We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous flat, fabulous staff, fabulous hosts...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osdahouse Home Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Osdahouse Home Lodge to your Saves list
Osdahouse Home Lodge
4 Greve Crescent, Lartebiokoshie | Behind Cake Tekniks, Accra, Ghana   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 154 Accra B&B and Inns
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous flat, fabulous staff, fabulous hosts...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed four nights at Osda House on our recent trip to Accra. We rented the two bedroom flat and it was a perfect place to relax and get some respite from the busy pace of Accra.

The flat was immaculately clean, and includes a basic kitchen and air conditioned bedrooms. Lots of room to spread out and relax. Osda House is an incredible bargain as well as, in Accra, hotel rooms routine run over US$200 per night.

Seth, Yaa Dorothy and their staff made us feel very welcome. We will stay at osda house whenever we are in Accra and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osda H, Owner at Osdahouse Home Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Guests like you make it all worthwhile. We love to serve. A helping hand here and there is always appreciated. More so if it helps to keep planet earth around for the next generation,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
14
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

OSDA House provides a welcome respite from the hustle, bustle and high prices in Accra. Seth and Dorothy (aka Yaa) and their staff are caring and attentive hosts, making us feel most welcome day or night.

We stayed in the two bedroom flat and loved it. Lots of space, air-conditioned bed rooms, large living-room and kitchen, and a screened in patio. There is a refrigerator to keep things cold, a gas range, a microwave, and some basic cooking utensils.

The lodge is near Korle Bu Hospital and close to central Accra via Jamestown. We used it as our base of operations for a four day visit to Accra and will definitely be back next time we are in town.

Medaase OSDA House!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osda H, Owner at Osdahouse Home Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Yes it is true that the discount is in the price. One gets more for their money. We are delighted that people are realizing that. We will strive to do better all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Texas
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Pricing: I selected a single bed room and was very pleased with the price USD 45/night (they also have other rooms and a 2 bedroom flat). Seth and Dorothy, the owners, offered Wi-Fi and use of their 110 volt laptop at no additional price.

Also included was a great morning breakfast starting at 0730 hours. Eggs, bread or toast, pineapple and other fruits slices, juice, coffee, teas, and instant chocolate drink were provided every day. What really impressed me was their diabetic strawberry jam and orange marmalade on the breakfast table. Breakfast was a good time to meet other guests from the USA, UK, Finland, Burkina Faso and other countries.

Place: Very comfortable bed, different keys for the room and for the wardrobe cabinets (which included a mirror, hangers, drawers and shelves) were provided at check-in. A desk and chair were nice especially for storing all the gifts and trinkets I bought to give to family and friends after returning home. Each room has a self-controlled air conditioner with automatically rotating up and down vents (or static if so selected) and a turbo to increase AC air flow. I think the AC was programmable down to 16 Centigrade (61 Fahrenheit) and there was also a five-speed ceiling fan.

A western style and very efficient toilet was always clean. Hot water for the shower and soap were available (you should turn the heater on an hour or two before showering and turn it off after your shower - to help save energy). Shower drained very well - a bath mat was also available.

Rooms are serviced every day except Sundays. They changed my beddings quite often with a different patterned bedspread each time. My room had marble floors and an inside window and outside window, both with drapes.

A mini-fridge was in my room and it easily held sixteen 500 ml water bottles (holds 1.5 liter bottles as well). Laundry service is available, quite reasonably priced and if turned in early in the morning its ready in the afternoon. An LCD TV was in my room, best reception in the mornings and evenings; but CNN, BBC and Al Jezzera, local TV stations with music and I think soap operas were viewable.

The OSDA House has a very large generator that starts up when the city's electricity goes down (a couple times while I was there and then generator kicked back on very quickly). There is a patio area with games on the tables. There is a conference/meeting room with a big screen TV, 110 converter box and a microwave.

The OSDA House has 24 hour CCTV surveillance with seven or more cameras. Concertina wire surrounds entire compound and I always felt very safe; double locked inside hinges at the entrance to the OSDA House - push the outside ringer and they will promptly unlock it for you to enter.

People: Seth, Dorothy and every member of their staff were consistently friendly, courteous, kind, helpful and thoughtful of their customers. Seth picked me up at the airport and gave me a short tour of the main area of Accra and ultimately returned me to the airport for ten dollars each way. Seth helped arrange for me to volunteer at the Korle Bu Teaching Hospital so I could learn more about HIV/AIDS in Western Africa and especially Ghana. They also put up holiday lights on one of their trees as I was there 11-21 December 2012. One of the staff let me attend a charismatic church service with him. English is spoken by most people I met in Accra; however, my Twi name (local language spoken by over seven million people) is Kwadwo which means I was born on a Monday - see the group picture of the four Kwadwo's.

