We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Richester Hotel

Royal Richester Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Richester Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Richester Hotel
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Richester Lane, East Legon. opposite the East Legon police station, Accra 00233, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 154 Accra B&B and Inns
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable with Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here with my son for 4 nights late November and having stayed in several other Accra Hotels including the Erata and the Golden Tulip, this is our preferred property. Why? Because it was relatively clean, with good service and good food and located away from the hustle and bustle of downtown.
Our two air conditioned rooms were clean (apart from the net curtains) and spacious. The bathroom was also large and relatively spotless. The cleanliness of the hotel was excellent and very well appointed, with a beautiful clean swimming pool, an outside bar and eating area, a well equipped gym, all within a gated, protected area. Unlike many Ghanaian hotels, the service was truly warm and genuine, be it reception, the bar and the restaurant. The food was really very good and varied (copious breakfasts, omelets made to order, and tasty snacks (samosas, spring rolls) and lunch/dinner (classic Ghanaian and international dishes, well prepared).......readers should be aware that I spend much time eating Michelin starred cuisine!
The only slight downside is that it is close to flight path, but this was not a major problem. The ultimate test is always, would I return ...... the response from both of us is a resounding yes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
1
1
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sharpsburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here 3 nights, during 2 visits. The first time the hotel was full so they put me in a 2 bedroom apartment on the grounds. There was a lot of space, but this unit was barely furnished - not appealing place at all. The phone was not connected and the TV barely functioned. Not recommended.

I stayed in the hotel itself the next visit. Much better experience. The rooms are good sized and were fairly well furnished when they were new, but now the entire hotel feels worn. The internet was not functioning in my room (I went to use the business center where they had several non-functioning computers and the only cable was hooked to the hotel's "official use only" computer - I unplugged it and plugged it into my computer and it worked fine). The building could use some trim repairs and paint, etc. The entire hotel could use a face lift - it was just not what it could be.

There is a nice pool and outside seating, which is pleasant (until the generators came on - which was both nights I was there). The dinner food was pretty good. One morning the buffet was pretty good, the other time it was terrible. Most of the staff was pleasant and fairly attentive.

Room Tip: Do not accept an apartment in the building across the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I've stayed here twice, for about a week each time. The hotel has some potential: the rooms are a good size, there's a nice pool, the food (at dinner time) can be quite tasty. But there are too many things that are just sloppy.

Curtains in the rooms are rather grand in appearance - but don't close properly. Bathrooms have 'hotel brand' toiletries - but fittings are liable to fall off in your hand. Kitchenettes are a nice touch - but fridges are unplugged, open and smelly when you arrive. Internet is extremely patchy - works great occasionally, but not at all for much of the time. Breakfast is basic (that's OK) but the "hot" buffet is not kept hot and all hot drinks are provided from a single domestic kettle that you have to wait to boil. Main courses at dinner are really rather good - but there's no dessert available (not even ice cream - which is not a complicated dish to keep in stock or to prepare). And service is very hit-and-miss (even when it is not busy).

Overall, it's a pity: there's too much pretence at being "Royal" without getting the basics right. And at these prices (even with a discount, I paid $120/night) the basics should be right.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is in my list of the worst five hotels I’ve ever been to. They charge first world rates for mediocre service. The facilities they advertise (e.g. Internet) was not working, the staff were slow, and you’ll want to sleep through breakfast. This place can be described simply as sloppy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed here because my flight to the United States was cancelled. I was impressed with the spacious apartment style rooms and the nice pool and gym. The only problem was the music. It was loud and played late in to the night. Then it started up again the next morning around 5:00. Overall a nice place though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in June, our first impression of wow was pretty short lived. My first complaint would be that even though we had booked and confirmed the arrival time, the airconditioners, ceiling fans, fridge and hot water were all turned off. Powerpoints hanging off the wall, all three bedrooms had television of which none worked. Having said that, these really are minor complaints, the staff were lovely and friendly and only too happy to assist with any problems that we incurred. Certainly by African standards this place is grand indeed. Would we stay here again?, I would say yes, we would just be a little better prepared next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Excellent chefs here! Was there on a weekend. Some wedding reception. Music outside was pretty loud! Close to the airport. . . .even closer to the airport's approach glide slope. You can read the tail number of every plane landing there and here it fly over head. It's good that the airport doesn't see any late night arrivals yet as it gets quiet after the evening arrivals from Europe and the East Coast.

Rooms were decent. Very low on creature comforts but very clean and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Richester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Richester Hotel

Address: 5 Richester Lane, East Legon. opposite the East Legon police station, Accra 00233, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Richester Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE ROYAL RICHESTER! A delightful experience, The Royal Richester provides a combination of American-style town homes, serviced apartments and suites in East Legon, Accra. Royal Richester offers accommodation, amenities and services of an exceptional standard. Our luxury rental homes, apartments and suites provide a comfortable home for our guests. A variety of lifestyle services and business facilities will ensure a memorable hospitality experience at Royal Richester. With great attention to detail, Royal Richester brings together public and private areas seamlessly, to provide a unique combination of permanent residence, temporary accommodation and integrated services and amenities. WE ARE SIMPLY "UNFORGETTABLE." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Royal Richester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Richester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.