We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Libya again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli to your Saves list
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Fatah Street - The Corniche, Tripoli, Libya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Tripoli
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Libya again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I made my second trip to Tripoli for business and stayed at the Radisson Blu again. I enjoy the security and service of the hotel and the view is wonderful from the balcony of the room I stayed in on the Harbor side. The hotel seems to be doing very well and hosts a lot of functions and business meetings. The location is very good and close to some excellent restaurants or the harbor, if you choose to walk around. Definitely is my hotel of choice for Tripoli!

Room Tip: Get a harbor view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalcin S, Front Office Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Tripoli we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Sincerely,

Yalcin Sucu
Asst.Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    53
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
8
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was very pleased with all aspects of my extended stay at the Radisson. In a city where security is an ever-present concern, the hotel was a comforting place to be. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating - whether it was helping me recover a lost item or recharging my phone credit. On one occasion where I had to wait longer than usual for room service, the manager preemptively called to apologize and provided my meal free of charge. It is clear that both managers and staff are working hard to provide 5-star service.

My room was large and always cleaned well. The bed was extremely comfortable and all amenities - bathroom, safe, tv, A/C, etc. - were great. The best part of the room, though, was the lovely balcony and view of Tripoli (choose a top floor if you can!). The gym equipment is nice and, although the facilities are small, it was never crowded. The pool, restaurants, and especially the cafe were great.

The breakfast spread was generally excellent, although the eggs were sometimes cold. The rest of the menu was decent to good, although all of the food is expensive. During Ramadan, the hotel moved breakfast to the executive lounge and I thought they did an excellent job of maintaining high levels of service throughout the month.

No other hotels in Tripoli - except perhaps the Corinthia - come close in terms of quality, comfort, and services. I highly recommend the Radisson for anyone coming to Tripoli!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get the best view of the city and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalcin S, Front Office Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Tripoli we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Sincerely,

Yalcin Sucu
Asst.Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Sea view, decent balcony, room average, cable TV, internet can be erratic, room services is a waiting game generally, poolside food & service average, main buffet salad choice ok but main courses sub standard, service hardly evident, maitre d'otel surly, coffee shop has average service & limited pastry choice yet pricey. The business lounge is sadly very average - the business rooms are not worth the upgrade. Reception staff are indifferent & rarely smile wth no two of them getting their facts right. Concierge ok. Maids take a very long time to do a very average job often forgetting to vacum or clean the carpet or balcony. Sheets invariably damp. To keep their standards up this Hotel needs to retrain or replace 90% of their staff as other wise their location, view & facilities are class. Security is in evidence though questionable. For the prices charged, Management aught to be embarrassed. Incidentally they are rarely seen & rarely interact with guests. Staff need guidance & supervision, retraining or replacement.

Room Tip: Business rooms on floors 13-15 but not worth it. Join Concierge Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalcin S, Front Office Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Tripoli we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Sincerely,

Yalcin Sucu
Asst.Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The journey from the airport was interesting to start with. Just how do you turn a three lane motorway into a seven lane free for all?!! Eventually arrived though and got through the ubiquitous security and swift reception. The lobby looks and feels spacious but the (non-alcoholic) bar was so noisy! The room was a standard Radisson, or any other mid market hotel, room. Adequately equipped and with free wifi! I had a good view of the harbour and the half (and never to be, by the look of it!) completed Intercontinental hotel. The money for this project I was told has 'disappeared'! The evening meal was in the main restaurant buffet, where all meals were taken, and while the choice was a little limited, it was well cooked and hot. The views were over the harbour and out to sea and, because it was evening, offered a dramatic sunset.

The sheets on the bed doubled as sandpaper I found, but the bathroom was fine, and sleep came easily. Wifi was slow and intermittent and I had to keep re-logging on.

Breakfast next morning was buffet and a reasonable one with plenty of fruit. Staff were helpful and spoke English. Overall the hotel was quite busy and the gym, which was well equipped, got busy too. The highlight for me was the rooftop pool which was a gorgeous suntrap, but not, as one would expect, on the actual rooftop, but on level 2 rooftop! Nor was the pool bar open. Practically deserted in fact.

A trip to the souk on the last morning of this business trip made the whole thing worthwhile. We strolled around completely unmolested and felt very secure. We were a medium sized, mixed sex party, and went and sat in the open air cafe to have a last coffee before heading back to the airport. Again we didn't feel at all exposed in this environment. Libyan folk are lovely - at least the ones I've met, and Libya would make a great Mediterranean tourist destination, if it could get itself sorted out politically.

