We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Excellent start in tripoli” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Waddan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Al Waddan Hotel to your Saves list
Al Waddan Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dahra, Tripoli 2309, Libya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Tripoli
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent start in tripoli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is part of the tripoli history. It's a good hotel with the following point of stoke: good room, not noisy, good breakfast and restaurant, familiar environment, Free internet connection. Weak points: sometime the service slow down and I have experienced little issues solved from the staff. To this aim, special mention to Mohammed (reception supervisor) that represents an added value for the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

absolutely absurd, even for Africa with their filthy carpets, intermittent wi fi connection and nasy Southeast Asia front desk staff.

Hotel seems to be empty, seems I was one of the only people gullible enough to pay these rates.

Never again.

Room Tip: do not accept a room above overpass crossing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Libya has limited options for good hotel
The good hotels generally are too expensive
In this hotel , you may get fair quality with med-high price
Positive
Clean
Free Internet
Good room space
Free Internet with good strength and coverage

Need to improve
Not all rooms has the same quality
Not quite area
Minibar , without any options m empty mini bar

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

A real nice hotel, gentle staff, superb patio, ideal for an arabic coffee.
Comfortable and vast room, always kept clean
Great breakfirst in a superb diningroom, main meal less enjoyable.
Quite reasonnable price in regard of service rendered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Al Waddan is a part of Tripoli's history, I was told by a man I met in the lobby on my first day in the hotel. He lived now in Washington DC but had lived in Tripoli and remembered when there was a casino and a movie theatre that used to show first-run Hollywood movies, in the time when there was a large American base in Tripoli. He explained to me that the hotel design reflected the way Libyan houses used to be built - facing inward to a courtyard, often with a fountain, with canvas stretched across the roof to shelter from the rain while allowing air circulation.
The lobby, which has sofas and chairs set around tables, does indeed seem to be a place where people gather, for cappucino or for quick meals, which include traditional Libyan cuisine. In one corner is a stone fountain and pool, with flowers set in glass pots along the edge, and the sound of running water is soothing.
Many of the rooms on the upper floors have balconies that overlook the lobby, and on my first stay, I had one of these rooms. On a later stay, I had an inner room with no balcony. Both were a reasonable size, well-appointed, with comfortable beds, a desk, and flat screen tv.
The bathrooms are excellent, some with only showers and some with baths and showers. I remember my first shower, after arriving from the airport, with particular fondness, especially because of the wonderfully scented toiletries the hotel provides, along with a bathrobe and slippers and big towels.
The dining room offers buffet style meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner, all with a great variety of foods. Often at breakfast, you can have an omelet made especially for you. The only challenge is on Fridays, especially during Ramadan, when you have to make other arrangements for lunch and dinner :) During Ramadan, iftar is served outside on the balcony that extends outward from the dining room, where barbecues are often held at other times in the year.
The hotel has a glorious-looking swimming pool in the outside courtyard, although I never had a chance to swim (too busy). And the view of Tripoli's harbour from the dining room balcony is superb.
I enjoyed my stays here. Service was good, and the hotel staff very efficiently found me a vase (a large crystal one) in which to place the roses that one of our friends in Benghazi gave me when we left there. Checking out, and billing the stay to my credit card, was done very efficiently as well, and the staff were friendly and pleasant.
We had one fire alarm in the middle of the night, apparently caused by someone smoking in the room (not allowed). The staff apologized for the disturbance but I was happy that the hotel's fire detection system was so sensitive and effective.
The hotel is not far from the old part of the city, with its amazing markets and outdoor cafes.
All told, a very pleasant place to stay in Tripoli.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing into the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My many stays in Al-Waddan hotel always bring joyful memories. This fantastic landmark of our great capital is truly a remarkable achievement of the hospitality industry in Libya since the Kingdom time. The staff made me feel very welcome as if I was home. Their professionalism is unmatched to any of the hotels around the world and I have been in many. The interior design of the hotel adds deep warmth and comfortable feeling. The restaurants ambiance and the food are absolutely divine. I thank all staff members without excluding anyone for their excellent service. I look forward to my next stay in this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Union, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I can remember staying at the Uaddan Hotel and Casino in 1956 and found it to be delightful as I see it is once again. I had a large room overlooking the harbor. There was a lounge that was used by the US Military, British and the Oil Company Geologists that were searching for oil that they eventually found. I don't remember the lounge but it was always packed and was the place to be back in those days. Wonderful memories.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Waddan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Waddan Hotel

Address: Dahra, Tripoli 2309, Libya
Location: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Tripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Waddan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SITUATED IN THE HEART OF TRIPOLI, AL WADDAN HOTEL NESTLES BETWEEN THE BEAUTIFUL MATURE FREES AND SHRUBS THAT KINE THE CORNICHE.AL WADDAN IS TRIPOLI'S OLDEST HOTEL, DATING BACK TO THE 1930'S, AND THE NEWSEST RENOVATION WHICH, WITHOUT A DOUBT IS LIBYA'S MOST ELEGANT BOUTIQUE HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Waddan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Waddan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.