We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect restaurant for Ghanian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asanka Local

Asanka Local
18th lane | osu, Accra, Ghana
243 12 8385
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 170 Restaurants in Accra
Cuisines: African
Restaurant details
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The perfect restaurant for Ghanian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The atmosphere might not be cracking in the ballroom in which tables are set, yet the food is cheap and tasty. They serve most of Ghana's staple dishes, waiting staff is very friendly, and the meals will fill you for a good price. Mostly locally visited I recommend making the leap from Oxford road to visit this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Abuja, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good place for Ghanian dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The restaurant (located in the Osu area) was recommended to me by a Ghanian colleague about two years ago. Each time I am in Accra and feel like treating myself to a local cuisine I go to Ashanka Local. There are varieties of local food with corresponding soup to go with. Sometimes I buy food and take away to my nearby hotels like Central Hotel, Blue Royale, etc. The setting is good with lots of space. However, sometimes it can be hot as there are only fans to provide cooling on hot days. While on a business trip, I took a colleague to eat there last week. If you are looking for local food in Ghana, Ashanka Local is the place to go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
“Good Aprepresah, Good grilled tilapia, Good green snail soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I had to eat eat eat and eat until i soiled my shirt. The waiters were just okay, they need to talk more , explain the type of local dishes available.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for genuine Ghanain cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A large group of us came here on a local's recomendation and was not dissapointed. We made an effort to come back time after time. Very reasonably priced for local cuisine. I would recommend it to all travelers looking for genuine Ghanaian food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great restaurant famous for its local dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Dont walk in expecting a set table with wine glasses. But I would recommend this restaurant for anyone who wants to try out Ghanaian local dishes. You walk in to a counter with different delicacies like Banku, fufu, soups, chicken, snails etc, you inform the server what you want to eat , pay of it then seat in a hall and enjoy your meal. You will find a good number of tourists getting their share of the delicious Ghanain cuisine here. A meal for 2 with drinks cost us about 30 Cedis.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asanka Local also viewed

Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 

Been to Asanka Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asanka Local, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.