We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Accra City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Accra City Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Accra City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barnes Road | PO Box 12720, Accra, Ghana   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Accor weekend offer
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Accra
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Good hotel... great pool... nice view... but rooms are quite small... situated next to the luxurious Movenpick hotel... Efficient staff.

Good functional business hotel that is well located... Good for staying with family too.. Good value for money...

Room Tip: Go for a pool view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    95
    105
    25
    30
See reviews for
10
14
42
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is not at all representative of the Novotel brand as I know it. But that's exactly why I chose to book rooms there for me and my future boss. Mistake!!!

After sharing the following with the assistant manager, I was given 1 night's stay free (ha!).
1. foyer, restaurant, bar, pool furniture and fixtures at least 20 y.o. (supposed to be reno'd in 2013)
2. hallways stank of mildew
3. computers in so-called 'business center' functioned half the time
4. hassled by touts in the bar to buy jewelry and paintings - when I told bartender, he shrugged
5. restaurant food and breakfast buffet uninspired
6. staff generally unhappy, yet still ghanaian friendly
7. ongoing renovations causes clutter in hallway and unimaginable noise during
8. very embarassing for me personally because business partners booked rooms there after I did to make it easier for us to conduct meetings. They left after 1 night but the damage was done

On the good side... newly reno'd rooms clean and well outfitted. strong, reliable wifi.

The manager has contacted me by phone and email but haven't connected with him yet to get his perspective on the above

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Arrived here after staying at some less desirable hotels in more remote areas. This hotel was clean, the food was good, and the staff helpful. Beautiful pool and landscaping. So nice to have hot water and air conditioning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Novotel Accra is just an average hotel and does average well. The rooms are on the small side but adequate, the TV channels are all the normal ones...more French channels than other hotels in Accra, so if you are French this is a good choice. The pillows were lumpy and doona / duvet was scratchy but I was tired so still slept. It was a quiet sleep. The rooms are still being renovated but one strange thing in my room was that perhaps they had purchased the wrong size fridge for the room - the fridge was sitting on the floor instead of the dedicated space for it. The bathroom was newly renovated and very nice, a spacious shower and modern sink with enough space for toiletries.

The restaurant is average but have have to say I did have lunch there and had some excellent spicy grilled chicken. Service of staff is cordial / friendly but they did take time to respond to specific requests for help (for example, I needed a meeting room for an hour to take a conference call with some colleagues, so they did get one ready in short time).

The one disturbing thing were posters up in the lobby and near the lifts indicating that the staff all had training in spotting child sex tourists....obviously as a deterrent to let these people know they aren't welcome, but really, I wonder if it works other than making other travellers nervous about who is sleeping next door to them. Perhaps this should be thought about and evaluated.

Room Tip: Make sure you try to get a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Novotel's Airport pick up was one of the best I have seen in recent times. There is a buffet at breakfast, at lunch and at dinner. This comes in handy when you are on a tight business schedule.

The swimming pool is great and the service is nice. This is one place in Accra where a Francophone can be sure to get a real "croissant"

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have been renovated and are more luxurious than other ones. Choose odd-number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

It's fine for Africa, I suppose. Odd shaped rooms, but recently refurbished, food not bad, terrace area OK, pool OK, generally clean, AC keeping the place just about cool enough.

What lets the Novotel down is its appalling service. There is zero common sense displayed by anyone.

Trying to get anything from a cup of tea at breakfast (average service time 10 minutes to wait for a litre of stewed tea with five teabags in the pot) to a waiter to serve you on the terrace was a nightmare.

If you want an omelette at breakfast you can't just ask one of the serving staff. You tell the serving staff who get the omelette man, who goes outside to stand at his omelette station, at which point you then have to walk up and order your omelette. That is, unless you get cross and just tell the waiter what you want and tell him to tell the omelette man so that you can start your breakfast in peace instead of hanging around, waiting for someone to shuffle out of the kitchen and head to his frying pans.

Internet access did not work properly on the terrace area, where waiters were seldom seen and appeared happy to leave tables uncleared, guests to use saucers as ashtrays, etc. The only time the waiters appeared was when they thought you might be heading to your room, at which point they were always ready to thrust the bill at you whether you were leaving or not. Whether you got your cutlery/peanuts/salt and pepper/napkin seemed to be totally random. Getting someone to come and take your order, or not walk off halfway through taking orders for more than one person proved nearly impossible. The salt cellars were all full of rice and contained little or not salt.

The weather was great when I was there, but the outside area only has one set of comfortable seats, forcing you to spend the evening sitting on uncomfortable wooden chairs. Coasters are not provided, forcing you to drop condensation over yourself every time you lift up your drink.

Ghana has an indoor smoking ban, so a lot of people sat uncomfortably outside to smoke, with waiters never changing (or often even providing) ashtrays. Plug sockets didn't work on one side of the terrace, so even if you were able to do some work given the lack of functioning internet, the power sources weren't working if your battery was low. Ceiling fans were randomly switched on and off.

The only effort made to sell anything to guests seems to be made by the two prostitutes who were in the bar every evening. To be fair, they didn't hassle guests. Their advances at the end of each evening made a welcome change from trying to attract the attention of the bar staff.

There is a sort of mini cafe stand near reception, the idea being, presumably, that you can grab a quick bite or a drinl before heading out or going to your room. The reality is that you have to wait for ages for anyone to appear. After you've placed your order, that person then disappears with no explanation. Chasing the person around the restaurant is then required to get an idea of what has happened to your order.

Checking in did not involve any kind of welcome or greeting, just someone shoving a form in my face to fill in - a form asking for information that can easily be obtained from making a copy of a guest's passport.

My flight was cancelled, meaning I arrived back at the hotel just two hours after checking out, requiring a room for an extra night. The same form was shoved at me with no effort to greet me, given that I had been there just two hours previously. I signed it, shoved it back and told the lady to fill it in herself from the information in the computer system. I was then asked what my room rate had been, even though a cursory check of the computer would have provided all the information required.

Sort it out, Accor - even though 'this is Africa' there is no reason not to train your staff.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same size, but even though my room faced the main road, it wasn't noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Here on business (contract with government). First time. Staying 2 months. Originally checked in for 3 nights then on arrival taken around other hotels. Settled on Novotel for business, location, free wifi, nice room, nice shower, good buffet breakfast. Happy to stay the duration. There is one thing they are very good at ... responding to issues (safe wouldn't open and air conditioner malfunction - new room). The only negative is no executive rooms and current refurbishment includes drilling noise on a regular basis during the day ... but stops around 5pm.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking pool better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Accra City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Accra City Centre

Address: Barnes Road | PO Box 12720, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Accra City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Accra City Centre is a 4 star hotel ideal for a holiday or business trip to Accra. 7 km from the airport and close to the conference centre and major banks, the hotel provides WiFi internet and six meeting rooms for business travellers. Guests on holiday in the Ghanaian capital will find the Makola Market, museums, theatre, golf and the beach all nearby. The hotel features a bar, restaurant, outdoor swimming pool, fitness centre, business centre, onsite parking and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Accra City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Accra City Centre Hotel Accra
Accor Accra City Centre
Accra Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Accra City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.