We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of His Majesty's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added His Majesty's Hotel to your Saves list
His Majesty's Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5814, Giffard Road - P.O. Box 233 | PO Box 9311, Accra 23321, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 89 Hotels in Accra
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worse Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed there for three night and my room was kind of dusty .......... And the worse thing is at the restaurant whereby the girls work like they have been forced and according to me they are unprofessional .. I won't recommend anyone to safe as the place is a crap

Room Tip: don't book a room facing the road as u will be awaken early morning by the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel that is reasonably priced with a local touch, and you don't feel like staying in a typical $300 a night hotel, this is where you will find value for money.The rooms are large,apartment size in certain cases , clean, and everyone is ready to help with a smile.The service could be better, one morning no one quite knew where the cook had gone, but it was all sorted out. Sit in the bar and in no time you will be talking to local patrons. A five minute taxi drive will get you to the beach. Try and stay in the rooms that do not directly face the main road, as the traffic may wake you up in the morning. The wifi works well. This hotel is also relatively close to the airport, a good thing when you consider the Accra traffic. Call a few days before arriving to check that your booking is ok, no problems with my booking.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is the worst hotel I ever experienced. My secretary booked a stay for me and a business friend, two rooms for three days. We arrived at Accra Airport, took a taxi to this horrible hotel: and we stood there like idiots. No, told us the arrogant lady at the reception, no, she did not know about any reservation. And all rooms are fully booked. We got the impression that they just had gotten some guests who pay more and so gave a damn on our reservation. Beware of this place!

Room Tip: The best idea: another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times and the service there is a joke! I know theres culturel differences but the staff was not professional and you did not feel like you were getting the service you were paying for! I would rather stay in a cheap annex than here to be honest! the hotel was okay clean, but i will never again set foot there! The location is bad and there are better and cheaper options if you have time to do your research!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed in the hotel from 30-04/12 to 07/05/12. Was really impressed with the service right from airport pick up to drop off.
The rooms are spacious and clean.
Manager Mr. Ibrahim Bortey was one of the most courteous persons i have come across in 15 years of travellign overseas

Room Tip: Ask for the front road view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed there 14 days in December 2011. By Ghanian standards, His Majesty's Hotel is one of the best in Accra. The Hotel Manager, Mr Ibrahim, would go out of his way to help in every way he can. Food is good and fairly priced. Excellent internet connection for those who cannot do without. I benefitted from the generosity of the manager who gave me a junior suite for the price of a standard room (USD 150). I was even allowed to smoke in my room although the property is strictly smoke-free!!! His Majesty's is close to the main spots in Accra and about 20 minutes drive from the airport.

Some of the staff members should perhaps be more welcoming and smiling to their guests - not all of them are. One particular female receptionist has this habit of occupying the telephone line for long stretches of time so much so that i had to walk downstairs on 3 occasions to ask for something or other as the phone was busy all the time -:))))

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We bought a group of 11 and our only regret is that we only got to stay for one night before departing back to the USA. The rooms are mini-apartments and that is what our group liked most about the place. You get a separate bedroom, living room and bathroom in most of the rooms. The WIFI worked excellent, but the bus center only has two computers. The staff is EXCELLENT! Restaurant and bar are nice and the food was good. There is no pool, but our guests did not even care. Also, the street is very busy and a motorcycle rider snatched one of our ladies little purses while she was walking about 2 blocks from the hotel--in broad daylight so if you venture out for a walk away from the hotel, be alert as if you are in midtown Manhattan and keep your stuff close to you. As long as we do trips to Accra we will stay in this hotel and manager, Ibrahim is one of the best!

Room Tip: Request rooms on the upper floors, our guests on the 1st floor were a little nervous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to His Majesty's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about His Majesty's Hotel

Address: No.5814, Giffard Road - P.O. Box 233 | PO Box 9311, Accra 23321, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
#10 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — His Majesty's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your His Majesty's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Accra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage His Majesty's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.