We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Europe in Africa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Livingstone Safari

Livingstone Safari
Adj. Koala Supermarket, Osu, Accra, Ghana
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 170 Restaurants in Accra
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Accra, Ghana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Taste of Europe in Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Restaurant is tucked away in Osu , but it's a marvellous find. Nice to park off the road, unusual in this part of town, and then an extensive menu greets you.. I have tried many of the seafood dishes and have never need disappointed , with regards to cost, I feel I get what I pay for.. The host is very attentive and will offer suggestions and makes you feel welcome

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice, good food, expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

You eat as if you were in France, you play petanque with the French owner as is you were in Provence, you pay as if you were in Montecarlo...

Anyway the food is very good and, to be honest, its true that it's expensive according to the Ghanian standard but we ended up spending about 20 € per person for a seafood plate with side dish, dessert and beer!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I liked it, especially the kind service and the good wine. Unfortunately the food is not spectacular. Will try again maybe but it's definitely not my favourite. The place is called only "Safari" now, btw.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Discovered this restaurant recently while friends were visiting from out of town. Had one of the best overall restaurant experiences here that I've had since moving to Accra a few months ago.

Though the food options were the standard french fare, everything I and my two friends had was absolutely delicious. We had steaks as our mains, and they were definately among the best steaks I've had in 5+ years in Africa. The desserts were likewise delicious and I defy you not to fall in love with the chocolate mouse.

The service really sets this place apart however. The owner came over to our table and made recommendations, and was attentive (without being overbearing) througout the meal. He offered us a complimentary digestive following the meal, which we had sitting on the couches on the lovely terrace. He even arrange for a taxi for our next destiation and gave the driver directions as we didn't know how to get there.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good french restaurant in a very pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

The food can be very good, depending on the suggestions and arrivals (part of the food is directly imported from France by plane). Since 3 years, I can see it's really improving, reaching now the quality of La Chaumière. The wine list is interesting at reasonnable price, notably the famous "Trio" de Concha y Toro.
The restaurant recently moved (still in OSU, now in front of Khadinoor indian restaurant) and the atmosphere is still very pleasant. The boss is always taking good care of the customers, not to much but still paying attention if something goes wonrg.
For sure in the top 10 in Accra !!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Livingstone Safari also viewed

Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 
Accra, Greater Accra
Accra, Greater Accra
 

Been to Livingstone Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Livingstone Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.