We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing stay at Blue Diamond” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Accra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort
Save
You added Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort to your Saves list
Gomao Abrekum | Central Region, Accra, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Accra
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very relaxing stay at Blue Diamond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

There are obviously mixed reviews but we had recommendations from friends who had visited recently that this would be an ideal place to relax- they were right! We got a good 3 nights for the price of 2 deal which meant that the price for the rooms were a bit more than we would usually pay but definitely worth it. The room was clean, the AC was welcome and the bathroom/layout was very modern. The only niggle in the room was that the pressure of the hot water in the shower could have been better but we were very happy. The food was delicious- my partner had the grilled fish with a spicy sauce on night one and said it was the best meal he had eaten in Ghana; having been here for over 2 years, that is good enough for us! The Prawn tempura was as good as you would get in Monsoon and a bit less costly. The breakfast was excellent with a huge fruit platter (included in the price for the room). We found the waiter, Emmanuel, to be highly attentive and polite- no issue at all with the service and we were even given free cocktails as we chilled by the lovely pool. All in all, a great location and a good alternative to the less well-maintained or more 'rowdy' resorts in Kokrobite etc. Handy for escaping the stress of Accra and just chilling out. Unfortunately, we are relocating to the UK in August so we are annoyed that we only just discovered Blue Diamond now but we would otherwise definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view as some are positioned a little further back- chalet 4 is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

When you pay 135$ a night for a room - you expect something else. You expect Luxury, and since we are in Ghana and the options are limited - that, to me, mostly means attention to details. Nothing is horribly wrong with the place - the beach is lovely, the food is decent, the rooms are fine. But stains on the sheets and the towels, bugs in the bed, waiters who forget your order or dishes that come with insects in them ("The spinach is from our garden" - well, ok, but you can still wash it can't you?). The SPA was closed (as it has been for the past 2 months I found out) which was disappointing as the place is called SPA Resort.

Generally speaking, if the price wasn't so high - I'd say, oh well, ok. But for 135$ a night, I have no intention of ever going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie r, Manager at Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Regarding the spa, waiters and cleaners, we agree improvement is needed. It is raining season and hence a time to do maintenance + renovation (spa) to improve for our valued customers. The staff is still undergoing serious training.

In response to insects on your plate, may I remind you that you finished eating your plate before drawing it to our attention? Also note that you were eating in an outdoor restaurant. Nonetheless after your complain we offered you compensation and you said you would rather have it taken of your bill. which we did.

All the same, we apologise for the inconvenience we will surely improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went there with my wife for the weekend.
Once arrived, the first feeling was "piece of paradise" ! The landscape is simply beautiful, close to the beach, a nice and quiet palm beach.
Rooms are comfortable, a proper design, assorted colors, with modern equipment, one improvement to be achieved on water pressure in the bathroom
We have only tasted the breakfast ; nice plates dressing ; I have to say the service deserves to be more efficient and plates a little more tasty ! But I am sure it is a little step the Blue Diamond will climb !
We will definetely come back shortly, in order to taste the various meals available in the menu, to use the beach volley playground, and above all I hope the spa will be opened (soon...?)
Still a few steps to get the quality equivalent to its price, but not far at all !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I been staying in ghana for more then 6 years always trying to find nice and relaxing place but since i been to blue diamond i think i have found a place for me to relax , very taste food , kind ppl , i love the way whole set up its, bar is near to swimmimg pool , wouldn't be a bad idea to organise a pool party with my friends. rooms are well maintained , really enjoyed my stay .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

From check in, the room, the view, hospitality, the staff, the food you can't ask for much more to get away from the hectic rush of Accra. A cracking stay and it comes with a high recommendation for any length of stay. Craig & Anna

Room Tip: The rooms that come with the sea view is the only option to get the most of the stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My family stayed there for a long weekend, and really enjoyed it. We thought the beach was clean and quiet, with lots of shade for young children. The room had air conditioning, which was wonderful! It was clean, although difficult to keep the sand from getting all over the floor. There was always security on the beach, and nobody hassled us to buy anything. Our children (2 and 5) loved the beach and the pool. The food was great for adults, but perhaps a few more child-friendly options would be good. We usually had to wait about 30 minutes to receive the food we ordered, which isn't bad. Drinks seemed to be forgotten and we had to remind the waiters several times. Overall, we found Blue Diamond to be a great family place to unwind.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

HORRIBLE PLACE!!!! Terrible rooms kind of Chinese style "trying to be European", service mediocre, beach nothing special, terrible POOL, very slippery, NOT children friendly, high rates for what it offers... SPA ok but nothing special.
I wouldn't advice anybody to try! There are much better places not far from Accra!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie r, Owner at Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Good Evening,

Service, we agree as it is still a work in progress. Sadly one of our biggest challenges.

Pool, we highly disagree. This is one of our latest additions and features anti slip tiles. You may have slipped on the restaurant tiles not the pool. I believe the pictures speak of its beauty for themselves.


Nonetheless we appreciate your comments and hope you enjoy the other resort along the coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort

Address: Gomao Abrekum | Central Region, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Accra
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Diamond Beach Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.