We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for accra ........3 star at most” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Accra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Accra to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Accra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 91 Hotels in Accra
armagh northern ireland
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“good for accra ........3 star at most”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

stayed here for 5 nights and dont think i would stay again.......labadi beach is better.at checkin receptionist tried to palm me off with another room as they had overbooked my suite....not a good idea after travelling 8 hours!!
room quality clean and basic.aircon worked well and suite was big enough.breakfast was excellent and at night bar had a strange atmosphere..........very solemn........labadi much more relaxed.casino was fun.........def not las vegas but fun and overall i would not stay here again unless labadi beach was fully booked.

  • Liked — breakfast was good and rooms were basic but clean
  • Disliked — reception........seriously bad
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    106
    97
    34
    32
See reviews for
18
17
29
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

I cant believe this hotel has the cheek to call itself five star. the quality of the rooms was appalling considering the cost and comparisons with other hotels in Accra. staff were unhelpful, the pool area was completely rammed, as was the gym. I tried to book a car to take me down the coast and the front desk tried to rip me off. OK this is Africa, but the hotel claims to be a "western hotel" for which you pay the extra to not have to put up with that crap. the hotel is basically for businessmen who want to gamble in the casino in the evenings and then pick up hookers to take back to their room - if that is your cup of tea it is undoubtedly the best place. however otherwise you can find better value for money elsewhere (and nicer rooms).

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

After a horrible night at the Labadi Beach Hotel, we asked the cab driver to show us the Golden Tulip. What an improvement! Nice pleasant staff, clean no-smoking room and lovely public areas. Seemed to be full of upscale business travelers. It also had pay per view movies, which we really loved. The pool was lovely, and the breakfast good. Only downside was that they would not let my son, who is studying at U of Ghana, into the casino because he had shorts on (he's 21 and a very clean-cut kid). But all in all a nice pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Clean no-smoking rooms, ppv tv
  • Disliked — Wouldn't let us into the casino
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2007

We arrived after having stayed in the Sanaa Lodge in Cape Coast which was a horrible experience. The Golden Tulip is a great hotel. One glitch was a 2 1/2 hour wait and we did have to ask for the manager who had a room for us in 20 minutes. He followed up to make sure that everything was working and we were comfortable. It should be noted that there are only 700 quality rooms in all of Accra and hundreds of business people everywehre. A problem is that people book a room for two days and stay 4 or 5, leaving the hotel in an overbooking situation. The room was great and I found the service very good in the restaurants. The prices were less than those in an equivalent hotels in Bamako Mali and Dakar Senegal, and Lome, Togo. We recommend the hotel

Rosalie Baker

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

Stayed here in January 06. Good hotel, clean even if it looked quite old. But we are in Accra, Ghana you cannot expect to be treated like a five star hotel in Paris or London.
Food at the restaurant was good, there was a business center where you could use the internet at cheap prices.
Breakfast was continental and served by the pool or inside if you cannot manage to resist the humidity.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
1,226 helpful votes 1,226 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2006

This hotel is a 2 star hotel on its best day. The rooms are not that nice, they have problems in all the rooms. I know because I stayed there 15 nights for business and changed rooms 5 times. Many problems. A/C does not work, or water does not work, or TV does not work. Always something! Eating at this hotel is very expensive and they are slow and lazy and do not care. Plan on 2 hours for every meal because of the laziness. Gym facilty is a joke. Hallways are enclosed but once again, A/c is broken and all of them are hot as hell. Not worth $225 per day. This hotel in the USA would fetch $25 a day tops. If they charged anything more then they would go bankrupt with no business. Not much choices in Accra but there are better ones than this. New Holiday Inn almost open and it will be USA managed and will be tops.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — too many to list
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away from this hotel unless you are rich and dont care about a high price or 2 star rating
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2006

This was our first stop in Ghana and our last on our way home. A great place for R&R - very family oriented and lots of services available. We booked a car and driver with Hertz in the lobby and that's the best way to get around the city. Our rooms were nice - I had one overlooking the pool which is very picturesque as long as you don't mind the entertainment that goes on until about 10 pm. I didn't. There are in-room safes and you can use the water to brush your teeth (well, I never drink tap water when I'm travelling just as a precautionary measure). Service is prompt and friendly - you might have to exercise a little patience at the front desk as they are usually busy. There is a business centre where you can check e-mail, etc., a very nice lounge for cold Star beers and some pub-type food and a decent restaurant that has special buffets most nights as well as an a la carte menu. The breakfast that is included with the cost of your room is very expansive with several hot dishes, lots of fruit and juices, several kinds of breads and pastries and custom made omelets (or however you want your eggs). The pool area is very popular but, even in the afternoon, we were able to secure enough lounges for the 3 of us with help from one of the staff. Be prepared to wait a good half hour for your food order but that's pretty common all over Ghana - don't sweat it. This is a lovely hotel and well worth every penny.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Reservations can be "iffy" here - make sure you have written confirmation. Reservations are made through a central number and often get messed up. Just be prepared for this.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Accra

Address: Liberation Road, Accra 16033, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Accra 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Golden Tulip Accra is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Tulip Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Accra Hotel Accra
Accra Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Accra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.