We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient place to stay in Maseru” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mohokare Guest House

Mohokare Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maseru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mohokare Guest House
Save Saved
You added Mohokare Guest House to your Saves list
260 Kofi Annan Road, Maseru, Lesotho   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Maseru B&B and Inns
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A convenient place to stay in Maseru”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for exactly one month and feel comfortable. The receptionists are very friendly and helpful. The room is clean with a large bathroom. The hotel is in a good location, very close to the best shopping mall in town (less than 10 minutes walking) and if you want to go somewhere far, you can easily crab a taxi. There is a small bar in the hotel and quite a few local officers hang out there in the evening, so you can easily have somebody to talk with.

The breakfast is decent. However, the lunch and dinner are not good. They have a short menu but most of dishes are not available. In addition, most of the time the food is overcooked or undercooked.

I think the room and the service is not suitable for the rate. They may charge us that because there is not much choice in Maseru.

Room Tip: There are 2 blocks. I prefer to stay in the rear block because it's more quiet and larger. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here based on Lonely Planet recommendation. Only 5 mins drive to Maseru centre and much cheaper than some of the central accommodation.
The check-in process was incredibly slow and laborious but the rooms were very nice. Unfortunately my bath broke so I had to change rooms and was put in a room directly next to reception. It was noisy with the TV blaring and people talking incredibly loudly at the bar. It didn't keep me awake as it closes at 11 but it was irritating and I'm not sure they should sell this particular room.
Breakfast was good and there is free secure parking.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I've just returned from another stay at the Mohokare and once again found the guest house a great base for a stay in Maseru. It's not what you'd expect from a western standard hotel - this is Lesotho, Africa - the water pressure can go down and the wi fi is hamster driven, but it's clean, comfortable and the staff are lovely and helpful.

The two big hotels in Maseru (the Lesotho Sun and the Maseru Sun) are ridiculously overpriced.

Room Tip: Nicest standard room at Mohokare is called Litema but they also provide some excellent and stylish s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Stayed for 3 weeks whilst on business in Lesotho and will definatly return. Friendly staff, good rooms and good food - although limited menu. Slight problems with the water pressure as is the norm in Lesotho. Very poor wireless connection but we were assured that this would be different for the next visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
463 helpful votes 463 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I came for a friend's wedding and was lucky enough to book a room here. The place is very modern, spotlessly clean and the staff go out of their way to be helpful. The day starts with a hearty breakfast of juice, fruit, cereal, yogurt, bacon, eggs, sausage and toast. From there, you can go to town, or lounge about in one of the many comfy spots around the property for guests. Speaking about comfy, I have never slept so soundly before. The bed mattresses are new, terribly comfy and the pillows melt into your body. The restaurant serves great food and the bar is well stocked. The price is far less than what you would pay at one of the city hotels and other guests I spoke with had similar observations to my stay.

The only potential downsides....1) internet access is expensive 2) 15 minute walk uphill to Kingsway Road (the main strip)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

i have never been anywhere in the world before and i went to Lesotho to celerbrate my 50th Birthday, we didn't book anywhere so when we arrived in Maseru i had an idea where we would stay as i had checked on the internet before we left and found Mohokare
pictures looked nice reveiws looked good so that's where we headed for we arrived late met by male reception staff he showed us 2 rooms they looked clean and comfortable,
we took one of the rooms for 7nights with the idea to stay longer had a good nights sleep then on the morning needed a shave, plugged it in it did not work. i then went to have shower the water would come out then it would stop then start and then stop sometimes cold some times to hot i reported this to the lady at breakfast she said she would get a electriction in so i thought this was good service. went out for the day going out on the night. i went back to the room to have a shave still not working i reported this to the woman at breakfast she said their is a problem with the wiring so i asked what was going to happen she said nothing, i also asked if we could change rooms she said no. from that time onwards we did not go for breakfast when i asked who the woman was that served breakfast this is when we found out it was the manager she did not show any compasion towards our problems we were glad to leave.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Perhaps the nicest place to stay in Maseru. The guest house is located only 5 minutes by car away from the center of Maseru.

The beds are very comfortable and heated. The bathrooms are nicely sized and there is plenty of closet space. There is a TV in each room. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served in the dining room. The food is reasonably good, particularly when compared to the other two popular dining spots in Maseru (the Regal and Rendez-Vous at Lancer's Inn).

The only drawbacks are the intermittently poor water pressure and the lack of WiFi.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mohokare Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohokare Guest House

Address: 260 Kofi Annan Road, Maseru, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Maseru District > Maseru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Maseru
Also Known As:
Mohokare Guest House Hotel Maseru
Mohokare Guest House Lesotho/Maseru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohokare Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.