TIPS: Get a copy of their business card for trips back as it has phone numbers to give to taxi drivers to call for directions. Negotiate the taxi fare and agree to a fixed price before you get in the taxi (then give them a tip on top of your fare and make their day - tipping is not the norm in Ghana). OSDA House will direct you to where to get a taxi. Look inside the OSDA House buildings to appreciate a variety of paintings of Christ's life from a Ghanaian viewpoint. Get your immunizations especially yellow fever or they will not let you enter the country. I never got sick the whole time I was there but was tired after working at the teaching hospital.

Give the staff a gracious gratuity when you leave, remember Ghana is a third world country and the tip will be appreciated and for me, each and everyone deserved it (I gave Seth funds to hand out to the staff for me).

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osda H, Owner at Osdahouse Home Lodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
It is gratifying to observe the exent that our guests will go to review our facility. This is indeed a comprehensive overview of what truly happens at Osda. The pictures of the grounds and the extension are superb. hanks for your candid comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed for five days at osda a couple of weeks ago. It was a home away from home. I traveled as alone to Ghana as a female and was nervous. However I felt very safe and the location was wonderful. I walked around the neighborhood alone multiple times and felt so safe. The people of Ghana were lovely. My husband and I will stay at Osda when we return and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Accra. Thank you Seth and Dorothy!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osda H, Owner at Osdahouse Home Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
We are very conscious of the challenges people face when they travel into a new environment. Our goal is to make people feel at "home" as much as possible at Osdahouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Seth & Dorothy are lovely people and amazing hosts, with plenty of stories and jokes.
I felt very welcomed from the minute Seth picked me up from the airport.

The rooms are clean and tidy, breakfast tasty and plentiful and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The best place in Ghana.

John, England

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osda H, Owner at Osdahouse Home Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
It is gratifying to observe that people are finding Osda House to be truly a home away from home.
We believe that making someone feel at home in a new environment is essential in the hospitality industry.
We are grateful to all those who take time out of their busy schedules to write a review. We love what we do at Osdahouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent 2 weeks traveling in Ghana and Osda House was hands down the most comfortable, clean, lodging we had. The price is very reasonable for Accra standards and you were just enough away from all the hustle and bustle of the city without being too far off in terms of distance. Seth and Dorothy's service/hospitality are second to none and you feel welcomed and safe as soon as you enter the grounds. We liked it so much we stayed there on the first and last nights of our trip. I highly encourage travellers to stay at Osda House if looking for a clean, quiet, safe, hospitable environment.

Brett & Theresa, CANADA

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osda H, Owner at Osdahouse Home Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We believe in a clean environment for our guests and our goal is to give our guests the typical Ghanaian hospitality combined with efficiency and respect. We aim at making Osda House a home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our group stayed at Osdahouse during a recent visit to Ghana for a service project. The owners, Seth and Dorothy, were so kind, welcoming and helpful. Their guest house is clean, comfortable, and very well-run. The staff is polite, friendly and so helpful with our bags and anything else we needed. And at the end of each long day in the heat, our room was clean, cool and welcoming. If you are considering a stay in this area of Ghana, you would be hard-pressed to find a nicer, more reasonably priced, convenient place to stay. And you will not find nicer people than Seth and Dorothy. We learned so much from them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osda H, Owner at Osdahouse Home Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are grateful for guests like you who go out of your way to write a review. People like you push us to do a better job and treat everyone with respect and decency. We consider this a labour of love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Osdahouse Home Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osdahouse Home Lodge

Address: 4 Greve Crescent, Lartebiokoshie | Behind Cake Tekniks, Accra, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A winner of Tripadvisor 2014 Excellence Award. Here at Osdahouse we pride ourselves in providing clean, modern and comfortable accommodation in Accra; With a home-away-from-home atmosphere, all rooms at Osdahouse boast en-suite bathrooms with hot water, air conditioning, WiFi, TV, tea/coffee-making facilities and more.Guests have access to a fully equipped kitchen, a comfortable living room and a beautiful garden and courtyard. Services include WiFi, laundry, luggage storage and parking, and we also have a bright conference room. Osdahouse is located at Lartebiokoshie near Korlebu Hospital, close to the bus station and easily reachable from Accra airport.Check-in: 12pm Check-out: 11am Please notify us of your arrival time.Cancellations must be received at least 72 hours in advance.Payment to be made in cash on arrival.Breakfast is included in the rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Osdahouse Home Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osdahouse Home Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.