We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lancer's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maseru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lancer's Inn
Maseru Centre, Maseru, Lesotho   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Maseru
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed for over 3 months at Lancers Inn from Nov 2012 to March 2013, travelling out and returning back few times. I stayed at a chalet and a flat and both were quite nice. The hotel staff especially the front office staff and the restaurant staff were very nice and helpful. I generally found the place to be quite nice and the gardens and the property were maintained regularly. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: Opt for a chalet instead of Rondavels and rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    34
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
9
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very comfortable and conveniently located in the centre of Maseru. Food is good, particularly breakfast, but service is slow. Staff very friendly. The rooms are quite spacious and are simply but well-furnished with desk, aircon (heating and cooling), TV, electric blanket on bed in the rondavel. Ask for a rondavel with a bar fridge at no extra cost. - these are free standing and so you don't have the noise from the next door room. Hotel has a convenient shuttle to and from the international airport which is some distance out of town.

Room Tip: Choose room or thatched rondavel at the back of the hotel. The front rooms can be very noisy on Thu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The rooms and restaurant look wonderful but the staff take extremely long before any service is provided.
I would not say that this is value for money, on the day of arrival the room was prepared perfectly,but on the second day we had to ask a few times before the room was finally cleaned (11:30). Since then the cups and glasses we used in the room also hasn't been cleaned, I washed them myself. Just got clean towels now (14:45) since asking from 8:30 this morning. Room still hasn't been cleaned yet....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Lancer's Inn - previous time was in 2011.

On both occasions, I stayed in a room in the main wing. The first thing to be aware of is that the windows have bars for security reasons, but they cannot be opened from the inside. Definitely a hazard in the case of fire. Also, if you have a room on the front-side then you will look out directly into the small garden and the carpark beyond. This means you will need to draw the curtains every time you change clothes or want to use the bathroom - there is only small, false wall separating the bedroom from the bathroom.

Despite the printed cards, there is no safe in the room so you may want to carry your valuables around with you.

The rooms have everything you need and are generally clean provided you don't look too closely. The main power points use the South African layout but there are other power points under the desk which can handle different layouts. There's a good number of power points to help you keep everything charged.

Be prepared to have to buy wifi access, but it's quite reasonable - 500mb is ZAR200. The beauty is that the wifi is accessible through the hotel and restaurant. It may not be fast, but it was acceptable for Skype calls to Australia.

As it was winter, I used the air conditioner before bed to warm the room up but the room stayed warm after that and I learnt to turn it off completely in the night.

Be aware that there is no noise-proofing in the rooms. I had one neighbour who would get up and about at 5:30am - I could hear everything including the shower, toilet flushing and keys in the door. Even worse was when he joined colleagues in the corridor for a chat.

The bar is a nice place to relax after work and I really enjoyed the restaurant. The filet steak there is equal to any you can find in the world but is a lot cheaper. Frankly, there was enough on offer to not be bothered making trips after dark to other restaurants.

As with everything in Lesotho, the service is slow. You just have to get used to it.

The Lancers' Inn have security guards around the clock. They are always friendly and a great source of advice.

Of course, the real benefit of the Lancers' Inn is that it's in the middle of Maseru, so it is ideal for business travel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main wing can get noise from the neighbours. One of the villas out the back may be quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Lancer's Inn offers a variety of accommodation types (rooms, chalets, houses, rondavels, suites) to match the visitor's need. The food is not an adventure but honestly good and the service impeccable. Booking a room is not very easy considering the number of people staying for long and renewing their stay at the last moment.
We had one rondavel (35), and it had everything one could need in an average three-star hotel, except that there was no door between the toilet and the rest of the room. That's certainly something you avoid if you're a romantic couple, and the staff could have thought of that. No electric socket in the bathroom but a European socket in the room compensated that miss.
This is a central place. Maseru is a small town and everything can be found by foot (not at night!!!) aroud the hotel. An overall satisfaction, I would certainly recommend it for business stays. Maybe less for a romantic trip.

Room Tip: Don't take Rondavel 35 if you're a couple. No door between the toilet and the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Lancer's Inn is a very interesting hotel. The front part is a historical building with the rest added later as time went by. I have probably stayed here about 10 times, normally 5 days at a time.

They have a combination of self containing units, flats, rooms, rondawels and hotel rooms. Rondawels for those that don't know are traditional rooms that is build in a circle with a thatch roof with no ceiling. The height of the thatch roof creates a double volume, so it is an interesting experience sleeping in one. Have a look at the photos. Try it.

The staff is very friendly, although they can be a bit slow in the restaurant. Especially in the morning waiting for breakfast.

Parts of the hotel were revamped last year. The rooms are generally a bit dated, especially the bath rooms, but I do not find that a problem. Very clean with all the amenities that you need. Internet is not free, but they sell you a bundle like 200 meg, 500 meg or a Gig worth of data. That is much better that certain hotels that charge internet access per hour of 24 hours.

Centrally located, so close to everything. I can honestly recommend the hotel. Definitely worth staying there.

The garden between the rooms are worth experiencing. They have different gardens in different sections. Springtime they have impatients, etc everywhere. I include some pics from last may 2013, which is late autumn, winter in Lesotho.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The best thing about the Lancers Inn (actually most places in Lesotho), is the friendly staff. Everyone you bump into, from the gardeners to the manager will greet you with a smile and a friendly chat if you have the time.

The unit I stayed in was slightly old, but spotlessly clean and contained all the amenities you can hope for in a budget self catering unit. The air conditioners work perfectly, and one is not aware of the bitter cold outside.

The food in the restaurant is basic, and I think with a long stay might become boring, but for the 5 days that I have been here I have not yet had a meal that I did not enjoy. The service is extremely slow, and you should be patient. Meals are priced very well.

The internet was slow and expensive, but this is the case in most of Southern African hotels.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lancer's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancer's Inn

Address: Maseru Centre, Maseru, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Maseru District > Maseru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Maseru
Also Known As:
Lancer`s Hotel Maseru
Lancers Hotel Maseru
Lancer's Inn Lesotho/Maseru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancer's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lancer's Inn to your Saves list