We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Hotel I have ever been!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Beach

Coco Beach
Accra, Ghana
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 15 Attractions in Accra
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Lagos, Nigeria
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The Worst Hotel I have ever been!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed. December 2006, We booked on line and the pictures looked fantastic, let me tell you my experience...

We booked to stay here with 4 other families but we got in first, the first sign of trouble was the airport transfer vehicle it was old and did not even have air conditioning and Ghana in December is quite hot.

Ok we proceeded at this point I was already regretting having paid in full for 5 nights in advance. On getting to the hotel it looked dusty, the Joel staff did not look prepared at all. We we were showed to our rooms which far away in a block that looked unused. The rooms had no carpeting and it had 14 inch television that was not working, it took them over 2 hours to make it start. My MacBook Pro screen was bigger than the tv and it was hanging high up to make it worse.

In the morning the rooms had no running hot water and this had to brought to us in dirty buckets, we could hardly bathe with it, had to order bottled water to brush.

On getting to the reception, I asked to see the GM and asked for a refund and was told I had to go back to the travel agent to collect a refund, so i said no problem then I proceeded to reception to tell everyone checking in how bad the hotel is that they should not bother to Stay here. After I dissuaded enough people he calmly called me into the office and gave me my full refund. I stayed here only for one night.

I eventually called Labadi Beach Hotel, which was my first choice but they had no rooms online, asking for rooms and they confirmed 4 rooms for us, and came to us with 2 brand new Mercedes Benz buses (much unlike the crappy buses the day before) and my party moved there. And we knew we were in for a good time. This was 1000 times better and I will put up that review.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    7
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Accra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“POOR sanitaion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Th e sanitation needs more improvement.............................................

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Its nature at its best. It was a wonderful experience for my family. Its a must visit for anyone who happens to visit Ghana.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
primorska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not so clean”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

What 2 say just look at pictures. In fact it can be pretty, but the fact is that it's too dirty. As I already saw it's better to go to Cape Coast beach or in Busua.

Visited August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

I love this beach! My first time to Ghana 3/2008. My first night I arrived in Ghana, I was taken to this beach and the hotel. When I walked out to the beach, a local man was standing on a rock in the water practicing his singing. At the hotel we had a few drinks, and ordered pizza, all of which was wonderful. All of the staff was so friendly and wanted to make sure your needs were met. I was not a guest of the hotel, but frequently visited for the pool, bar, and food. There is also live music for holidays. Wonderful place to lay by the pool, and relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Beach also viewed

 
Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 

Been to Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.