We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, comfortable rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maseru Sun Hotel

Maseru Sun Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Maseru Sun Hotel to your Saves list
Maseru Sun Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Orpen Road, Maseru, Lesotho   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Maseru
DXB
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, comfortable rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

There arent a lot of big hotels in Maseru, and this property (along with big sister Lesotho Sun) is considered top-tier. The hotel is old, therefore the rooms are very spacious and come with a balcony - in my case, one overlooking the valley and a standalone hill. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the room - especially the natural wake-up call from a few hundred birds on the trees outside. As for the hotel itself, service is very leisurely but comes with a genuine smile. Didnt really like the food, though - there arent many vegetarian options even if you put in a specific request (you get chips!), and whatever else is available is pretty bland and tasteless. Had to go out for food every day - not a very encouraging sign for the restaurants in the property. There's a decent place next door called Piri Piri and the Regal at the Bosoto Hat is just about 200 m away. They dont recommend that you walk that distance at night though. If not for the food the hotel would rate 4 stars - because everything works as intended unlike many top hotels in the region, and the sleep quality is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
5
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have visited lesotho several times and stayed at both sun international properties (see separate review of lesotho sun). There are very limited hotel options in Maseru and lesotho generally so this needs to be taken into context when choosing your hotel.

The Maseru sun is older and cheaper than its more upmarket sister hotel but as it does not have the attached casino it is a more pleasant place to stay.

The rooms are very old and in desperate need of refurbishment but the service is friendly, buffet breakfast was good with nice views from the tables near the windows however the breakfast was not as good as at the lesotho sun.

Lesotho is a beautiful country, there is a cinema in the nearby new mall (5mins by car) that is sped cheap by UK/South African standards and has always been very quiet when i have visited, there are also restaurant options at the mall.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

In the past four months that I have stayed in Lesotho, I have learnt that EVERYONE is friendly and welcoming. This is certainly true at the Maseru Sun. True to Basotho culture, you will be greeted every time you see a person; and everyone is really interested to know how you are.

The hotel is old, I can remember visiting here for the first time in 1983, but it is spotlessly clean and everything that I used was in proper working order. I have stayed in many hotels where the age of the hotel is used as an excuse for every item that is not working. Here I had no problems and everything from the kettle to the televisions worked fine, though television reception was somewhat iffy at times.

I was fortunate enough to stay in a suite, and the size was definitely not something that I am used to. I have seen the double rooms, and believe that they are bigger than many other hotels where I have stayed. The sliding doors of the room and lounge/dining room opens to a small verandah that looks out over the pool area. It really was a pleasure to be able to sit and work with both sliding doors open and enjoy the fresh air.

If you are looking for glitz and glamour, then this is not the place for you. Clean, friendly and safe is what you will get. The suite did have an in-room safe, but I believe most rooms don't. The good thing about this is the fact that they never experience thefts and feel safe enough not to have safes in the room. Personally, I want a safe and was very glad my room had one.

Breakfast, Dinner and Lunch is a standard buffet and the food is good. The choices are limited and one does get tired of the same food over-and-over, but if you stay long enough in any place this will be true.

Service in most of Lesotho is slow, and at times is indifferent. If you are patient, and friendly; then you will get what you ask for......eventually.

The litmus test: Will I come back? Definitely. The Maseru Sun is the older sister of the Lesotho Sun, but like a good wine or woman I believe she has improved with age.

Room Tip: I only stayed in one room, so cannot comment. My room was above the reception area, so it does get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I booked in on 29.07.2013 to 31.07.2013 and stayed in room 130. On arrival there was an initial problem with the hot water which took about 2 hours to be resolved. The buffet dinner was at R140.00 very good value for money and it went down very well with a bottle of FleurDuCup. After a good nights rest the buffet breakfast at R140.00 was good value again and I always enjoy some croissants as it is my favourite item on the breakfast menu wherever. The pub stocks a good variety of brands. The biggest asset of this hotel is their staff. Friendly, helpful and quick to serve you. The small kiosk inside the hotel overs amenities and some local art and décor is sold here at not too expensive prices. This is a good venue for staying over and having a conference. This is my third stay here and will recommend anyone to stay a night or two over here while exploring the country. It is save in this country, the people has respect and very little pollution if any is visible next to the road. The hotel offers internet packages at very reasonable prices. There is a beautiful view over the valley for the smokers and while you are in the pub and restaurant area. The accommodation is above average but not on par with the other Suns I have stayed in before. For business traveller, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A lot of people complain about a lack of luxury and older decorations and finishes in hotels in Africa generally. I have been traveling in Africa extensively for the last 10 years and have learnt that Clean, Safe, and Friendly are the most important of all requirements.
This hotel is all of that. It can't compete with the standards that some people expect compared to what they are used to in high priced environments and this is not really a holiday destination.
Rooms are comfortable, service is very friendly and food is tasty and affordable.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel looks like it has been forgotten. Old decor, very basic rooms. The baths were old and worn out - although the shower worked just fine. TV really non-existent, beds were comfortable though. Be careful of the desk chairs, could break any second. Wi-fi comes at a cost and does not work extremely well. The meals are bland and expected with no real variety each day or night. At the cost, not really value for money. Maybe try Lesotho Sun next time.

I would not take the family here, but for a quick business trip - not the worst you can get. Don't rely on the wi-fi though, rather make sure you have 3G on roaming. The hotel is however, conveniently located to the city, but then everything is Maseru is fairly close to each other.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

In its day, the Sun was a great hotel, and still appears to be an oasis in the mahem of Maseru. However, if you are staying at the hotel you may end up with a different opinion. The rooms are well-traveled and showing the wear. The hotel is tired and in need of an update.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maseru Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maseru Sun Hotel

Address: 12 Orpen Road, Maseru, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Maseru District > Maseru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Maseru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maseru Sun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Maseru Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maseru Sun Hotel Lesotho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maseru Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.