We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Golden tulip is really HAS BEEN” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Accra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Accra to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Accra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 91 Hotels in Accra
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“The Golden tulip is really HAS BEEN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Was invited to a cocktail last week, while in Accra, at the Golden Tulip Hotel. Never liked it, in '89 the only hotel was the Shangri la ( NOthing to do with teh REAL chain of hotels from Asia) in Accra, then came the Golden Tulip. That was for years then the only hotel with international standards in Accra, luckily a lot has changed. The cocktail was upstairs on the verandah. This is a nice venue, outside. That night there was no breeze, and to much noise from another function, held in the garden, where as usual in Ghana all was too loud. But that loudness you just do not expect in a hotel with international guests. There were 4 ceiling fans, but only one worked and the staff that passsed with the bitings only brought sandwiched and pased so quick that they walked out again with full plates ( I think they were hungry!). As the host usually does things well, I was surprised, but then it appeared : at the entrance we were supposed to be handed a Welcome glass : was not done, then the food was there as I saw at the end, when most people had gone, they finally camewith full platters spring rolls, fish fingers, meatballs, and many other small toasts and bitings, a pity most peopel had left without having a chance to taste them, as they all came virtually After the party. Soft drinks were also availabnle, but of course no soda water, and that is just a glimps of how far this hotel has crumbled down, that they are not even capable of handling a decent cocktail party any more. what a shame they have a relatively central location.

Room Tip: new wings as far as possible from he terrible noise around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    106
    97
    34
    32
See reviews for
18
17
29
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chigwell
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stood at reception for ten minutes before I was actually acknowledged. Hilda is the rudest receptionist I have ever met. There was no greeting, no eye contact and no smile. The girl at the cashier desk told me that the Marina Mall was 100m up the road, no it's not! I asked her what they sold and she told me she didn't know, basic info people! There was music playing from somewhere outside until 4am, the drum beat kept me awake all night - avoid this hotel...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. For EUR280 per night I expected much more, I believe the hotel is overpriced for the service and rooms offered. The bathrooms are extremely dates but the rooms nice. Service can be improved. What I really enjoyed about this hotel was the pool and the live evening entertainment. After long days in Accra I looked forward to this part of the trip. I probably will stay at the Movenpick my next trip

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Arrived at airport without hotel booking helpful guy at the airport hotels desk pointed out that Golden Tulip was significantly cheaper than alternatives. Hotel shuttle worked fine and check in was pleasant and very helpful. Staff were very welcoming and delightful to deal with. Room was a bit tired but clean and tidy and WIFI worked fine.

Like all hotels in Accra it is expensive for what you get. The hotel is close to airport but some way from the business area. Would not be my first choice for long stay but fine for a last minute one night stay.

Restaurant was good and not expensive.

Overall a pleasant stay given a very early start next day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Golden Tulip is close to the airport and worlds apart from the busy street of Accra. Outside you've got the real Africa, inside an resort-like hotel for the European/American crowd. Pool area is nice, rooms are clean and spacious, reception's a little bit on the sluggish side. I'd recommend the hotel in general, but having paid 240 USD/night I'm not in the mood to do so - because that was way too much for what was on offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel, I stayed here for about 9 nights. Rooms are spacious and luxurious, not to leave out CLEAN and hygienic. A varied breakfast buffet and great menu with european as well as local dishes. Food can be ordered 24/7. Staff is very welcoming and helpful. Great sporting and wellness facilities, such as a gym, tennis court and the lovely swimming pool. The hotel has charisma and style. Excellent location as well, since its situated at 5 mins from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

a really friendly place but you have to allow time for things to happen. great choices for breakfast and the rooms are spacious and airy. they just have to improve the wifi and internet. it was intermittent and kept fading out in the rooms. location near the airport is very good. music every night at the poolside but not so loud it was disruptive.

Room Tip: go for the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Accra

Address: Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Accra 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Golden Tulip Accra is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Golden Tulip Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Accra Hotel Accra
Accra Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Accra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.