We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 11 days in prison for staying in best western.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 White Avenue | Airport Residential Area, Accra 0000000, Ghana   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Accra
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My 11 days in prison for staying in best western.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Please avoid this hotel by all cost. I normally read review sites but never expected my self to be writing this. I checked into best western hotel accra on the 19th and went swimming in the evening after a long trip. No one stopped me . After a nice day in accra Ghana, I went back to the hotel and decided to go swimming again in the evening. I wasnt stopped and while I was sI checked in into the best western hotel in accra in the 19th for the weekend. I went swimming in the pool on the 20th and was arrested for 11days for swimming in the pool. I had no help because I am not ghanian. I was arreasted in my swimming trunks and bath robe. Nobody from the hotel came to check on me. I was handcuffed and checked for all sorts of things, My life has been in shambles, I have lost my job. I was taken to the Bureau of National Intelligence, the police headquaters and the Asawm prison. The hotel is filled up with power drunken men that feel that own the world . Avoid this place at all cost. I came back to the United Kingdom late. I am speaking to my lawyer and Citizens Advice Bureau to sue this company for damages and failure to provide hospitality affairs. The hotel in accra has been blacklisted by most embassies. I will upload this on all review sites and also get the bbc ,sky, al jazeera news involved. This is a breach of human right. Its a disgrace to such a good hotel. I am still suffering from my terrible experience. I am sueing this hotel.

Room Tip: This is a terrible hotel please avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternPremier, Best Western International at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Ama,

Thank you for your review.
We know that you went through a bad experience in the police cells.
There is some insincerity in your review.
You wanted to swim in the swimming pool at 21hours and you were duly informed by both our security personnel as well as duty manager. You arrogantly ignored their pleas to avoid swimming at that time since the pool closes at 1800 hours. It is not in order for you to say that no one stopped you.
You arrogantly abused our manager on duty and dived into the pool and the hotel staff left you to go ahead and swim since they could not get you out of the water by force. They thought you were a gentleman who could be talked to and understand.
You also wanted to swim with your friends who were not resident in the hotel and we informed you this was not possible.
During your meeting with your friends you were uttered dangerous words and apparently one of the patrons called in the police without informing the hotel.
I want to put it on record that the hotel did not play any role in your arrest. So your arrest had nothing to do with the swimming but originated from the nature of your discussions.
We are a reputable hotel and handle all sorts of situations but in this case it became a state matter and the hotel could not get involved. The hotel took care of your property until you were able to pick them up.
Many embassies including yours use and appreciate our facilities and services. It is futile to allege that we have been blacklisted by many embassies.
If you conducted yourself in a gentle manner you could not have fallen into any trouble. You brought it all on yourself. Please be honest in your review.

Thank you.

Sam Anyumba
Deputy General Manager
Best Western Premier
Accra Airport Hotel.
Ghana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    61
    34
    16
    6
See reviews for
4
2
14
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

comparing with a lot off other hotels in Accra, this one definitely gives best value for money.
Its new, fresh, clean, beautifully designed and decorated, comfortable beds and light-tight curtains !! all great, just the pool could look a bit nicer...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternPremier, Best Western International at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Jos,

Thank you very much for the compliments.
We surely give value for money and strive to improve our services daily.
The pool was undergoing some work and is in top condition currently.
I am sure you will enjoy a swim next time you come around.

Sam Anyumba
Deputy General Manager
Best Western Premier, Accra Airport Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed at the hotel from 29th Aug to 17 Sept,2011. Rooms are spacious and clean, the wired internet is lightning fast and the staff are courteous and helpful. The food is good thought it gets a bit monotonous if you are staying for long. The locality is very quiet and safe.The best part is the 100% No Smoking policy in the hotel. Being a smoker myself, I finally realized how clean your room is, if you do not smoke in it!
On the flip side, everything is quite expensive inside the hotel and the gift shop.
The pool is clean and maintained well and worth having a look at.
Will try and stay again on my next trip to Accra.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternPremier, Best Western International at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Ashish,

Thank you very much for the compliments.
We appreciate your input about our food.
We are soon opening up new outlets
in the hotel that will offer a more varied offer
of delicacies.

Thank you.

Sam Anyumba
Deputy General Manager
Best Western Premier
Accra, Ghana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Due to unexpected change in travel plans, my company travel agent booked us into the Best Western for 1 night. Hotel is convenient for the airport, maybe a little out of the way for the areas nearer to the coast. However, the hotel is very comfortable with great rooms and friendly service. Good restaurant, nice pool area and free shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternPremier, Best Western International at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you very much for the feedback.

Kind regards,

Sam Anyumba
Deputy General Manager
Best Western Premier, Accra Airport Hotel
Accra, Ghana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

there is a bus to the hotel every 1 hour. the hotel is not so far off from the airport, despite the bad Accra traffic.

Room Tip: you may have to get a booking early enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternPremier, Best Western International at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your comment.

Sam Anyumba
Deputy General Manager
Best Western Premier Accra Airport Hotel
Accra, Ghana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in Aug. Its a quiet n laid back sort of a place, Location is excellent , near to airport and a real xclusive area of the city. Service was average as was the pool. The gym was hardly opean and I had to ask the receptionist to get the gym keys twice. My initial room wasnt upto the mark becoasue of a blocked view from the window and I had to request them several times before they changed my room. Used to go for long walks around the hotel and that was really enjoyable.Breakfast was delicious n sumptuous.Overall it ddint look like value for money but then i was told Accra hotels n general are expensive

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternPremier, Best Western International at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your comment.

We have noted your concerns and are working on improving our entertainment and recreation facilities which include the swimming pool and the gymnasium. We have also embarked on improving the hotel services at all levels to meet the ever changing demands of our international and local guests.

Kind regards,

Sam Anyumba
Deputy General Manager
Best Western Premier Accra Airport Hotel
Accra, Ghana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed here after my flight from Accra was unexpectedly delayed. The hotel is typical Best Western. Rooms were comfortable, with a flat screen television, desk, bed with duvet, and a very wide range of bathroom amenities. A free airport shuttle service is provided. When requesting the internet voucher I got a password that was valid for an hour - this was fine for me, as I arrived at 10pm at night and left at 5am the next morning - but if you have to pay for subsequent use that would be a bit much in a business hotel where the rack rate is $250 per night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternPremier, Best Western International at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you very much for the comment you made about your experience at our hotel.
As a business hotel we facilitate our guests with internet connection in a variety of ways. We provide free one hour wireless connections upon arrival, free LAN connectivity in the room throughout your stay and free use of the internet in our business center for in-house guests.

Sam Anyumba
Deputy General Manager
Best Western Premier Accra Airport Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel

Address: 17 White Avenue | Airport Residential Area, Accra 0000000, Ghana
Phone Number:
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or leisure, guests of the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel will find every need catered for at their door step. The hotel is situated in the prime Airport Residential Area (a walking distance to the Accra Airport) with easy access to road links leading out of the capital to most major cities and also mere seven kilometers to the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Accra Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.