We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel byblos...so-so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Byblos

Hotel Byblos
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Byblos to your Saves list
Hotel Byblos
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6th Street and 11th Lane - Osu r.e., Accra, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“hotel byblos...so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed a single night in this hotel and the experience was not so good. I had a few drinks at the venus bar with a friend and the service was quite fast. However the security was a bit slack because we had to go call the receptionist from outside to come get our keys for us. The place is undergoing renovations and that is quite obvious everywhere. The rooms are reaaallly small and the bed was veeerrry creaky. lol. And the whole furnishing thing was not tasteful at all. I guess maybe because its under renovation but management needs to make a more conscious effort to rectify standards

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    1
    5
    6
See reviews for
1
3
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

You're paying for the location here, close to Oxford Street with most of Osu's attractions within walking distance. The hotel itself is poor; mind-bogglingly poor for $105 for a double room. The staff are friendly enough, Venus Bar next door pleasant for a drink with a great barman, but the rooms are pokey, with a non-functioning fridge, a faulty TV, and a (typically for Ghana) poorly constructed bathroom. The sound of the smoker's cough from the guest in the room next door drifted in to our room.

Hugely disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumasi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

Perfect place to stay : excellent location, very good food and cocktails, and mostly nice atmosphere : a perfect combination !

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

I stayed at Byblos for seven nights while I was in Accra for a business conference. I didn't care to leave the premise for anything aside from the meetings which I went to during the day.

I was so pleased with the value of the hotel. The room was clean and cool, the staff was helpful, the bedroom and bathroom were spacious....the location, outstanding!

My colleages stayed at another hotel in the city and couldn't help but join me every night for a cold beer, or two on the outside patio of Venus, Byblos' restaurant, where we could sit in the shade, discuss business for a while, and soon settle into the relaxed environment of Ghana, which Venus captures so well. The evenings become busy with locals, for the delicious, mostly Lebanese food, or a cocktail.

I was sad to leave, and am already looking forward to whenever work pulls me back to Accra.

I would recommend this hotel and restaurant to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

Despite a nice looking courtyard, above average restaurant and some good reviews, I was very disappointed with this place. I was shown my room - it was terrible and very old, shabby and run down.

There are much better hotels in area for similar price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Byblos is by far the best value of a clutch of mid range hotels in the Osu district of Accra. Osu is the area where many expats hang out and is full of bars, cafes and restaurants. The hotel is undergoing some renovations, but rooms are clean, well furnished, with good hot showers, good AC, TVs and fridges. There is a nice, AC bar (Venus) on site, which also does good Lebanese food. Only drawback was the presence of some mosquitos (probably from the open drains which are everywhere in Ghanaian towns and cities). Popular with volunteers, who know good value when they find it. Free WIFI in bar. Generous 2pm checkout time, which can be extended to 3pm (useful for those evening flights home).

Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Byblos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Byblos

Address: 6th Street and 11th Lane - Osu r.e., Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Byblos 1.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your scene in a boutique-style setting that is relaxed, comfortable, and uniquely personal. Byblos Hotel is the perfect place to stay if you want a serene location in the middle of the rhythm of Accra. Byblos epitomizes quality, comfort, class, and hospitality. Step inside one of our 24 rooms at Byblos Hotel - a hotel that surrounds you with calm and serenity in the pulsing heart of Accra, where signature touches and an independent spirit cater to individuality. Feel at ease in decidedly uncomplicated hotel rooms where we will cater to your every desire or join us at our restaurant and bar where you can enjoy the company of fellow travelers and Ghanaians. Whatever your purpose, we at Byblos are here to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Byblos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byblos Hotel Accra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Byblos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.