We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be warned!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Accra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Accra to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Accra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Be warned!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Checked in after agreeing $298 room per night...poolside is getting refurbished...noise all day! No one thought to mention this when I booked prior and no one told me when checking in...only a note in room.Nothing peaceful at all.
Find somewhere else, especially for the money you are paying...however the they do have big life guard guy who was very helpful, apologetic and seemed sincere unlike any management...when you can find them?

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We apologise for not meeting your expectations. Our Front desk staff when you checked in, should have informed you about the ongoing refurbishment at the poolside as per our standards and offered you a room in a quieter section of the hotel if possible. The pool refurbishment will be completed by March 25, 2014.

We assure you of a more pleasurable experience on your next visit to your hotel.

Once again, we apologise for any inconvenience caused and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,


With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    106
    97
    34
    32
See reviews for
18
17
29
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coleford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Lovely hotel, great location close to the airport, really nice staff and the food's good too
pool area is great for kids - yes the rooms can be overpriced but then they do attract a lot if business customers

Room Tip: poolside rooms can be noisy, but if you like to stay up late then its no big deal, probably not for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We appreciate your positive comments and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Although the location is close to the airport and the interior is OK, we have stayed in much nicer quality hotels in Europe and the U.S. that are not this pricey with better views and amenities. The Sunday brunch buffet was good, although limited. If the intention is to charge five star prices, this hotel should provide five star service, furnishings, food, and amenities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We appreciate your comments about our facilities and services and will take the necessary steps to improve further on the areas of concern stated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

the golden tulip which is located around the 37military hospital area in accra happens to be a top class hotel that is very close to the kotoka int airport.i decided that despite i live in accra i would try their hospitality.this hotel has every thing from gym,swimming pool,lounge,restaurant,casino,sauna,shops,a large compound with loads of grass,special villas for family,and a professional staff willing to assist.the rooms cozy,with enough of a scenery.i really enjoyed the casino.it was very easy to get anywhere from the hotel which give it a 100 for location,the food was good.i ate in restaurant then took a few meals at the poolside.a fine holiday,a good idea for couples alone or even families.

Room Tip: the rooms are fine try one overlooking a view of the pool could be entertaining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We very much appreciate your positive comments and are happy we made your stay a pleasurable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I am currently in my fourth of five nights at the Golden Tulip, Accra. My earplugs are wedged so far into my ears that I am not sure I will be able to remove them in the morning. For some reason, the hotel, in its zeal to entertain never more that a dozen people poolside, employs a series of local bands to perform outdoors every evening, the music monotonous, loud and frankly annoying for someone slightly jet lagged and working long hours every day prior to returning to a very very noisy sleeping area. It may be just want you want by way of restful, not for me staying somewhere else on my return in March.

Room Tip: Not on the pool side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Quite a number of our guests love our poolside entertainment and request poolside rooms. Your room would have been changed to a quieter wing if you had informed our front desk staff that the music disturbed you.

We would like to be given the opportunity to host you again. Please request for a quiet room when making your booking.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel is near the airport, which makes it fantastic. the price of the room is ridiculous though. I enjoyed the breakfast, howver i didnt like the room i was, the scenery is awful. The concept of paying in full before checking is crazy. my satisfaction level is moderate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Please note that our booking policy requirements state that full payment is made for the number of nights booked.

We have rooms that overlook our beautiful swimming pool and exotic gardens. So the next time you visit, please request for any of these rooms which would give you a beautiful view.

We trust that you will have a pleasurable experience on your next visit to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Overpriced as to be fair are many hotels in Accra. Rooms are several years overdue for a refurbishment. Decor is retro but not deliberately. Carpets faded and in places stained. Internet speeds are glacial and not working anyway a lot of the time I was there. Food distinctly average and pricy. Restaurant and bar provide a useful meeting area for work.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertha d, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip Accra, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Martin,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations and have noted your concerns.

We assure you of improving on the areas of concern you indicated in order to provide a pleasurable experience on your next visit to our hotel.

We are upgrading our systems to ensure fast Wifi access among other improvements.

We trust that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a more positive experience on your next visit to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards,
Golden Tulip Accra

Bertha de Graft-Johnson
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Accra

Address: Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Accra 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Golden Tulip Accra is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Tulip Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Accra Hotel Accra
Accra Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Accra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.