We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barracuda Bar

Barracuda Bar
UN Drive, Monrovia, Liberia
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 43 Restaurants in Monrovia
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Were there jan 2013. Very nice place, the food is the best in town, got great sushi, burgers and pizzas - very nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

As always, my preferred sushi place - in the world! Spicy tuna salad, and crispy spicy tuna are to be recommended!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not bad but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

OK, I realize I am in Monrovia and not Tokyo or even New York or California. And, given that, it's a pretty decent place.

The interior of the restaurant is gorgeous and the service was top notch. We had a few different appetizers and also some sashimi and rolls.

Again, nothing was "bad," per se, but a few things were a tad off-putting.

First, the miso soup is so damn strong that I think they are using the super-fermented red stuff instead of the more traditional white. Or they are not diluting it enough. Either way, after half a bowl I had drained two glasses of water trying to get the salt taste out of my mouth.

The rolls were fine (think we got spicy tuna and a salmon one) but they tend to glop on the sauce which makes the fish hard to taste.

The biggest put-off for me was the sashimi. It was fresh, no doubt about that, but these are not formally trained sushi chefs so they are lacking the knife skills to know how to cut fish (like tuna or salmon) that can be very stringy if not properly handled. Hey, like I said, this is Monrovia and this restaurant is certainly trying the best they can with what they have.

And everything was fresh and tasty enough...just don't come here looking for sushi nirvana. Or at least not sashimi nirvana. But do remember to tip the sushi chefs separately at their little station, they were so friendly and tried so hard to please.

Good enough place if you need a fixing but keep your expectations in check.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baabdat, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best Sushi ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

located within the premises of the Mamba point Hotel, it falls within the same standard of quality if not better.

a wide offering of sushi leaves you only confused what to order, but one thing for sure do not miss the fresh tuna they have almost each sunday (or firday), that is if you are lucky enough to have a catch of the day.

if you are not a fan of sushi, you could always find some good terryaki based platters (try the shrimp terryaki)

this is something definitely not to be missed, for lunch or Dinner, and it is very reasonably priced

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda Bar also viewed

Monrovia, Montserrado County
Monrovia, Montserrado County
 
Monrovia, Montserrado County
Monrovia, Montserrado County
 

Been to Barracuda Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barracuda Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.