We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“A great hotel in Tripoli” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Awal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Awal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Awal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Errebiya Elarbi Street (formerly Meseera el Kubra) | off Omar El Mokhtar Street, Tripoli 10.03.271, Libya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Tripoli
Zebbug
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great hotel in Tripoli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Awal Hotel is perfectly situated in downtown Tripoli just off a major artery of the road system, giving you a pristinely clean room (I counted 1 maid per 5 rooms which is unheard of), friendly staff, actually familiar staff that will do their best to service you every need. The internet is fast and pretty reliable by Libyan standards. The only drawback is the fact the Awal doesn't offer in-house dining, which is something I believe can easily be added to the service profile as most business trip require long days out and early return to home, a simple snack menu would do the trick. I've never looked elsewhere and recommend it to any other traveller to this destination.

Room Tip: Always try for seaview!! Joking apart, ask for a room furthest from the Mosque!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. We appreciate your comments.
As you say, at this point in time we are only serving breakfast at our hotel; however we do offer a service where guests can order lunch or dinner from nearby restaurants and we take care of the delivery (room service). This service is provided for free through our reception counter.

Do not hesitate to let us know should you need any more information, and we hope to welcome you again to Awal Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tripoli
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I recently had the chance to visit the Awal Hotel and was very impressed, especially by it's cleanliness! The hotel was spotless and seemed to be well run. The management and staff are friendly, and internet/wifi are available throughout the whole hotel. The hotel is very centrally located, just off the main street in downtown Tripoli, and sits right across from the International Fair Grounds. It is easily within walking distance of Martyr's Square. I would highly recommend the Awal Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your kind review. Your comments are very much appreciated, especially when coming from an experienced local travel operator.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed in the Awal Hotel while interviewing for jobs in Tripoli. The hotel was immaculate and modern. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the breakfast was exceptional in comparison to those offered at other hotels in Libya.

The Awal hotel is in a convenient location--within walking distance of Martyrs square on the water and the old city.

The staff is quite friendly and accommodating. My one complaint is that we reserved a taxi for a 5 am airport run, but the person working at the desk did not follow through and we were stuck waiting for 45 minutes while the morning person looked for someone to drive us.

Aside from the taxi issue, I would definitely stay at the Awal again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for your kind review. We appreciate your comments and are glad that we met your expectations. We checked about the taxi issue and it seems that there was a misunderstanding from our side. Please accept our apologies. We hope to welcome you again to Awal Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Visited Libya on many different occasions and stayed at various hotels.
Once I discovered Awal Hotel there was no alternative accommodation place where I felt welcome by the dedicated staff, cleanliness and comfortable rooms which are daily cleaned and coupled with its proximity to the main exhibition center and situated in the hearth of the business activity center Tripoli - I highly recommend.
Excellent breakfast and although there is no in-house restaurant for the evening meals, dinner was ordered and delivered to my room..with a smile no matter how late it was!! No extra charge.. that's a service..
There is a phone in the room, internet and TV with ample different stations. What are you grinning about....You might say they should be basic in 2013..well they are not. I am presently in UK, hotel is costing me more than it costs at Awal with no breakfast, no phone in room, no internet in room, no dinner facilities.
Awal Hotel did not save any expense. They have it all and they do it with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We appreciate your comments.
We hope to welcome you again to Awal Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Myself & My company's guests prefer to stay at AWAL Hotel,Simply because everything at AWAL really traditional, Rooms are smart and classical, People working at AWAL are really friendly and helfull, I also enjoyed the quality of the breakfast offer where you can see different types of food, AWAL Hotel located in Triploi Center, You can reach to the national museum & Tripoli Old City in just about 15 minutes walking, I recommend AWAL Hotel for another simple reason which concerns budget, Actually prices at AWAL are really affordable.

Room Tip: Security around the hotel area is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We hope to see you again in Tripoli soon.

Best Regards from the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabriz, Azarbayjan-e Bakhtari, Iran
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Awal Hotel is a wonderful palace in Libya.
When i trip to Libya i stayed 7 days. and i felt at in my home. Priminilary i want to say thank you all Awal hotel persons. Promise i will visit your country and your hotel. Please don't forget if you want to hospitality and comfort and clean in Tripoli you have to visit Awal Hotel.

Room Tip: all stairs wonderfull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We hope to see you again in Tripoli soon.

Best Regards from the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gharghur, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have found Awal Hotel to be very welcoming and especially clean. Breakfast served was also to my liking given that there was much more on the table then in any other hotel around Tripoli. Staff was very friendly and polite. Wifi service available without any trouble. Will recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good service in a prime location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awal_Hotel_Tripoli, General Manager at Awal Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review.
We take great satisfaction when reading such comments.
We hope to see you again soon at Awal Hotel, and do not hesitate to contact us should you require any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Awal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awal Hotel

Address: Errebiya Elarbi Street (formerly Meseera el Kubra) | off Omar El Mokhtar Street, Tripoli 10.03.271, Libya
Phone Number:
Location: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Tripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Awal Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awal Hotel offers a high standard of quality accommodation and hospitality that meets the needs of the holiday maker, business or corporate traveler. Awal Hotel is conveniently situated in El Meseera El Kubra Street, a very central location in the heart of Tripoli, just off Omar Al Mokhtar Street, one of Tripoli’s major business districts. The Tripoli International Fairgrounds can be reached within five minutes walk from the hotel, making Awal Hotel a perfect location for exhibitors and visitors alike. The hotel is also within few minutes reach by taxi to the foremost business centre The Al Fateh Towers and the Dath Al Imad Towers, both hosting commercial offices and retail outlets of numerous reputable international companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Awal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.