We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South African traveller” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Accra City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Accra City Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Accra City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barnes Road | PO Box 12720, Accra, Ghana   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Accor weekend offer
Ranked #23 of 89 Hotels in Accra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“South African traveller”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean, compact and comfortable. Beds are comfy. Don't bother organizing the the airport shuttle to collect you as they'll never come. Happened to me twice. Hotel made it up to me by giving me a free late check out and free drive to the airport. Food is not great compared to competitor hotels in the area. Service at the reception is extremely slow. Definitely under staffed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    95
    105
    26
    30
See reviews for
10
15
42
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It is pricey for its standard but now since the rooms have been renovated it has a clean and fresh feeling, which is not always the case in Accra. Aircon is ok if you like 21°. There is a thermostat in the rooms but setting to a higher temperature does not increase the temperature in the room. The breakfast buffet is good with fresh fruits and juices as well as all the usual stuff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night, quite pricey, but relative to what you get elsewhere for, i would say it is the best novotel I have stayed at. Rooms were as expected, they looked fairly new. The air con could have been better, to maintain the temperature the fan switches on and off, so can be a little annoying when trying to get off to sleep, but rooms quiet, beds very comfy and wifi was free and a good speed. We had breakfast and dinner, both were good. The pool was very nice too.
Like other hotels you get a free shuttle service to and from the airport and it worked well. If you have time and want a mini adventure the market is a 5 minute walk away, my girlfriend and i had a walk around, we were the only white people there i reckon, but we weren't hassled to buy by the sellers, i did though end up buying a Ghanian shirt has a souvenir!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Firstly, hotels in Ghana (and for most places in this part of Africa) of an international standing are expensive for what they are. Once you get over that, then you can start to appreciate them for they are.

On the upside, the air-conditioned rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet, albeit they have an Ikea-esque feel about them. The familiarity is slightly overwhelming but somewhat comforting too. The rooms are not entirely spacious but there's enough room to swing a cat whilst you watch the TV with all the standard international and sport channels. There is a small desk and lots of ambient lighting and the standard bar fridge with daily water provided, a standard cupboard to hang all your clothes etc. The bathroom is small and the water from the shower over the bath leaked on the floor, but there's plenty of hot water and good water pressure! There's reasonably fast WIFI that is better accessible in the mornings than the evenings, and invariably cuts in and out in the restaurant/foyer area.

Food wise, the evening meals are quite generous and tasty (although I would avoid the Italian styled dishes), but not that cheap for what they are. If you are a vegetarian, you may find it a bit of a challenge to find anything more than a salad or a dish sans the meat. They have regular buffet evenings too. Breakfast is ok, but not fantastic due to limited variety although the waffles are quite nice. There is also a pleasant enough bar and a busy swimming pool close by.

Staff wise - they were excellent at the front desk, the restaurant staff were attentive although not necessarily that friendly, the security staff were efficient enough and the housekeepers were similarly friendly and attentive. The one downside was that they almost forgot to pick me up from the airport despite numerous attempts to remind them. So for that reason, I'd give it 3 excellent stars out of 5 rather than 4 so-so ones.

Overall, it's not a bad place for a very good standard hotel.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room ending in 06 or 08 as they face the elevator and you will most likely hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had bookings for 2 and 3 nights for a single trip (so room change midway) and this gave an insight into levels of service.

1st booking was for a "Superior, One Double and One Single Bed" for 2 nights. Room was spacious and comfortable but cleaning standards were suspect with the bath uncleaned and dust in the corners of the room and on the cupboard the fridge sat on.

From the 3rd night I downgraded to "1 DOUBLE BED, Non-Smoking". Well, downgrading rooms within a 4 star hotel should not result in receiving a <3 star experience but it did. For a start there was a smell in the room I could not be certain of but had strong suspicions about. Staff were very helpful and moved me to another room. Fresher feel that then allow me observe that this room had a feminine feel with hot pink cushions on the bed! Now I understand that in 2013, that would work well for some men and I can't complain too much about this. With said cushions put away, I could just about cope with the pink sheets. The shower cap in the bathroom which had not been in my earlier "4 star" room confirmed my suspicions. I was in a female friendly room. Nice gesture to have this but surely it would have taken no more than 5 minutes to tone the pink down or turn it off. Carpet on the floor in all 3 rooms and the corridor was chosen for utility rather than decor.


Comments about the high price are justified. You can get a 5 star hotel in London for less than what it cost for the lower priced room here.

On the plus side, the staff were friendly and allowed me switch over late in the day as I had meetings all day away from the hotel. AC in rooms were effective and useful.

Overall with good attention, there is no reason why this hotel cannot be brought up to a near European standard.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to get the next grade up Even number rooms overlook the pool, odd number rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just had a pleasant night in Novotel. Hotel in excellent condition everything appears new and works well. Great WIFI. Relatively expensive but decent hotels in Accra are not cheap. Restaurant very good and very helpful staff all around. After a spell in indifferent hotels in the north this was a very pleasant surprise. Would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel has been renovated recently and feels almost new. The rooms have wireless wi-fi, flat screen TVs, although only a handful of channels, local and European outlets, usb ports for charging, etc. As for security, the hotel is surrounded by a security fence and access is strictly controlled. Additionally, one needs a room key to operate the lift. Over-all this hotel has one of the better security arrangements I have seen in the country. The only negatives for this hotel are the poorly installed water fixtures, shower heads which do not stay up and the $15 USD hamburgers in the hotel retaurant. If cost is not a factor, I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Accra City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Accra City Centre

Address: Barnes Road | PO Box 12720, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Accra City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Accra City Centre is a 4 star hotel ideal for a holiday or business trip to Accra. 7 km from the airport and close to the conference centre and major banks, the hotel provides WiFi internet and six meeting rooms for business travellers. Guests on holiday in the Ghanaian capital will find the Makola Market, museums, theatre, golf and the beach all nearby. The hotel features a bar, restaurant, outdoor swimming pool, fitness centre, business centre, onsite parking and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Accra City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Accra City Centre Hotel Accra
Accor Accra City Centre
Accra Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Accra City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.