We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in heart of Accra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Hotel Ghana

Save Saved
You added Charleston Hotel Ghana to your Saves list
Charleston Hotel Ghana
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Charleston Hotel Ghana
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   17 West Loop Tesano, Accra, Ghana   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 142 Accra B&B and Inns
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in heart of Accra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

A very nice hotel I found in Accra Charleston Hotel . The hotel has really nice, big and precious rooms with very nice beds and amenities . Hotel's restaurant and bar serves amazing and different cuisine of food and alcoholic and nonalcoholic drinks. They serve authentic Ghanian dishes and continental food. Although they can serve the food of your choice if you inform the chef. Chef in kitchen is really very good. Most important this Hotel is located just next to Tesano sport club (tennis, squash, badminton, gym).

Hotel's taxi service is also very fast and whenever you need taxi for you they can provide.
All staffs are very friendly, soft spoken and ready to serve you. Hotel also have 24*7 security, electricity back up, and wi fi internet facility.

Most important the place is very cool, no traffic, no violence, no noise pollution.

If you plan to visit Accra or Ghana , I think this is the best hotel for you and your family. You want to visit again again and again after your first visit.


I recommend the hotel to everybody who stays in Accra or want to visit Accra.

Room Tip: Go for executive rooms for you or if you are with family you should go for pent house or twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
3
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Charleston is a nice, small and well kept & managed hotel in a quiet, but still easy to reach, area of Accra. The prices are reasonable and they give you a good feelng of being welcome. It is located adjacent to a sportsclub with facilities that are unmatched in Accra, so you can work, relax and exercise in the same location. All in all a place to be recommended !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The owners, Julie and Charles, are the most hospitable and kind hosts. They went to great lengths to accommodate our ever need and made any arrangements we needed for our outings. The hotel itself was immaculately clean and the rooms were spacious. The bathrooms were always clean and the showers always had hot water and great water pressure. Whenever we returned to the hotel we were greeted by well-working, refreshing air conditioning. Julie and the chef provided wonderful, Ghanian meals and would modify any of our food requests. In addition to all of this, right outside, there is a lovely, relaxing, fresh pool perfect for escaping the heat. But nothing beats a cold Star beer or Crush soda while you sit outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Charleston Hotel is simply lovely! Our family spent 4 days in Ghana to celebrate our daughter's high school graduation.
Miss Juliana and her staff were so very helpfull! Any issues with our rooms were resolved in a fast and courteous manner. Miss Juliana Konadu took care of setting up transportation to Cape Coast and Aburi, for us at a very fair price. All we had to do was show up! Our driver Samuel, was very pleasent and gracious. The restaraunt he recommended in Cape Coast was simply awesome!
The rooms were very comfortable, spacious and clean. I would recommend that they use something other than mothballs in the rooms as it leaves a very pungent smell in your clothing.
We only ate a full meal in the restaraunt on the last evening before our departure and it took quite some time to e served even though there was only 1 other tale being served. Due to the length of time it took I was not able to enjoy my meal because we had to hurry and get dressed to leave for the airport.
The hotel also provides transportation to the airport and breakfast every morning (an ammenity that is hard to find in Ghana).
I have stayed at another supposed 5 star hotel in Accra paid for by my company and i can honestly say the service at The Charleston Hotel not only matched but exceeded what they offered!
We will most definitely be staying at The Charleston again.

Room Tip: Room 308 is very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Generally I can say that Charleston Hotel is a place where my first adventure with Africa started. Delicious food (also Ghana specific food), kind and very helpful hotel staff this this is what I experienced every day staying at this hotel. The positive energy embraces this place all the time. Hotel rooms are very clean and what is more important a bed is very comfortable :). In your free time you can use hotel swimming pool (or terrace around) to relax. If you prefer spending time in movement you can go e.g. play squash, tennis or table tennis. More details you can find on Charleston hotel web site. If you want to visit Ghana (Accra) this is the place I can definitely recommend to you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Charlestone Hotel is a very friendly place. The hotel has really nice, big rooms with very cozy beds. Hotel restaurant serves amazing food. There are served typical Ghania dishes and continental food. Hotel is located just next to sport centre (tennis, squash, barminton, gym).

Hotel organizes also trips. I have been to Kakum National Park and Cape Coast Castle.

I recommend the hotel to everybody who stays in Accra.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel physical structure is very elegant. Service is excellent. They do their best to accomadate. Their food in great. Suggestion, beause they make everything from scratch(fresh), call your order into the kitchen, they will call you when ready..about 15-20 minutes.

My wife and I do paln on staying there again when we go back to Ghana.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charleston Hotel Ghana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Hotel Ghana

Address: 17 West Loop Tesano, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charleston Hotel Ghana 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Charleston Hotel Ghana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Hotel Ghana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.