We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Palm Royal Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Palm Royal Beach Hotel to your Saves list
La Palm Royal Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1 Bypass | PO Box OS 3000, Accra, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 89 Hotels in Accra
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Service and room standards were very poor given the price. It is clean and the gardens were well maintained. Food was OK. The staff we not welcoming and did not fix problems or respond to requests for help. It's a shame as it is a good location and the facilities - gym and pool are good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    50
    49
    33
    10
See reviews for
13
16
16
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

La Palm is very expensive for what it is. In international terms this is a 2/3 star hotel. We paid $220 per night and it really is a $100 experience. On arrival I nearly came to a sad end as I fell in to an empty water feature which was not marked. A colleague did the same thing. The sliding doors to the outside patio were screwed shut so there was no outside access from the room. The room door lock broke and we had to force the sliding doors open which was a real challenge given they had been screwed shut. Food was good though. The staff could do with some customer service training. There was also lots of liter in the hotel grounds which I had to ask to get cleaned up. The beach is not in good shape - again lots of liter - amazing the hotel does not try and clean it up. I think if the owners invested some money in it and imrpoved the staff training they could improve the quality of the hotel quite easily.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Yesterday I went to the duty manager his name is Jacob to change my room cause its a twin bed room and the mattresses are so hard . And he just looks at me and tells me please come tomorrow in the morning I try to explain to him again that I can't sleep he replies with the same answer.so I asked him to call the general manager for me he replies again with the same answer .its been 9 hours now and I'm in the same room and can't sleep and nothing happened . Btw the occupancy in the hotel is 35% .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are not roomy and clean.the location is super and the exterior and lobby area are the saving grace! The pool is good and relaxing.The casino is new and good.They also have an open restaurant serving African cuisine which is refreshing!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Hotel is well situated at the beach of La. It is close to where week end and Holiday lovers would like to stay for most of their day with live band music and socializing with people from all parts of the world. This Hotel gives a first class 5Star service.

Room Tip: If you will be going in a group please book as a group and ahead on time. This is a Hotel you can...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights when I was in town for a conference. I would avoid and look elsewhere, particularly for the price that you pay. I actually found the Maxlot in town to be a better option at about half the price.

The hotel is attempted to be a five star European or US beach style experience although it fails on a number of accounts.

Firstly, when I arrived, the lock on my door didn't work - I couldn't get in and then it wouldn't let me out! The hot water didn't work, and then the bathroom flooded. Finally, when I moved room the internet didn't work either - and the wifi is extremely weak. They also forgot to clean my room on two of the nights that I was here.The food is very expensive (around GH60 for a dinner - double the price of places in town) and I found it to be average at best.

It is also pretty far out of town if you have a conference at the International Conference Centre and traffic is heavy to get in during the morning (it can take up to 40 minutes).

On the plus side, the staff are friendly and the breakfast is decent, but that is probably the minimum that you would expect for nearly $300 a night.

I would look elsewhere if you want better value for money and comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearer to the main reception as the outlying villa buildings are quite a walk and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

There are probably better places for holding conferences in Accra but this location passes the minimum. For the money you would pay, the location and the rooms deliver average value. So don't expect much - for all the reasons other travelers specified. Breakfast choices are run of the mill. The juices are terrible. Service is average and below what you would expect in a "royal beach hotel" location. For vegetarians and vegans, beware, staying here 1-2 days is okay if you can put up with veggie pizza and veggie sandwich just once. For vegans, the situation is dire. However, the coastal beach makes up for all other shortcomings in this hotel, even if you just stand by the edge and enjoy the waves for a few minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Palm Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palm Royal Beach Hotel

Address: No. 1 Bypass | PO Box OS 3000, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Accra
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
#8 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Palm Royal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale deluxe hotel on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean, offering 152 rooms and suites all with balconies and fabulous ocean or garden views. A choice of 7 restaurants and bars, state of the art conference and banquet facilities and close proximity to the airport, the Central Business District, Embassies, shopping malls and the main tourist attractions including Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum La Palm Royal Beach Hotel Accra has a world-class casino, 3 outdoor pools, a full-service spa with sauna and a health club with Life Fitness equipment. Complimentary wireless Internet is available everywhere in the hotel. Business amenities at this 4-star deluxe property include a business center, 9 meeting rooms and banquet venues and ocean-front lawns for those special occasions. Full buffet breakfast is complimentary. Guests have access to complimentary roundtrip airport shuttle. Guest parking is complimentary. The staff can arrange tour/ticket assistance, wedding services and business services. AVIS and Hertz provide car rental services. Additional amenities include a no-smoking rooms, concierge desk, multilingual staff , event catering, beach access and a kids playground.The 152 air-conditioned guestrooms at La Palm Royal Beach Hotel include IPod docks and laptop-compatible safes. Rooms open to balconies with ocean or lush garden views. Televisions are equipped with premium satellite channels with free movie channels. All accommodations provide desks, safes, direct-dial phones, irons/ironing boards. Suites have kitchenettes with microwaves, crockery, utensils and full-size refrigerators. Complimentary wireless Internet access is provided. Beds have pillow-top mattress, duvets and king-size pillows. In-room minibars and coffee/tea makers are provided. Bathrooms offer bathtubs with handheld power showerheads, double sinks, phones, and scales. Additional suite amenities include complimentary newspapers, slippers and bathrobes. In addition, a turndown service is offered nightly, housekeeping is available daily, and amenities available on request include in-room massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Palm Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Palm Royal Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palm Royal Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.