We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has possibly seen better days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Indian Restaurant

Heritage Indian Restaurant
Next to Osu Presbyterian Church | Salem Road, Osu, Accra 3f, Ghana
3
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 170 Restaurants in Accra
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Has possibly seen better days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The vegetarian food is much better than the non veg- at least it;s fresh. Possibly become a little complacent due to lack of competition...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    53
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was craving some real indian food and this place was brilliant! The service was fast and commendable, while the food was very authentic. Be sure to watch how much you order (each plate can typically serve 2 - 4 people). Highly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING curry in the heart of Ghana.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Love this restaurant. The deco and ambience is great. As soon as you walk through the massive wooden door and smell all the delicious flavours.
The skewer chicken starters are big enough to share make sure you leave room for the delicious tadka Dahl mutton curry and garlic nan!
The owner is a charasmatic guy who mingles with the diners and goes out of his way to make sure his guests enjoy their Ghanaian experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“heritage indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Once again one must not apply the standards of New York, Johannesburg or Kathmandu.
this is a downtown restaurant in Accra, Ghana Africa.
Two of our group know their stuff, so we let them order for the group and played pass the dish.
We had a great time and experienced a plethora of wild and wonderful tastes.
Some HOT some not, but all good.
The decor is simple,the chairs are hard, there is no fire escape, the toilet does not have pink hand towels or piped music but does have good and friendly staff and management.
As europeans eating indian food in africa, this is the real africa so sit back and enjoy with no preconcieved ideas or expectations.
You will love it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food.. Very High Prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I am an Indian and since I stayed in Osu when the Curry Pangs hit me the first time I went to Heritage. Recommended quite highly. I went on a Weekday evening and the place was packed to its gills with expats more Caucasian. Since there were no empty tables we sat at the so called Tandoor Bar. The Owner/Manager kept checking on us repeatedly to see if we were fine. Since we were three, ordered quite a variety of dishes and all of them very mediocre with the Potato in the "Alu Dum" curry being sour. Paid 50 Cedis without any drinks. I thought maybe I caught them on a bad day. Ordered home delivery last week. Food was very bad again. The so called "Biriyani" was just heavily spiced red coloured rice with 4 small pieces of barbecued chicken. Totally not worth it. Maybe it is more appealing to the European idea of the curry. But definitely not for me. A lot of people have this misconception that Indian food is hot and spicy. While some of the dishes are hot but for most of the dishes the spices should bring out the flavour without being hot.

The Heritage's food is only Spicy hot. I would have given it a one star if not for the Manager.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 

Been to Heritage Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.