We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you value your money do not use this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of PH Hotels Accra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added PH Hotels Accra to your Saves list
PH Hotels Accra
1st Boundary Street | East Legon, Accra, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 89 Hotels in Accra
Esbjerg, Danmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you value your money do not use this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I paid by credit card when I visited PH Hotel in Accra, which I never should have done. When I returned home, I found out that PH Hotel had over drawn 10 times the amount I actually should have paid. I have since had major problems getting my money back in spite of that fact that PH Hotels has admitted overdrawing the amount of money they should have withdrawn. They have ever since not returned my money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
1
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights. Not too bad. A bit far from city centre and the traffick into town is really bad in the mornings, so if you have lots of business in town, you may want to try something closer.

I had a double room which I must say I was quite happy with. It was spacious and well appointed. good airconditioning, which is absolutely neccesary for the heat, flat screen tv with some cable channels, coffee and tea facilities and internet connection.

downsides: location, and the breakfast. Breakfast was really limited and far from tasty. The only thing worth eating was the yoghurt and fruit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongKong
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

The title of the review says it all. "Great hotel, great service, friendly staff..excellent managers/Chef"
Chef is putting a lot of effort and energy..!!
Manager really knows how to take great care of visitors..!!
Most of the staffs are very polite and friendly..!!
Nice and relaxing environment..situated in a very exclusive area of Accra..!!
Try it, it is really worth it..!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

The new manager and new chef are trying hard to improve the quality and service, but by and large the hotel is not up to scratch. The carpets in common areas are disgusting and service is atrocious. The food is not the best and you do not have too many choices. The pool area is okay. If you need to be in the Accra CBD, then do not stay there as the commute is terrible. In all, better than average for Accra and much better than Novotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Nice neighbourhood, stores are close by, very secure, never a dull moment. I'd stay there anytime

Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Firstly I must say that I negotiated a room rate a year ago which is very good. The online booking site goes above USD200 for many rooms. I pay way less!

So taking this into consideration and the fact that Accra is booming and the major chains such as Holiday Inn have started charging crazy prices I quite like the Protea.

All of the staff are very friendly and helpful beyond what is required. Yes part of this is the fact that they are poorly paid and love tips but they are really genuinely nice.

The rooms are OK. Beds are comfortable, linen is new and fresh. A/C works well. On the down side the TV channels don't which for a frequent traveler is a pain as we don't want to spend every night in a bar or restaurant. Most bathrooms have a bath with a flexi hose shower head which does not reach high enough for anyone over cm175. This means you need to squat to shower. Bathrooms are clean and new but have no style. They are basically a room tiled in white.
The public areas are poor with carpets coming off the floor and the wooden floors doing the same. Old chairs stand around in corners.

Biggest problem is the general atmosphere. The restaurant feels like you are in someone's living room where the furniture has been removed for the day. The food is nothing to write home about. Breakfast is acceptable. The Bar has the same vibe.

Bottom line if I had to pay regular online rates I would go elsewhere but for my price "It ain't bad"

I recommend you email their reservations dept. and try your luck. They are not very busy compared to other hotels of similar quality.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The Protea Hotel Accra is 'billed' as a boutique hotel but in reality, is more like a Hampton Inn, Comfort Inn, Holiday Inn Express....need I go on? Made the reservation online and upon arrival, found it was not logged into the system. After a bit of back and forth, the desk staff moved forward with the reservation. Since there were two of us, she tried to 'upgrade' us to the bigger room (at a bigger cost, of course) stating the standard room we reserved is too small for two. The standard room turned out to be fine. It felt like a 'switch and bait scam' at first.

One of the pictures in the room had mold on it so we removed it from the wall - and found MORE mold. The tub had no door or shower curtain which meant that you had to hold the nozzle while you showered.

After settlng in, we decided to go into town and asked the desk clerk for some guidance of how much a taxi would cost. Her answer was, "It all depends..." Depends on what!!? I thought it was ludicrous that a hotel clerk couldn't give us an approximate idea of how much a taxi ride woudl cost. Long story short- we came to find out that taxi rates in Accra are all negotiable- the same ride can cost the equivalent of $3.00 USD or $10.00 USD depending on one's negotiating powers. What a headache! At least the hotel clerk could have given us some indication instead of being nonchalant.

Breakfast was included in the hotel rate. In the end, we had a pleasant stay. Except for the 'check in' snafu and uninformed desk clerk, other staff we encountered were very nice.

This hotel is nice enough but definitely NOT a boutique hotel in the same standard as one would expect a boutique hotel to be. As long as visitors understand that - expectations do not have to be adjusted. Location is also a bit far out of town.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PH Hotels Accra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PH Hotels Accra

Address: 1st Boundary Street | East Legon, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 89 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the "home away from home," PH Hotels Accra. Since its commencement,PH Hotels Accra has become a renowned address for businessmen, government delegations as well as tourists on holidays. Located in one of Ghana’s wealthiest suburbs; East Legon, PH Hotels Accra is located in the perfect environment with an excellent amount of serenity for either total relaxation or a fulfilled business trip. Explore a world of luxury that features 74 rooms with a restaurant and bars, swimming pool, gymnasium and a fine conference facility for that well awaited business meeting. Relax while we treat you to the best of hospitality. PH Hotels Accra exceeds your expectations with a perfect medley of great service and intriguing facilities with a unique Ghanaian touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your PH Hotels Accra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ph Hotels Accra Hotel Accra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PH Hotels Accra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.