We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Grove Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Grove Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Coconut Grove Regency Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Mozambique Link | Behind Ghana Immigration HQ, Accra Box CT 3998, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Accra
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I recommend the Coconut Grove in Accra. The price is very reasonable. It is an easy taxi ride to reach all around the sites of Accra. The staff is welcoming and helpful. The rooms are big, air conditioned and comfortable. The breakfast is more than filling with even your choice of fresh eggs cooked to your liking. You can arrange for the hotel to pick you up at the airport.
Best to bring cash to pay the bill. 5% will be added if you use a credit card.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
5
4
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The coconut grove is really a stunning hotel. It has big rooms with airconditioning which you can't leave without in the hot & humid accra. The rooms are very neat & tidy. There's a swimming pool if you wanna cool of as well. There staff is extremely friendly and go the extra mile to ensure your happiness during your stay. There is free wifi available and a refrigerator in the room with some bottled water, beer and a few sodas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at Regency for the first and last week of my summer study abroad in Ghana. We stayed at about 7 different hotels around the country, and Coconut Grove Regency and Beach Resort were unquestionably the best.
The rooms are nothing fancy, but get the job done. Everything is clean and neat, just not 5 star luxury.
Every hotel I stayed at while in Ghana, it was obvious that the staff went through our bags, except for Coconut Grove. Regency appeared to have many businessmen staying, but not many vacationers. This was clear by the multiple conference rooms but a less than stunning pool. Coconut Grove Beach resort was the opposite; less than stunning conference rooms, and gorgeous pools. Both Coconut Groves also have AC that actually cools the rooms. La Palm, as well as many other hotels in Ghana had ACs that were only cool if you stood up against the unit. The food at the restaurant was delicious, and Coconut Grove has lovely little dogs that greet you during your stay and make you feel more at home. The staff are extremely friendly and always there to help make your experience delightful. Overall, a great stay at Regency

Room Tip: There are two buildings; standard rooms have an awful view and are awkwardly shaped with only twin b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I'm staying at the Coconut Grove Regency in Accra right now, and feel so strongly about my experience that I'm writing my first TripAdvisor review.

While we were out of the room for dinner, someone very obviously went through our bags and belongings. Thankfully we took our valuables (money, documents, electronics) and left our bags filled only with dirty clothes and toiletries. They repacked the bags thankfully but it's disturbing nonetheless.

Other than that, the room is simple but comfortable, and the front desk staff are nice. The airport shuttle can be hit or miss so for arriving flights so if you have somewhere to be immediately after you arrive, I wouldn't rely on it.

In terms of room amenities, our room (the basic level with two twin beds) had two free bottles of water, some Nescafe and Liptons tea, a bar of soap, and a very small bottle of shampoo. There is free wifi fast enough to check email, and breakfast is included. There is an in-room refrigerator with a small mini bar which holds beer and soda that you can buy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a great place to stay to experience Accra but then be able to quietly retreat away from all the activity of a major city. The staff are extremely kind and helpful, always willing to help with bags no matter what they may be doing, and the guards will happily flag a taxi from the main road a few blocks away at night. I also appreciated the staff's willingness to give you the rough rate for what a taxi should cost going to various parts of Accra, which saves getting dinged a "tourist rate" in negotiations. The little dogs in the lobby are a nice touch, but be on guard for the one named Biggie, as he likes to mark everything and managed to nail at least one bag from every member of our party. The rooms are nice and clean, and provide lots of room, though the shower heads could be improved a bit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, friendly staff, two wonderful dogs for greeting weary travelers. Our first room was noisy with a clicking noise so we asked to be moved, which they did. The rooms are very clean and basic but the shower sprays all over the bathroom when turned on. Mentioned this to the front twice but it never got fixed, we stayed three nights. The staff are helpful with outings and will negotiate taxi prices for you before you head out. Food was very good but a bit pricey, breakfast was plentiful and the pool was refreshing but a bit dirty. Wifi was free but often spotty and slow, best when in reception area. No problems with electricity and air conditioning was great. Lots of things to do and see close by, OSU shopping, cultural art center and Makola Market. Good value for money!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was expecting more from my stay here. My review is very tainted by the fact the my IPhone was stolen from my room on my first day!
I did not feel that the staff took it seriously and despite assuring me they would update me on the progress of their "investigation" I have not heard a word for, 3 weeks. The rest of the staff were not as friendly as other customers describe it.
The breakfast was good, but the bar, pool and resturant were below my expectations. Next time I will choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Grove Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Regency Hotel

Address: 5 Mozambique Link | Behind Ghana Immigration HQ, Accra Box CT 3998, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Grove Regency Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in close proximity to the business district of Accra. The Regency has 10 suites and 26 standard rooms all tastefully decorated, with air conditioning, multi-channel satellite TV, Free Wi - Fi and mini bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Grove Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Grove Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.