We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lesotho Sun Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lesotho Sun Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lesotho Sun Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hilton Road, Maseru 100, Lesotho   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Maseru
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed in the presidential suite at this hotel for one night when I was in Lesotho for business. As I arrived I was not impressed at all by the door man and porter who merely looked at us and did not assist us with opening door and carrying our luggage. We were 2 ladies and were carrying quite a number of things with us. After checking in, we settled in, in the beautiful room prepared for us. I was quiet puzzled by the hotel staff who were entering the suite willy-nilly fixing or bringing things without knocking. We were also unimpressed by the fact that the wi-fi was not free and when we got the voucher, you could only use it for one device at a time. So, I couldn't access my phone and iPad at the same time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    35
    17
    3
See reviews for
3
4
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming to Lesotho for 6 years & Staying at this hotel which is considered the bestbhotl in town. The hotel is very comfortable, great rooms, friendly staff plenty of hot water, & good heating in the winter. However, the food leaves much to be desired and the service is non existent. When a request is made, one needs to follow up several times to get service. Once the responsible person has made a phone call, they think their duty is done. There is no follow-up. I requested a chair for my room and after one hour it took a return trip to to front desk to ask again. My husband calls me skype to land, but often the front desk does not answer the phone. we now skype to cell. These issues are indicative, but not unusual. Technically I am in a nonsmoking room. However, clients in the rooms around me smoke and nothing is done to deter the other clients from smoking in the non-smoking areas. The ventilation system allows my room to be filled with cigarette smoke. It is very off-putting. Needless to say that with better training, this really could bee a 4 star hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Lesotho Sun Hotel offers good, clean, and comfortable accommodation in Maseru. The staff are friendly and efficient. BUT the most impressive feature of the hotel is its restaurant which serves THE BEST lamb chops I have eaten to date. Absolutely divine!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff is great. The dinner gets boring after a few days but the breakfast buffet is lovely. The bed is comfortable, the casino is amusing and the view of the valley is second to none. The resident manager is VERY involved with all activities.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I've only stayed at this hotel in Maseru, but it seemed like the best choice of the lot. You get really nice views since you're tucked away on a mountain and the chinese restaurant downstairs is pretty good.

The internet is annoying though because you have to keep buying data packages and they are often sold out when you need to recharge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My experiences the two times I stayed at the hotel was remarkable. The stay with no exceptions was great. All of the staff seemed to go out of their way to make my stay comfortable. The food was well prepared, was presented beautifully. The rooms were clean and serviced daily. The grounds beautiful and kept well manicured. In short my time at the hotel made my stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Set on the hillside in Maseru, the views from this hotel are stunning. The staff is warm, friendly and attentive, and the food in the restaurant is excellent (thank you, Chef Rambo!). We stayed for a week in early March and understood quickly why it is touted as the best hotel in Maseru. I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lesotho Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lesotho Sun Hotel

Address: Hilton Road, Maseru 100, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Maseru District > Maseru
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Maseru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lesotho Sun Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Lesotho Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lesotho Sun Maseru
Lesotho Sun Hotel Maseru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lesotho Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.