We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm, peaceful & serene hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Hotel Ghana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston Hotel Ghana to your Saves list
Charleston Hotel Ghana
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   17 West Loop Tesano, Accra, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 169 Accra B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Calm, peaceful & serene hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had traveled to Ghana for the trade fair and stayed at Charleston for 15 days. We are glad we made the right choice. Big spacious rooms, a beautiful swimming pool and great food at the restaurant. We tried a lot of different things on the menu and were not disappointed even once by the Chef, everything was so good.

The location of the hotel is perfect for you to unwind after a long tiring day. You can chill by the pool or just hang out in your room or one the many balconies. The hotel has an arrangement with the Tesano Sports Club which is right next to the hotel, where the guests can use the facilities of the Club at no extra cost.

The owners, Charles & Juliana take special personal care and are always ready to help.

I am definitely going to stay here on my next visit to Ghana.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
4
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This quiet peaceful place is the best kept secret in Accra. Run by owners Charles and Julie ,semi retired Ghanaian s from Texas (where folk are very friendly too). The area and surroundings are traffic free and very quiet. The hotel was built and designed by Charles with material meticulously chosen and imported from the USA.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Charles and Julie are on hand all day to tend to every need. The hotel is cleaned all day, every day and is spotless.
Security is great.
There is a lovely sports club (Tesano Sports Club) next door with a gym ,squash courts , badminton court ,4 tennis courts and a great pool for training laps and a very good restaurant that is open from 8 am till 10 pm daily and very well run and clean. lovely relaxing lawned pool area .
Use of facilities for hotel guests is free, the club is otherwise for members only .
The menu is however a little limited but on request a day in advance anything will be acquired and prepared . My second extended stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Charleston is a jewel of a property owned and operated by the gracious Julie and Charles. The rooms are large, the staff is friendly and the food is cooked to order and delicious. (Try the tilapia and banko. Great!) The staff was extremely attentive and the owners make you feel like a guest in their home, not a patron of a faceless hotel chain. Very hospitable. Located in the quiet Tesano area, the hotel encourages you to enjoy a drink by the pool or in Julie's Bar or work out at the sports club next door. Relaxation was the theme for me and my husband but I saw quite a few business travelers during my stay as well. I will return here every time I visit Accra.

Room Tip: The penthouse has a great sitting room and view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

A very nice hotel I found in Accra Charleston Hotel . The hotel has really nice, big and precious rooms with very nice beds and amenities . Hotel's restaurant and bar serves amazing and different cuisine of food and alcoholic and nonalcoholic drinks. They serve authentic Ghanian dishes and continental food. Although they can serve the food of your choice if you inform the chef. Chef in kitchen is really very good. Most important this Hotel is located just next to Tesano sport club (tennis, squash, badminton, gym).

Hotel's taxi service is also very fast and whenever you need taxi for you they can provide.
All staffs are very friendly, soft spoken and ready to serve you. Hotel also have 24*7 security, electricity back up, and wi fi internet facility.

Most important the place is very cool, no traffic, no violence, no noise pollution.

If you plan to visit Accra or Ghana , I think this is the best hotel for you and your family. You want to visit again again and again after your first visit.


I recommend the hotel to everybody who stays in Accra or want to visit Accra.

Room Tip: Go for executive rooms for you or if you are with family you should go for pent house or twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Charleston is a nice, small and well kept & managed hotel in a quiet, but still easy to reach, area of Accra. The prices are reasonable and they give you a good feelng of being welcome. It is located adjacent to a sportsclub with facilities that are unmatched in Accra, so you can work, relax and exercise in the same location. All in all a place to be recommended !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The owners, Julie and Charles, are the most hospitable and kind hosts. They went to great lengths to accommodate our ever need and made any arrangements we needed for our outings. The hotel itself was immaculately clean and the rooms were spacious. The bathrooms were always clean and the showers always had hot water and great water pressure. Whenever we returned to the hotel we were greeted by well-working, refreshing air conditioning. Julie and the chef provided wonderful, Ghanian meals and would modify any of our food requests. In addition to all of this, right outside, there is a lovely, relaxing, fresh pool perfect for escaping the heat. But nothing beats a cold Star beer or Crush soda while you sit outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Charleston Hotel is simply lovely! Our family spent 4 days in Ghana to celebrate our daughter's high school graduation.
Miss Juliana and her staff were so very helpfull! Any issues with our rooms were resolved in a fast and courteous manner. Miss Juliana Konadu took care of setting up transportation to Cape Coast and Aburi, for us at a very fair price. All we had to do was show up! Our driver Samuel, was very pleasent and gracious. The restaraunt he recommended in Cape Coast was simply awesome!
The rooms were very comfortable, spacious and clean. I would recommend that they use something other than mothballs in the rooms as it leaves a very pungent smell in your clothing.
We only ate a full meal in the restaraunt on the last evening before our departure and it took quite some time to e served even though there was only 1 other tale being served. Due to the length of time it took I was not able to enjoy my meal because we had to hurry and get dressed to leave for the airport.
The hotel also provides transportation to the airport and breakfast every morning (an ammenity that is hard to find in Ghana).
I have stayed at another supposed 5 star hotel in Accra paid for by my company and i can honestly say the service at The Charleston Hotel not only matched but exceeded what they offered!
We will most definitely be staying at The Charleston again.

Room Tip: Room 308 is very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
7.2 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#2 of 91 in Accra
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Monticello
Villa Monticello
#1 of 91 in Accra
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
4.1 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Tribeca Hotel
Tribeca Hotel
#21 of 91 in Accra
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
4.1 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
4.8 mi away
Bojo Beach Resort
Bojo Beach Resort
#5 of 91 in Accra
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Hotel Ghana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Hotel Ghana

Address: 17 West Loop Tesano, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Hotel Ghana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Charleston Hotel Ghana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Hotel Ghana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.