We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work Trip to Accra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenko Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tenko Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Tenko Plaza Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenko Plaza Hotel
22 Boundary Road | Near American House, East Legon, Accra, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 142 Accra B&B and Inns
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Work Trip to Accra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We spent two weeks here while doing some work for the Ghanaian Government. all the staff were great and the kitchen was very good. We have stayed in a number of places in Accra and this was the best yet! The owner William went the extra mile to look after us.
Pool and fitness centre were the last parts of the hotel that needed finishing, hence the poor scores! WiFi was the most reliable we have experienced in Ghana although not 100%. There are 'Western' style bars a short walk away as well as some nice 'spots'.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Tenko Plaza hotel was a perfect location for my business trip. Close to the airport and in a location where i was comfortable walking around and getting dinner and just checking out the neighborhood. The Owner and Staff were extremely helpful and did everything possible to make sure i had a comfortable and safe stay. The entire location was immaculately cleaned daily, the food was great and made to order, and anything i needed the staff helped me with in a timely manner and the room was clean and comfortable. I will definitely be returning and recommending to friends. And as for value, i have been to Ghana many times and have paid more than double their rate and those locations did not come close to the quality and service of the Tenko.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. High Floors have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed in Tenko Plaza Hotel for a week and we felt "home away from home" as the saying goes. The location is good because we get easy access to transport, clean environment and the rooms are also clean with free internet access. The staffs are pretty good and friendly, 24 hour security for quests. We needed to have a taste of our native food while staying in the hotel and they allowed us to cook for ourselves. The manager is very friendly to quest as compared to other hotels manager we've come into contact with. We recommend this hotel to travelers either on vacation or business trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Staid in the hotel for three nights. The hotel is located to the north from the airport - not an ideal location for those who want to stay in the middle of the city buzz. You will always have to take taxi to get to the central Accra and there is not much happening around the hotel area. The service was not bad and the place is generally clean. In terms of the furniture and washing facilities, don't expect a western standard, but they are ok. The hotel is making a swimming pool and nightclub. The sign on the street says there is swimming pool - I guess they put it up a bit too early :) or the project is taking longer than expected :)

Things to be aware of (based on our experience at the time): The hotel does not seem to have sufficiently powerful electric generator and with frequent electric failures in Accra, we constantly faced power outages. Don't expect to be able to use internet. Theoretically there is free internet, but the speed is almost unusable and combined with electric failure, you probably will give up after a while of trying.

The breakfast was not bad, but the options are very limited so if you are staying for longer time, you may get a bit bored. Overall I would also suggest eating out, we tried to have dinner in the hotel once, but they did not have anything in the menu so we could not order anything.

Prices of hotels in Accra are generally very high compared to the quality. Although internationally I think the price-value ration is bad, this should not be associated with this single hotel ... probably.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel and i might say i really enjoyed my stay. the location is good
since i can get easy access to transport, internet access and friendly environment. the staff are customer friendly, they allow me to cook my own food when ever i want to throughout my stay (I stayed for 10days) .The room i stayed in was very clean. Overall, if you are in Ghana on a business trip or other and want value for money, i recommend tenko plaza to you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I would recomend this place if you do not have loads of money and if you have children,the food was very good and the evironment is very clean VERY GOOD SECURITY

Room Tip: The room was spacious Big bed clean sheets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed here following a recommendation from a friend. The positive side of this place was that it looks very nice from the outside, the location was good. It was near the city centre and close to shops. The manager was also very pleasant. On the down side, the room was of poor quality. The sheets on the bed were old and the bed itself was actually on its way to breaking. The majority of the furniture in the room was generally in a poor state. Our telephone did not work, on reporting to the reception we were told that they had a problem with the phones (for the duration of the 2 week stay nothing was fixed). We often came down to find the staff on duty either on their mobile phone, watching TV with their feet up or asleep.

Whilst we were there, they were building an extension with further rooms. I would recommend that they make improvements on the current ones first.

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tenko Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenko Plaza Hotel

Address: 22 Boundary Road | Near American House, East Legon, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tenko Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenko Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.