 66 B Antanetibe Ivato, Antananarivo 105, Madagascar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Antananarivo
Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel as long as you don't get room 20”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have had a number of one night stops at this hotel over the years because it is really handy for Tana airport. Although it is close to an incredibly busy road, it is pretty peaceful and the gardens and pool are relaxing for such a location. The rooms are a little 'motel' style and you have to watch the bathroom grilles for invasions of mosquitoes - but they are clean, well equipped and comfortable. Except for room 20! This room and a few near it are squeezed into the site and have no view. What makes room 20 so bad though is that the air conditioning plant is right against its wall so you have a load oppressive throb from machinery all night long.
Dinner is pleasant - limited choice for vegetarians - and breakfast is really good.
Cheerful and welcoming staff, whatever the time of day or night.

Room Tip: Just avoid room 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    67
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
52
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

You don't appreciate hot showers until you've had one here after days of forest trails and cold water showers. Oh and air conditioning - bliss. The friendly local nightjar made a pass across the bottom of the pool one evening whilst I was swimming. The most amazing pudding in the world - a chocolate tour of Madagascar..................... words cannot even begin to describe. Just do it!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The best thing about the hotel is that it is only a few minutes from the airport. The rooms were nice but uninspired. They have all the typical amenities, however the wifi is better in some rooms than in others based upon our experience and talking with other members of our party. There is a nice pool but it was cold at the end of September. The restaurant is OK. If you want to be near the airport and avoid the drive into town it is a pretty good option. It is also very close to the US embassy. It appears that a lot of foreign diplomats use this hotel and therefore can be relied upon for its safety.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cédric T, Responsable commercial at Le Relais des Plateaux, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Sir, thank you for your time to provide us your feedback!
Concerning Wi-fi indeed we experienced troubles coming from our provider, there was nothing we could do at this time. However I am pleased to announce you that we are currently installing new routers much more powerful to avoid this difference between rooms !
About the room's decoration, I think it's a matter of taste, but I keep it in mind. I am surprised you've found the pool cold because it's heated all along the year to maintain a 27°C temperature. I will check this ASAP.
Thank you for your lovely word on safety, indeed it is one of our main priority. Best regards and in the hope to see you soon. Cedric.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent almost a month at R.D.P. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Rooms were clean, aircon'd and very comfortable. The food was delicious, definitely not what I was expecting! Sure I picked up a few kg's while being there. The staff were super friendly, and more than willing to help in any way.
My only gripe would be the internet, which was down/very intermittent for the last two weeks, however I was led to believe this was not the hotels fault, but the service provider. Possibly a few more English tv channels if at all possible? I'm sure it's fine for a night or two, however, staying for a long period of time, can get a bit dull, watching the same two channels over and over.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you need easy access to Tana airport, this hotel has a lot to recommend it. Super restaurant, pleasant bedrooms, helpful staff - and only ten minutes to the late night horror of the Tana terminal. Look no further.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed 3 times overnight between flights - it's comfortable, clean, the staff is very helpful and the food good. The only thing we regret was booking half board - they have a good looking menu and the half board includes a limited choice only.
The traffic jam in Tana is a problem and if you have to catch a flight is better to sleep near the airport.
They also have the possibility for day use rooms so you can rest and take a shower before a night flight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I only stayed here overnight, never saw it in daylight. Comfortable clean well furnished room. Had a great dinner, but the amazing thing was that our group of 19 needed breakfast at 3:45am before an early flight, and the same staff who had served us dinner were all ready for us and smiling, and again the food was great. You surely can't go wrong with this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Relais des Plateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais des Plateaux

Address: Lot 66 B Antanetibe Ivato, Antananarivo 105, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais des Plateaux 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 7.5 miles from capital city of Madagascar and 5 minutes from Ivato international airport & the International Convention Center in a wooden site of 6,000 sq. meters. Family-owned French & Malagasy hotel created in 2005, furniture is a combination between local tradition and international modernity. The park is full of bird and vegetal species which is part of our success for nature lovers. Buildings are incorporated in this surrounding which makes us “an oasis at the gates of Antananarivo”. About security the hotel works with two ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Relais des Plateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Des Plateaux Madagascar/Antananarivo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Relais des Plateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.