We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for Africa but espensive for qualitly of rooms - good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Labadi Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Labadi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Labadi Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Labadi By-Pass | Labadi Beach, Trade Fair, Accra, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 89 hotels in Accra
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ok for Africa but espensive for qualitly of rooms - good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

I did not expect western 5 star standards ... and was not surprised the rooms were musty smelling and dated in decor ... but with some peeling wallpaper, and mildew in the bathroom with leaking pipes, think of the rooms as more like 3 star than 5. I have a feeling we were not given the better rooms and we did have a good discount/ corporate rate (compared the very expensive usual rates).

The hotel facilities (with a nice pool and well kept gardens), comfortable beds, friendly and competent service and the decent (if not cheap) food, with no tummy upsets, are the things that will bring me back - hopefully to a better room. This is a hotel a women arriving alone on business can feel comfortable, safe and well taken care of.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    111
    37
    11
    1
See reviews for
28
39
21
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Labadi Beach Hotel, is a beautiful, the lobby is breath taking with wooden beams above. The hotel staffs are very warm and friendly. We spent Christmas there with 3 other famiies and it was very nice. My kids are looking forward to going back there.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

I just returned from a four night stay at this hotel and it DID NOT live up to its 4 star rating.
PROS: The breakfast was good, the beds were quite comfortable and the rooms were clean
CONS: Bad service almost everywhere. The most unfriendly hotel staff I’ve ever experienced! . You had to beg to get served! The ladies at the reception were ok but could be better. The rooms were rather small. Apart from the breakfast every other meal was below par. After the first trial we ate out most of the time. I had the worst cheesecake ever at this hotel! The Avis desk male attendant seems to have no clue about his job. In all i didn't get value for money. I stayed in a much better 5 star hotel in Budapest early this year for the same price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

This is a big beautiful and impressive hotel. Even years after staying here I enjoyed returning regularily for their delicious roasted vegetable salad or for a burger on the balcony. The styling is very "colonial africa" with dark wood, soaring ceilings, and wicker fans on the ceiling.

The biggest disappointment was my room. It was very nice with hot water in the showers, a good strong air conditioner, dstv, and a comfortable bed. Also it had a sitting area and a desk. However by north american standards it is not 5*. The bedspread is tacky polyester and the floor is basic while tile.

The hotel is on the La Pleasure Beach which is a very very popular place for locals and foreigners alike on any day of the week. To access the beach from the hotel you walk out and through a gate with a guard, who will warn you not to take valuables, and then voila you are on the long white sandy beach. This beach is hot and there is no shade except under the umbrellas. When I returned to the hotel a year ago the Labadi Beach Hotel had roped off a small area for its clients but when I was there there was no special place for hotel guests on the beach. On the beach itself you can enjoy some cheap food and cold beers, do some light shopping, partake in a game of soccer/football, take a swim in the ocean, or even go on a horse ride. Some people will love this beach and other people were prefer to lay by the pool where it is cooler and more controlled.

As per the pool, it is a lovely pool. Small but nicely landscaped with a special kiddy pool. This is not a lap pool but is perfect for just taking a deep breath, and floating around in. By the poolside the service is excellent and it is enjoyable to lay out your towel under the umbrella and just plan to keep your drink of choice coming (seeing as it is quite hot).

The hotel has a good business centre but it is high priced. It also has good wireless internet which is available in the lobby as far as I know, but perhaps also in the rooms. There is also a gift shop with some very nice things.

The grounds of the hotel are pleasant with tall palm trees, a large grassy area, a small wetlands area and nice tennis courts. You can get a bit of excercise in the gym or just by walking around and around the hotel.

Location of this hotel is not very good unless your primary desire is to access the beach. The hotel is a long way from the airport in bad traffic. In good traffic it is still a healthy half an hour to the airport and twenty minutes to the downtown area where you might buy crafts or tour some sights.

I was visiting at christmas and the hotel did an excellent job at putting on a christmas feast (for a fee). They also brought in a choice for some singing and had a live manger scene! Real goats, real joseph, real mary, real straw, and real goat droppings left behind.

There are several options for dining including the formal dining room, the bar area in the lobby which serves good lighter fare, the patio area, and the poolside. Most of these options have overlapping menu choices and you can choose from salads to pad thai to steak. The prices are very western though, and you can expect to pay $12 for a burger.

And one more thing! If you are adventuresome the hotel is located well for nightlife because there is a club on the beach and another one down the road a ways. You can ask at the desk if you are in the mood for this and I am sure they will direct you.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labadi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

My third time in Ghana I visited The LABADI BEACH HOTEL, which seems to be the best hotel since 10 years. Inside it has the standards of a 4-star European hotel (nice rooms, very good mattresses, very clean), which is not that easy to do in tropical countries. The AC is working well and so the electricity. The garden is nice with a special access to the ocean.

One downside is the price. We payed 188 EURO per night for the room, including a quite simple breakfast. A comparing hotel in Europe would cost like 110, a hotel in Asia like 70 EURO.

The other downside is the staff. Sometimes the look in your face, but they never greet you - beside George, the consierge, who is a very helpfull and nice person. The reception-staff most of the time is unfriendly - no smile, no help and very slow.

Overall: Ghana is a wonderful place, the people are nice and friendly. And the Labadi Beach could be a great hotel, if they would offer a fair price - and a smile, here an there

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — too pricy, staff unfriendly
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

Stayed there for 6 nights. Excellent breakfast, large and clean rooms (although they will have to be refurbished sooner rather than later), no mosquitoes, great swimming pool and gym, nice gardens. The hotel is absolutely safe; and the staff friendly and efficient; however, there is an issue with some people who hang around trying to sell their paintings and handicraft - initially it could be fun, but after a while (and if they persist) they can get really annoying. No problems except that once or twice (and for just 15-20 minutes) there was no water in the shower. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

It's our third or forth time to stay here and it gets better each time.

We were pleasantly surprised with a new room service menu rolled out this time with kid friendly items. They said that there would be new menus throughout.

It's all getting a renovation though starting August 20 so it will changing from the 1990's decor to an updated look they say.

The wifi does not work from the wing we were in which is VERY frustrating.

Overall, I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Great food, nice staff, wifi, good pool, sauna and fitness center
  • Disliked — wifi didn't work in our room or hallway near our room even
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Labadi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Labadi Beach Hotel

Address: 1 Labadi By-Pass | Labadi Beach, Trade Fair, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
#2 Business Hotel in Accra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Labadi Beach Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Labadi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Labadi Beach Accra
Hotel Labadi Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Labadi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.