The journey back to the airport was every bit as awful as the journey inbound, doubly so because there was a traffic jam of epic proportions at a crossroads with cars and trucks going in all directions except in a straight line - total nightmare!

Room Tip: Try to get a harbour facing room, mine was a side room so had to crane a bit to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalcin S, Front Office Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Tripoli we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Sincerely,

Yalcin Sucu
Asst.Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

It's worth bearing in mind that there are no international standard hotels in Tripoli and of the three best - the Rixos, the Corinthia and the Radisson Blu - the Radisson Blu is the best of a fairly mediocre bunch.

The hotel is quite shabby and the very real needs of security mean that there is a militia presence in and around the hotel which some might find offputting.

The rooms are OK, up to standard and the expat staff are splendid - helpful, well-trained and very much in line with Radisson standards worldwide. Local staff are still on what is clearly a steep learning curve and some are finding it quite hard going.

Catering is something of an Achilles heel. There are clearly some issues sourcing decent produce in Libya and this shows; equally, in the fifty or so nights I have spent in this hotel this year, it has been apparent that the hotel has yet to source an executive chef who is on top of his game - the food is generally uninspired, expensive and, particularly when served buffet-style, not up to standard; often it is clear that the buffet is left-overs or simply thrown together from what was next to expire in the freezer. The management are aware of these issues and are doing what they can, though.

If you are travelling to Tripoli, of the very limited range of alternatives for the Western business traveller, this is the one to select.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ferry port are quite noisy as local youth particularly enjoy doing tricks in unsile...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalcin S, Front Office Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Tripoli we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Sincerely,

Yalcin Sucu
Asst.Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This was the second time i stayed in the Radisson blu, in the same business class room on the 15 floor..
The rooms are large, with really nice view of the ocean and a world class lounge which is complimentary in you are staying on one of the premium floors .. The restaurants are good ... But i would recommend to try some restaurants in the wallled fortb..
There is a free car stunts show every friday and you can see it from your balcony ... No professionals just guys with big cars ..

The hotels management has recently changed and the new staff are welcoming, helpful and really professional.
The make every effort to help you ... Especially when you dont speak arabic...
Since libya is an Arabic islamic country, english is understood but not spoken widely... So never go out unless your accompnied with some one who speaks arabic ....

Overall the city tripoli is beautiful .. And the people are humble and nice ...

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalcin S, Front Office Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Tripoli we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Sincerely,

Yalcin Sucu
Asst.Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

First of all, It is nice to remember that this Hotel is based in Tripoli (Libya). This is important to remember, especially for food and beverage. From breakfast to evening dinner I had good or very good experiences, even when the hotel was fully booked. Access to every type of food, very good service, etc ! The head of food and beverage department is therefore on top of his job ! Congratulations for that. This hotel keeps international standards at that level.

I was less impressed by the room quality. After 5 days , no one had taken the initiative to empty the garbage bin in my bathroom, or in the room. I had to ask for it, which is somehow sad for a business class hotel. On a positive note, after asking the person in charge, more attention was given to the room. There was also a bad smell coming from the bathtub and some water was leaking from the ceiling. I informed the reception and received support for that. But well, once again, for a business class hotel it is somehow disapointing.


The staff is a mix of nationals and internationals and overall the service is good or very good. There is the occasional mistake with the order, but you'll find that everywhere.

There is a security portal at the entrance but the people in charge are barely looking at the screens when you scan your bags. So it is kind of an illusion of security at that portal level. That being said it seems that this hotel is very secure compare to others.

There is a swimming pool, a real gym and a SPA. The hotel is one of these places, when you can work the all day and (really) relax on the evening with a coffee and a a delicious piece of cake enjoying the local breeze.


So it is a good business class hotel, but it comes with a price.

Tips

- There is an AVIS office near the reception and they organize airport transfert.
- Check out can take some time .. so, when leaving - ask to check out - go to breakfast - and come back (after breakfast) to the reception and most likely the paper will be ready.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalcin S, Front Office Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at the Radisson Blu Tripoli we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Sincerely,

Yalcin Sucu
Asst.Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli

Address: Al Fatah Street - The Corniche, Tripoli, Libya
Phone Number:
Location: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tripoli
#2 Spa Hotel in Tripoli
#3 Business Hotel in Tripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli Hotel Tripoli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.